Review: TATCHA Pore Perfecting Water Gel Moisturizer

TATCHA Pore Perfecting Water Gel review

TATCHA is one of my favourite skincare brands, and in the past I’ve reviewed and loved both of their moisturizers – the Supple Moisture Rich Silk Cream and the Ageless Enriching Renewal Cream. Previously, Tatcha’s skincare has mostly been geared towards those with more dehydrated or mature skin, but just recently they released a moisturizer designed for oily/combination skin – the Pore Perfecting Water Gel Moisturizer.

The TATCHA Pore Perfecting Water Gel Moisturizer (US$68) was formulated to create the perfect balance between oil and water to keep those with oily/combination skin looking and feeling more like normal skin. It contains Japanese Wild Rose, Leopard Lily and Dokudami extracts to balance and clarify skin, and 23k gold dust to create a warm glow. You’ll notice on the ingredients list below that the first half of the ingredients list is all good ingredients and different extracts, so these extracts definitely aren’t floating around near the bottom of the list. It has an incredibly lightweight, watery texture that just melts into the skin. It is also slightly cooling due to how lightweight it is. It is scent-free, which is great for those who are more sensitive to fragrances.

TATCHA Pore Perfecting Water Gel review

I have dehydrated skin that gets more oily throughout the day so this isn’t a good moisturizer for my skin type because I need a lot more oil in my face creams, however I have been using it as a balancing serum and it has been amazing. I use this in the morning after cleansing and spraying with a facial essence mist, and before my day moisturizer and sunscreen. It works amazing to keep my skin feeling fresh all day without sacrificing any moisture. I have noticed that my foundation seems to last longer, and doesn’t slide off as quickly as it normally does, so I don’t need to touch up my foundation during the day.

Because I use this underneath other products, I haven’t really noticed a glow via the 23k gold dust. I also haven’t really noticed any shrinking of my pores after a few weeks of use. At most I love it because it helps my skin stay balanced, and also helps my foundation last longer.

If you have oily/combination skin, I recommend this 100% because it really does help keep your skin in balance. If you have dry/normal/dehydrated skin, you can look into this as a balancing serum but it’s not a necessity. Overall, it’s another winner from Tatcha.

TATCHA pore perfecting water gel review

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Propanediol, Rosa Multiflora Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Inositol (Rice Extract), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Sophora Angustifolia Root Extract, Belamcanda Chinensis Root Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Sericin (Silk Extract), Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate (Licorice), Algae Extract, Gold, Hydrogenated Lecithin (Soy Origin), Squalane (Olive Origin), Lecithin, Pistacia Lentiscus (Mastic) Gum, Sodium Dilauramidoglutamide Lysine, Mica, Silica, Xanthan Gum, Bis-peg-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, Ammonium Acryloyl Dimethyltaurate/carboxyethyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Hdi/ Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polyglyceryl-10 Myristate, Disodium Edta, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Peg-400, Butylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol.

4 thoughts on “Review: TATCHA Pore Perfecting Water Gel Moisturizer

  1. I would love to know what you use for your daytime moisturizer. I have skin as well that is dehydrated and gets oily during the day. I was looking at the Tatcha one but I had a feeling it wouldn’t be hydrating enough for me as many moisturizers for oily skin are not and it seems that is the case after reading your review.

    • I use an emulsion as my daytime moisturizer, so like a light milky lotion. Right now I’m using La Prairie Cellular Swiss Ice Crystal Emulsion, but any lightweight, gel-creme or milky cream would work well. This product does help to provide some hydration, it’s just not enough if you’re very dehydrated.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

