Review: Vichy Idealia Life Serum with LR2412 + LHA

Vichy Idealia Life Serum review

I’ve always been fascinated by these skin perfecting serums. Before I used the Idealia Life Serum, I’ve also tried the Lancome Dreamtone serum which is a similar concept (both companies are owned by L’Oreal Paris, and use the signature ingredient, LD2412, in their products). I really liked the Lancome Dreamtone serum, of which I used #1, and I did feel that it helped to brighten my skin and even out my skintone in general. I was really excited to see what Idealia Life Serum could do for my skin if I used up an entire bottle.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Vichy.ca): The 1st lifeproof skin idealizer.
For a spectacular transformation of skin quality: fresh complexion, even skintone, refined pores and rested features. For every woman, no matter the age, with an intensive life as full as it gets and looking to transform her skin quality. Suitable for all ethnicities and skin types, even sensitive skin.

Price: $59 for 30mL, available at London Drugs and other drugstores that sell Vichy

Scent & texture: Light, sweet powdery scent; thick gel texture, feels like a dry oil almost

The good: Applied over toner and under moisturizing in the mornings and evenings, this serum absorbs quickly into the skin. It almost feels like a primer for my moisturizer. It’s hydrating but not oily or heavy, and there is no leftover residue on the surface of my skin.

  • Moisturizing
  • Absorbs quickly
  • No leftover residue
  • A little goes a long way

The bad: It’s easy to over-apply because it absorbs really quickly, so you may feel the urge to apply more on top. That’s really not necessary because just a bit goes a long way. Also if you do over-apply, I felt that due to the primer-like slick texture, it made my foundation sit on the surface of my skin, making it look slightly cakey.

  • Easy to over-apply
  • Absorbs too quickly so may feel urge to apply more

Overall: I really didn’t feel that this did very much for my skin overall. It was hydrating, but that’s about it. In the first week or so, I was looking out for any drastic improvements because the advertising claims that you should see improvements within the first 8 days. I do have to note that I went out for lunch with some friends after about a week of using this, and someone commented that my skin looks great, so I do have to give it credit, but overall I felt that it didn’t do much to improve the look or texture of my skin.

Product: 15/20
Packaging: 3/5
Value: 2.5/5
Overall: 20.5/30 | C
Repurchase? Probably not

Vichy Idealia Life Serum review
Vichy Idealia Life Serum review
Vichy Idealia Life Serum review

Ingredients:
Vichy Idealia Life Serum review and ingredients

3 thoughts on “Review: Vichy Idealia Life Serum with LR2412 + LHA

    • Yes the other reviews I’ve read all said wonderful things, so I had pretty high expectations. I liked Lancome Dreamtone better, it’s a similar consistency/product but I found it a lot more powerful. It’s also a lot more expensive so maybe that’s why!

  1. Pingback: Quick reviews: Vichy Idealia BB Cream in Light and Medium & Idealia Eye | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!