Experience: Deep Anti Stress Massage at Sabai Thai Spa + Spa Week Canada

20131011_190641

October 15-21, 2013 is Spa Week in Canada, where you can experience a deluxe spa treatment at various spas across Canada for the flat price of just $50. In Vancouver, there are several different spas participating in Spa Week, offering a multitude of services from facials, to manicure/pedicure treatments, and of course massages. Call ahead to book your appointment as space is limited.

I was recently invited to Sabai Thai Spa by Way Spa to preview some of the treatments that are available to Vancouverites during Spa Week, which is taking place starting tomorrow at several different spas across Canada, including Sabai Thai Spa, which has been in business for 10 years in Vancouver. Sabai Thai Spa has 3 locations across Metro Vancouver, in Coal Habour, West Vancouver and North Vancouver. I visited the Coal Harbour location for my treatment; it is nestled in a quiet neighbourhood in Downtown Vancouver, located conveniently near the Westin Bayshore Hotel, public transportation and the seawall.

Upon arriving at Sabai Thai Spa, I was greeted warmly by the receptionist, confirmed my appointment time and was offered tea. I was promptly taken to the treatment room without much of a wait. The room was dimly lit and smelled of lemongrass, which really helped to immediately relax me. Also surprisingly, even though the location of Sabai Thai Spa was in Downtown Vancouver, it was extremely quiet in the room as I could not hear anything happening outside. I’ve been to other downtown spas and this is probably the best sound-proofed spa I’ve visited.

The treatment I selected was the Deep Anti Stress Massage, an aromatherapy massage focused on the head, neck and shoulder areas, recommended for people with desk jobs, like me. My therapist, Assanna, was extremely accommodating to my needs. I explained that I worked long hours at a computer so my neck, shoulder and arms were stiff and sore, and I also get headaches relatively frequently from staring at the computer screen all day.

During the 60 minute treatment, Assanna regularly checked up on me to see if the pressure she was applying was comfortable, and also explained how I can maximize the benefits of a massage by stretching and doing simple exercises regularly. She performed some stretching on my arms and shoulder area to loosen up my stiff joints, which complemented the pressure she was applying to smooth out the knots in my muscles (and I have a lot of knots!).

I was extremely relaxed at the end of this treatment, and sadly the 60 minutes went by really quickly. I also really enjoyed chatting with Yasanna, as she was very personable and experienced in treating stress-related tension in the body. She recommended that I come back on a regular basis to fully eradicate the knots in my body, and also recommended that I get a traditional Thai massage, which focuses on stretching, in order to combat workplace-related stress and tension.

Bottom line: I already made a follow-up appointment with Sabai Thai Spa. I felt that I was able to connect with my therapist, that she made an effort to be aware of and familiar with my needs, and the treatment she gave me specifically targeted those needs. I’ve gotten massages at many places and oftentimes therapists just go about their normal routine with any client, but Sabai Thai Spa took the extra step in ensuring that the treatment I get treats my individual problems.

Sabai Thai Spa – Coal Harbour
571 Cardero Street, Vancouver
(604) 568-6227‎
Hours: 10:00am – 8:00pm Daily

Sabai Thai Spa – North Vancouver
987 Marine Drive, Unit 3-B, North Vancouver
(604) 985-8896
Hours: 10:00am – 8:00pm Daily

Sabai Thai Spa – West Vancouver
1867 Marine Drive, West Vancouver
(604) 925-1074
Hours: 10:00am – 8:00pm Daily

20131011_175410
20131011_175142Bed for traditional Thai massage

20131011_175232
20131011_175048
20131010_180724

3 thoughts on “Experience: Deep Anti Stress Massage at Sabai Thai Spa + Spa Week Canada

  1. Pingback: Maddy Loves holiday gift guide, 2013 edition! | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!