Quick review – Dior Fall 2017 Metallics makeup collection

IMG_6720

I’m super late with this review but better late than never right? The reason why I was late was that I’m not a huge fan of this collection as a whole… I know Peter Philips has been really innovative since he arrived at Dior, but this one has been kinda meh. The recent holiday collection calls my name more, which is a disappointment because I generally like fall collections. This collection’s theme is metallics, and also lots of neutrals. I have a few products to show you.

IMG_6727

The first is Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 007 Magnetize. It’s a very warm neutral, with the top two shades being metallic, middle shade and bottom left are shimmery, and the bottom right is the only satin-matte shade. This reminds me a lot of an edited version of the Urban Decay Naked Heat, which is nice but a bit too warm for me. Everything except the matte brown shade performed very well – they were smooth, pigmented, and easy to blend. The matte shade was a bit patchy, but it did its job as a transition shade. For C$72 a pop, I’d probably skip this one. I imagine with the onslaught of warm palettes recently, you’re also likely to have dupes in your collection.

IMG_6731

Next we have brand new releases, which are these Eye and Lip Metalizers. They are metallic cream eyeshadows that can also be worn on the lips. I’m not a fan of the metallic lip look, but I LOVE THESE ON THE EYES. These three shades I have are 528 Platine Fusion, 678 Bronze Tension, and 548 Copper Power. No idea who named these, the names are all very weird. Despite the weird names, they perform wonderfully on the lid. They really set to leave you bulletproof eyelids for at least 8-10 hours. I have generally oily lids and these really stay on. They are also available  in three other shades, including a beautiful dark green that’s calling my name. These perform beautifully as eyeshadow primers as well. Well worth the C$32 price tag.

IMG_6724

Lastly I have some lipsticks to share. Dior has a beautiful Rouge Dior matte formula, and this season saw the release of both matte and satin finishes. The two shades I have are 426 Sensual Matte (left) and 996 Eccentric (right). Eccentric looks very brown in the tube but actually wears a little bit rosy. It’s definitely a very wearable brown, if you are wanting to try that trend but don’t want to do true brown. Sensual Matte is a nice formula, but a bit too light on me to be a good nude. Maybe if you have very fair skin, this would be a nice nude lip on you. It also leans rosy-warm, so you won’t look like death. These are C$43.

If you were to pick up anything from this collection, it’d have to be the Eye and Lip Metalizers. While I’m not a huge fan of this collection as a whole, I definitely see myself reaching for the Metalizers on a regular basis. They are a very easy, weekend eye, for if you want some colour but are too lazy to actually do a whole eye look. For $32, they are also quite affordable for Dior.

You should still be able to find these on counter at The Bay, Holt Renfrew, Sephora, Nordstrom, and select Shoppers Drug Marts.

Product provided for review consideration; all opinions are my own.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

