Shu Uemura Tokyo Trends – eyes – Lasting Gel Pencil Eye Liner, Calligraph:ink Liquid Eyeliner Pen and Cartridge Set, Brow:sword, and Ultimate Natural Mascara

Shu Uemura Lasting Gel Pencil Eye Liner review and swatches

Lasting Gel Pencil Eye Liner (C$36 each) comes in five shades, four of which I have to show you today:

  • M BLACK: Define your eyes with an intense black definition for a make-up focusing on your eyes.
  • M PURPLE BLACK: Define your eyes with a purple black warmth for a feminine and romantic look.
  • M NAVY BLACK: Define your eyes with a hint of navy black for an edgy and confident look.
  • M GREEN BLACK: Define your eyes with a green black mysterious look.

I love that they have very thin tips so that you can create a precise line. That being said, they are very dry and hard to apply. It does not glide as effortlessly on the lashline and skips, so even though they have a thin tip, you will need to go over each area multiple times which will result in a thicker line. That being said, I really love this eyeliner. It does NOT smudge, transfer, or dissolve under my oily eyelids. It reminds me a lot of the Marc Jacobs Beauty Fineliner Ultra-Skinny Gel Eye Crayon Eyeliner, which is one of my favourite eyeliners because it stays put.

All four colours look pretty much the same on my eyes, as they are all very dark. The only one exception is probably Purple Black, as it has more of a purple tint. I can wear all to replace my usual black liner and the effect will be the same.

Shu Uemura Lasting Gel Pencil Eye Liner review and swatches

Calligraph:ink Liquid Eyeliner Pen and Cartridge Set (C$24 for the pen, $22 for the cartridge, sold separately) is a liquid eye liner pen inspired by the tradition calligraphy pens of Japan. It comes in two separate parts, one is the reusable pen with the fibre brush, and the second is the liner ink cartridge. This liquid liner has a very thick brush that ends in a thin tip so that you can have the versatility to create a thick or thin line. Despite how versatile it is, the price is a bit ridiculous because it ends up being $46 for the whole liner. Personally I would prefer a new tip each time so I’m not sure how I feel about buying replacement cartridges into an existing pen package.

Brow:sword (C$42) is a pre-sharpened and pre-shaped brow pencil with a spoolie at the other end. The shade I have is Seal Brown, which is a cool-toned medium brown. It’s a very natural brown on me that is fantastic for everyday wear. The chiseled end makes it very easy to apply precisely, and then you can blend it in with the spoolie. My usual go-to eyebrow pencil is the one by Burberry (it’s SO GOOD, but you can end up overapplying), but I think I will be switching it up with this one as well because it does look more natural on me.

Ultimate Natural Mascara (C$33) in Black is just a normal black mascara… I’m not sure what much more to say about it, to be honest. I didn’t find it to be too volumizing or lengthening, which is probably by design because it is supposed to be a natural mascara. This would be good for those who already have long, thick lashes to begin with, but my lashes are short and sparse, so I can use all the help I can get. I wouldn’t reach for this on a normal day.

I recommend picking up the Brow:sword and Lasting Gel Pencil Eye Liner.

The swatches

M BLACK as the shape of the eye, M PURPLE BLACK as the lower lashes, M NAVY BLACK as the pupils, and M GREEN BLACK as the top lashes.

I also tried to swatch the Brow:sword, which you can see by me drawing in some eye brows, but it didn’t work great because normally these types of brow pencils activates with the oils in the brows to create pigment.

Shu Uemura Lasting Gel Pencil Eye Liner review and swatches

Product received as PR samples for review consideration; all opinions are my own.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

