Review: Guerlain L’OR Radiance Concentrate with Pure Gold Makeup Base

Guerlain L'OR Makeup Base review

Along with the launch of the new Parure Gold foundation, Guerlain also repackaged their L’Or Radiance Concentrate with Pure Gold Makeup Base (C$81). When I attended the press event to launch this product, Guerlain’s international makeup artist, Maxime Pouline, specifically noted that this primer doesn’t have any silicones in it, and is rather for providing a boost of hydration to the skin using ingredients such as glycerin, rosa centifolia extract and hydrolized rice protein. It also contains real gold flecks to boost radiance.

Since I received this, I’ve been using this on every special occasion (including at MizzJ’s wedding in Hawaii and her reception in Vancouver). I absolutely adore it. I remember a few years ago when I first saw this product, I was so skeptical because it looks just like some gold specks suspended in a clear base – what good would this do?? I was SO wrong because as soon as I applied this to my face for the first time, I instantly fell in the love. The texture is a very lightweight hydra-gel that instantly melts into the skin with a slight cooling sensation.

Guerlain L'OR Makeup Base review

My skin is normally dehydrated, and when I was in Hawaii I was particularly dehydrated because of the change in climate and the air conditioned air. I used this before applying foundation and it leaves my skin super smooth and plump. The gold specks dissolve while its being massaged into the face, and while its not an obvious glow, it leaves my skin looking super healthy, like a lit-from-within glow. The effect is similar to their Meteorites where while you can’t see the glow, you can tell the obvious difference with/without using the product. Lastly, the new packaging is very modern and streamlined, and looks extremely luxurious on my vanity table.

If you still can’t tell after reading up to here – I absolutely love this primer. It’s expensive at $81 for just 30mL but I think it’s a great splurge for those special occasions when you want a bit more of that lit from within glow. Do keep in mind that Guerlain is a luxury brand so the products are expensive, but if it fits within your budget then I highly recommend taking the plunge!

Guerlain L'OR Makeup Base review

Ingredients:

Guerlain L'OR Makeup Base review ingredients

7 thoughts on “Review: Guerlain L’OR Radiance Concentrate with Pure Gold Makeup Base

  1. This sounds so cool! If you look super close can you see the sparkles after it’s applied or does it really just dissolve entirely?

  2. Pingback: Guerlain Spring 2016 – all about the Meteorites featuring Meteorites Base & Meteorites Voyage Compact Powder | *Maddy Loves

  3. Pingback: Celebrating Chinese New Year’s reds and golds with Charlotte Tilbury, La Prairie and Guerlain | *Maddy Loves

  4. Pingback: Review: Guerlain Parure Gold Foundation, makeup with skincare benefits! | *Maddy Loves

  5. Thank you for recommending it! I took the plunge mostly based on your review and Tati’s on youtube and oh my gosh I have had the best face day possible. I look glowing, i didn’t get greasy and I look awake and radiant. The kicker: I’m mid way through fighting bronchitis right now and everyone was complimenting how healthy I glowed.
    Thank you thank you thank you!!!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

