Jergens Natural Glow – reformulated but still amazing as usual!

jergens3

Who says you have to start the summer off pale? Not this girl. Today I am here to talk about some easy ways to start the summer season off with a beautiful bronzed glow –Jergens self-tanning lotions!

It’s no secret that I am a huge fan of self-tanners, and those which develop gradually and are actually hydrating are by far my favorites. Today I am going to talk about the Jergens Natural Glow Nourish Daily Moisturizer, the Jergens Natural Glow Firming Daily Moisturizer, and the Jergens 3 Days to Glow moisturizer.

All three of these products come in two shades – Fair to Medium, and Medium to Tan. Before I begin, I will share a little tip with you: even if you are very fair (like myself), always stick with the Medium to Tan shade. The active ingredient in all these self-tanners is dihydroxyacetone, a sugar derivative that essentially stains the skin. The darker shades of most self-tanners simply contain more dihydroxyacetone, but they do not actually account for any skin tone variations. In short, you can use a smaller amount of product if you purchase the darker shade, and achieve the equivalent of a few days’ worth of applications in just one. You will not be any more or less “orange” than you would from using a lighter shade over the course of a few days instead.

jergens2

The Jergens Natural Glow Nourish Daily Moisturizer is probably my favorite product out of the three that I’ve used. It is light enough for daily use, and the product promises to produce a full shade of color in just 7 days. I would probably not use it for more than 3 or 4 days consecutively because it does eventually produce a bit of an orange tinge, but when used sparingly and if you give your skin a few days in between applications to naturally exfoliate, you can maintain a healthy, natural color.

My absolute favorite part about this product is that it is actually hydrating on the skin! If you’ve used mousse/aerosol self-tanners before, you will know that they are extremely drying, so I prefer the daily lotion much more. Lastly, it has a very pleasant aroma that doesn’t dissipate immediately only to be replaced by the dreaded self-tanner stench. I typically apply this product before bed, and by morning it still smells pleasantly floral.

jergens4

The Jergens Natural Glow Firming Daily Moisturizer promises to deliver “visibly firmer skin with less noticeable cellulite and improved elasticity” in just 7 days of use. While it makes for a great self-tanner and is in many ways similar to the Jergens Natural Glow Daily Moisturizer, I find the firming claims to be greatly exaggerated. While it delivers a very natural tan and absorbs quickly into the skin, I saw no difference in the mount of cellulite that I had, nor an improvement in my skin elasticity. In general, skin tends to look firmer and imperfections are greatly diminished when you have a tan, so any benefits of this product I find are purely aesthetic.

Aside for feeling slightly thicker in texture than its non-firming counterpart (The Jergens Natural Glow daily Moisturizer), it is essentially the same product. If you’re not expecting skin-revitalizing miracles, this lotion will produce a nice, even tan with just a few applications.

jergens

Last but not least, the Jergens 3 Days to Glow Moisturizer does exactly what it promises and packs quite the punch of color! After only a single application I was significantly darker, and after two consecutive applications I had reached the maximum level that I wanted to achieve.

The only downside is that this lotion cannot be used as a daily moisturizer and should be used much more sparingly than the other two. Be extra careful about using it sparingly on your knees, elbows and feet and always wash your hands after applying it. However, if you want to significantly darken before an event and don’t have a week to do it gradually, a single application of this product is definitely enough to make a visible difference! Unlike the other two, this product comes in a smaller tube (120ml vs. 200ml), but I think the performance more than makes up for the size difference.

Overall, I love Jergens’ self-tanning products and I really feel that no matter which one you chose, you cannot go wrong. They will all produce a very even, natural color. Definitely give any of these a try if you want to achieve a bronzed summer glow without the damaging effects of UV rays.  

This post was written by Liza

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!