Fragrance feature – Guerlain Aqua Allegoria – Pera Granita

Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Pera Granita review

Despite being a huge fan of Guerlain for years, I’ve never ventured into their fragrances. In 2016, I finally own my first Guerlain perfume and it’s a scent that’s very unique and unlike anything I have. Pera Granita is the newest limited edition addition to Guerlain’s Aqua Allegoria family. Aqua Allegoria is Guerlain’s ode to nature, featuring delicate ingredients to create scents that pay tribute to gardens everywhere. There are four permanent fragrances in the family – Mandarin Basilic, Pamplelune, Herba Fresca, and Limon Verde – plus each spring Guerlain releases a new limited edition.

Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Pera Granita review

The inspiration for Pera Granita (C$75 for 75mL) was the image of savouring a granita under a pear tree. Top notes are grapefruit, lemon, and bergamot, with hearts of pear, osmanthus, and orange blossom. The base notes are moss, white musk, and cedar. Pera Granita is my first pear-based fragrance and I was pleasantly surprised to find this a very lovely fresh floral that’s perfect for spring. Due to the lightness, I feel comfortable giving my clothes one spritz in the morning before I head off to work. Lasting time isn’t the best because it is so light and fresh, but I’m a fan of the it dries down – almost to a powdery note.

The bottle itself is a work of art – the lovely peachy pink glass bottle with the gold honeycomb topper makes a great addition to my vanity top.

Compared to my other fruity floral fragrances though, such as Jo Malone Blackberry & Bay or Jo Malone Lime Basil & Mandarin, I’m not sure I gravitate towards Pera Granita. My fruity-floral Jo Malones have very distinct fruity notes, whereas the pear in Pera Granita is also too faint to be distinctive, so you’re left with a mostly citrus-floral scent. Unfortunately, that’s not unique enough to be listed among my signature scents. If you’re looking for a demure, light floral, then Pera Granita is a great choice. Personally though, I prefer something that’s a bit more unique.

Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Pera Granita review
Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Pera Granita review

Guerlain Pera Granita is available as at March 1, 2016 at Guerlain counters across Canada.

Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Pera Granita review

2 thoughts on “Fragrance feature – Guerlain Aqua Allegoria – Pera Granita

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!