Protect your whole family with Sun Bum and Baby Bum

Sun Bum review

My ideal sunscreen is something that offers high SPF protection against both UVA and UVB, but is still lightweight and comfortable to wear. For years, I relied on Japanese sunscreens only, but recently Western brand sunscreens have really caught up in terms of the technology used, and the refined texture with matte finish historically associated with Japanese sunscreens. I first discovered Sun Bum last summer, and I had meant to write a review of it but then my grandma accidentally threw my SPF 30 away. I was really sad because the SPF 30 Sunscreen Lotion had quickly become my favourite all-in-one face and body sunscreen. I was so lucky that the Sun Bum PR sent me a kit this summer which included another SPF 30 Sunscreen Lotion, and I quickly stashed it away so it would be safe from grabby hands. Sun Bum’s sunscreens are gluten-free, paraben-free, oil-free, PABA-free, cruelty-free and 100% vegan.

Sun Bum review

The SPF 30 Sunscreen Lotion (C$17.99 for 177mL) is a lightweight fluid sunscreen. It’s made in USA and available in two sizes (6 oz or 3 oz). It is a chemical sunscreen, with the active ingredients being Avobenzone 3.00%, Homosalate5.00%, Octisalate 3.00%, Octocrylene 2.75%, Oxybenzone 4.00%. This is not a reef-friendly sunscreen as oxybenzone is particularly harmful to coral reefs. It claims to be water resistant up to 80 minutes. I love using this when I am out and about for the entire day under the sun. It is so lightweight, absorbs very easily, and doesn’t feel sticky or greasy. It dries down to a satin finish, and doesn’t leave any residue on your clothes either. This is easily my #1 recommended body sunscreen for anyone who asks me. If you’re out and can only bring one sunscreen to touch up both your face and body, then this is also your guy.

The 3 in 1 Leave In Beach Formula UV-Protecting Leave In Hair Treatment (C$17.99 for 118mL) contains coconut oil, banana pulp and peel, banana leaf, quinoa protein, and sunflower seed oil. I have black hair so I didn’t really find this to be a necessary product. If you have colour-treated or blonde hair, you may want to invest in this as it helps to protect your hair colour from fading or turning.

The SPF 30 Lip Balm (C$4.99) is available in 6 different flavours – key lime, coconut, banana, mango, watermelon, and pomegranate. The active ingredients are Avobenzone 2.00%, Homosalate 15.00%, Octinoxate 7.50%, Octisalate 5.00%. I know that it’s important to also protect lips from the sun, but I honestly hate how the sunscreen feels on my lips. It just feels (and tastes) sunscreen-y. For day-to-day, it might not be necessary to apply SPF 30 on your lips, especially because you’ll probably just eat it off within a few hours, but if you’re going to the beach, or on a trip, I would recommend picking one of these up. I’ll be bringing mine with me to Mexico!

The SPF 50 Face Cream ($12.99 for 30mL) is something new I tried this year. It contains Octinoxate 7.50%, Octisalate 5.00%, Oxybenzone 6.00%, and Zinc Oxide 7.00%. It also contains aloe and vitamin E to help soothe sensitive skin under the sun. First impression is that I hate the packaging. It’s actually pretty fluid and milky so when I tried opening it for the first time, 1/3 of the jar spilled out. I don’t understand why it is in a jar and not a squeeze tube, or a bottle with a pump, because the fluid formula will spill out quite easily, and also the jar opening will expose the active ingredients to air. In terms of the formula, it is slightly thicker than the SPF 30 Sunscreen Lotion and doesn’t absorb as fully, leaving a bit of a film on my skin. That isn’t unexpected though because it does contain higher SPF protection, and also incorporates zinc oxide. For day-to-day use, the SPF 30 Sunscreen Lotion is your best friend, leave the SPF 50 Face Cream for the beach or when you’re out hiking.

Sun Bum review

I’m so excited to share with you the release of Baby Bum. It’s my first time trying out Sun Bum’s baby formula and I was beyond thrilled with how these turned out. I don’t have a baby (duh) but I am preferring more mineral sunscreens over chemical sunscreens just because of the environment impact and how mineral makeup seems to be working better with my sensitive skin. The Baby Bum products are 100% mineral.

The Baby Bum SPF 30 Lotion (C$21.99 for 88mL) contains 22% Zinc Oxide as the active ingredient, and the Baby Bum SPF 30 Stick (C$15.99 for 13g) contains 20% Zinc Oxide.  The SPF 30 Lotion also includes some pretty awesome ingredients such as grape seed oil, shea butter, jojoba oil, safflower seed oil, cucumber fruit extract, rosehip fruit oil, avocado oil, soybean oil, glycerin, green tea leaf extract and carrot root extract. While it’s not as lightweight as the Sun Bum SPF 30 Lotion, the Baby Bum version can replace my morning moisturizer because it is more nourishing. It is pricier, but you pay for the higher quality ingredients. The Baby Bum SPF 30 Stick feels a bit gimmicky to me, as I never really understood the point of stick sunscreens. I’d stick with the Lotion, if I were you.

I highly recommend that you check out the Sun Bum and Baby Bum SPF 30 Lotions. They’re not pricey and the quality is pretty fantastic. I can’t wait to take my Sun Bum and Baby Bum products with me to Mexico later this year!

Product received as PR samples for review consideration; all opinions are my own.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!