Review + swatches – Dior Milky Dots for Summer 2016 – eye and cheek products! (part 1)

Dior Milky Dots review and swatches for summer 2016

I’m so excited to share with you Dior Milky Dots collection for Summer 2016! Today I’m going to focus on the Eye and the Face/Cheek products, and then in a separate post I will feature the Lip and Nail products. I have to share with you these products from the collection in this post:

  • Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 366 Bain de Mer
  • Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 536 Escapade
  • Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 001 Fresh Tan
  • Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 002 Fresh Light
  • Diorskin Nude Air Summer Glow Shimmering Loose Powder 001

Dior Milky Dots review and swatches for summer 2016
Dior Milky Dots 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 366 Bain de Mer review

Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow in 366 Bain de Mer (C$73) is the more colourful of the two palettes, featuring bright coral, minty blue, and sky blue colours. The shades in this palette are mostly matte, which can help to tone down the bright colours. The texture is very smooth, with medium pigmentation, and good adherence. The biggest issue with this palette is that I found it to have a lot of powder flyaway. Normally I find Dior eyeshadows to be more powdery compared to most, but this one was exceptionally powdery. This is easily resolved with some sticky eyeshadow primer, so it’s not a complete dealbreaker, but just something that should be noted.

Dior Milky Dots 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 536 Escapade review

Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow in 536 Escapade (C$73) is the more neutral of the two, with subtle pinks, golden yellow, and brown colours. The finish of this palette is mostly shimmery, and pigmentation is quite sheer so it works great as a fool-proof daytime, neutral palette. The texture of these powders are very smooth as well, and of the two palettes I find that Escapade is less powdery, but with the tradeoff being pigmentation.

Both palettes are very different, so it really depends on what you are looking for in an eyeshadow palette. Of course, Bain de Mer is the more unique of the two, but neither I would say are absolute must-haves.

Dior Milky Dots review and swatches for summer 2016
Dior Milky Dots Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 001 Fresh Tan review

Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 001 Fresh Tan (C$68) is the darker, more shimmery of the two face/cheek powders. It’s comprised of a darkened gold, and a warm brown bronzer. The colours that spell out the word “NUDE” are just overspray and will come off in one use. This one is a bit too dark for my use all over, and would be more appropriate for someone who is a few shades darker than me. I also find 001 Fresh Tan a bit more orange-toned, which is something I like to stay away from, even used as a cheek colour, because it brings out the yellow in my skin.

Dior Milky Dots Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 002 Fresh Light review

Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 002 Fresh Light (C$68) is the lighter, more daytime appropriate of the two. It is comprised of two cooler tone bronzers that work great to create a wonderful warm glow on your cheeks. I can definitely see myself using this as a subtly summer contour to bring out some colour to my face. Of the two Diorskin Nude Air Glow powders for summer 2016, I prefer 002 Fresh Light.

I love that the Diorskin Nude powders come with a mini kabuki brush – it’s just so cute!

Dior Milky Dots review and swatches for summer 2016

Diorskin Nude Air Summer Glow Shimmering Loose Powder 001

Lastly, we have the Diorskin Nude Air Summer Glow Shimmering Loose Powder 001 (C$68). This is a bronzey shimmering loose powder that you can use softly all over for glow, on your cheekbones for highlight, or dusted on your shoulders and collarbone for a night out. It comes in a luxurious-looking jar with a silver lid, and a white puff for applying the powder. The shimmer in this is not glittery at all, and the colour saturation means you can easily use this as a subtle bronzing powder.

Diorskin Nude Air Summer Glow Shimmering Loose Powder 001

Dior Milky Dots collection for Summer 2016 will be available in May at all Dior counters and outlets. Watch for my next post which will focus on lip and nail products!

Swatches

Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 366 Bain de Mer swatch

Dior Milky Dots 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 366 Bain de Mer swatch

Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 536 Escapade swatch

Dior Milky Dots 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 536 Escapade swatch

Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 001 Fresh Tan swatch

Dior Milky Dots Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 001 Fresh Tan swatch

Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 002 Fresh Light swatch

ior Milky Dots Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 002 Fresh Light swatch

The look

I’m wearing Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 366 Bain de Mer on eyes and Diorskin Nude Air Glow Powders in 002 Fresh Light on cheeks. On my lips is Diorific Mat Velvet Lipstick in shade Fantastique from the holiday 2015 collection (reviewed here).

Dior milky dots review for summer 2016
Dior milky dots review for summer 2016
Dior milky dots review for summer 2016
Dior milky dots review for summer 2016
Dior milky dots review for summer 2016

11 thoughts on “Review + swatches – Dior Milky Dots for Summer 2016 – eye and cheek products! (part 1)

  1. Thank you for your review and swatches. I’m really tempted by 002 Fresh Light powder. Do you think the loose powder could be used all over to slightly bronze up the skin or would the effect not be natural? Is it very shimmery! Thank you.

    • Hi Kate! The loose powder is quite shimmery, so you would have to do a very light dusting of it all over your face in order to minimize the shimmer, but that would also mean that you wouldn’t get the bronzey colour that you want. I wouldn’t say this is appropriate for all over wear. The 002 Fresh Light Compact would be perfect for all over wear though because it is the most matte of the three powders. I actually wear it all over my face and it helps to warm up my complexion. Hope that was helpful!

      • Hi Sheila, thank you for getting back to me so promptly. You’ve been really helpful. I think I’ll skip the loose powder as I don’t like lots of shimmer especially in sunny weather. I think I’ll go for the Fresh Light as you recommend. I’m quite pale so hopefully this shade will be just right for my complexion. Thanks again. 🙂

  2. The blues are surprisingly appealing to me even though I’m totally not a blue shadow person! They just look so springy and fresh haha

    I’m in love with that lighter bronzer palette! Cool toned bronzers ftw.

    http://justj.ca

  3. Pingback: Review + swatches – Dior Skyline Fall 2016 makeup collection – Eyeshadow Palettes, Diorshow Brow Chalk, Diorshow Pro Liner, and Dior Vernis Autumn Lacquer | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!