From the archives – Dior limited edition collectible makeup

dior beauty vintage limited edition

My relationship with Dior started when I was 9. My mom has been using Dior skincare and makeup for as long as I can remember, and I’ve always been curious about the products she used. She had this Dior travel palette from the mid-90s that contained eyeshadows, blushes and the typical travel palette minis such as glossses and a mini liner. I remember there was one time in grade 3 where my school was having a potluck of some kind, and I had the genius idea of giving myself a smokey eye with dark aubergine eyeshadow. You can already tell that didn’t turn out too well.

Since then, my love for Dior has only grown. Dior skincare was one of the first skincare products I ever purchased for myself at age 19. I remember working really hard at my summer job so that I could afford the luxury skincare, but my mother, in her mid 40s at the time, had incredible skin that I attributed completely to her years of Dior skincare use.

It was also around that time when I  started collecting limited edition Dior makeup baubles. Dior used to release limited edition collectible, wearable makeup jewelry or charms with certain seasonal collections. I was completely enamored with those products, always buying them to keep in a keepsake box, and refusing to touch them. They remain untouched, even to this day, with several of them keeping their original packaging with all of the tissue paper in tact. Since then, I’ve been a bit more careful with how I spend my money so I haven’t been buying as much makeup to just look at anymore, but I still keep the Dior ones as my most prized possessions. With the weather being so nice lately, I wanted to bring them out and share with you guys, because they are so dear to me.

dior beauty vintage limited edition

Top row, from left: Dior Poudrier Dentelle from Spring 2010, Dior Lady Dior Compact from Spring 2009

Dior Poudrier Dentelle from Spring 2010
Dior Poudrier Dentelle from Spring 2010
Dior Lady Dior Compact from Spring 2009
Dior Lady Dior Compact from Spring 2009

Middle row, from left: Dior Cristal Shine from Summer 2009, Dior Pretty Charm Secret Lip Gloss from Holiday 2006, Dior Cristal Boreal Gloss Pendant from Holiday 2009

Dior Cristal Shine from Summer 2009
Dior Cristal Shine from Summer 2009
Dior Pretty Charm Secret Lip Gloss from Holiday 2006
Dior Pretty Charm Secret Lip Gloss from Holiday 2006
Dior Cristal Boreal Gloss Pendant from Holiday 2009
Dior Cristal Boreal Gloss Pendant from Holiday 2009

Bottom row: Dior Gourmette Lip Gloss from 2006 (forgot which season, please write a comment down below if you know)

Dior Gourmette Lip Gloss from 2006

Out of my collection, my favourites are probably the Dior Pretty Charm Secret Lip Gloss, because it’s so girly and cute, and the Dior Lady Dior Compact, because it’s probably the closest thing to a Lady Dior I’ll own in my collection.

There were a couple that I didn’t end up getting, that I somewhat regret not being able to add to my collection. Namely, the Dior Princess Ring, and the DiorLight Holiday Bright Lip Gloss necklace from Holiday 2007. I might scour eBay one day just to have a complete collection, but it’s not much of a priority to me now.

Do you have any makeup products in your collection that you keep only for collection’s sake?

11 thoughts on “From the archives – Dior limited edition collectible makeup

  1. Oh my! These are gorgeous! I love the little Dior purse lip gloss!
    Yes, I bought a few MAC LE stuff just to keep and never use – Hello Kitty and Disney collections. I even kept the boxes, lol. So silly, really!

    • Haha I totally do that too!! I have pretty much all of the boxes for these, and I keep a lot of the boxes on my other makeup items that I just don’t want to throw out. It takes up so much space though!

  2. Wow all of these are so cute and pretty that I can see why you never touch them! I don’t think I’ve ever seen such elaborate packaging before.

  3. Your collection is crazy beautiful, especially the lace powder. I can totally picture you taking these out once and a while and just petting them solemnly lolol

    • Thank you so much! My mother has incredible skin and looks super young even at 50+ so I know I’m doing the right thing by following in her footsteps.

  4. I stumbled across your article after looking at makeup collectibles. Your collection is gorgeous! I was kind of bummed when I read that the Dior Cristal Boreal pendant was made in 2009, but I was super lucky to find a brand new one on Ebay! The original owner received it as a gift from a friend, but it’s been in her drawer all these years! I’m so lucky to be able to get my hands on one!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

