Review + swatches – Givenchy Fall 2017 Le Rouge Sculpt, Le Rouge, Noir Interdit Mascara, and Base Mascara Perfecto

Givenchy Fall 2017 Le Rouge Sculpt, Le Rouge, Noir Interdit Mascara, and Base Mascara Perfecto review

You may have noticed that my posting schedule has been a bit irregular over the last few months. I haven’t been blogging as much as I want to, mostly because of work and adulting. Basically for the entire months of May, June, July and August, I’ve had maybe 2 weekends with free days. Every other weekend has been filled with things like weddings, trips, birthdays, housewarming parties, you name it. I also work full time, and I was recently promoted, so that takes up most of my time during the week. In keeping with my adulting, I’ve also been trying to be healthier and fitter, so I have been going to barre on every free day I can spare. Anyways I digress.

Today I want to share with you some new releases from Givenchy’s fall 2017 line! Givenchy makes some of my favourite makeup, and the combination of sleek black, lace, and leather is just so me.

First in the collection is an expansion of one of my all-time favourite lipsticks. The Givenchy Le Rouge (C$43) is one of my holy grail lipsticks for being so weightlessly satin-matte, wearing so comfortably and effortlessly. There are a five new shades coming out this fall, and the one I have is 326 Pourpre Edgy, a vampy dark red. Surprisingly, this is actually more satin than matte. It isn’t as full-coverage as my other Le Rouges, which was a pleasant surprise because I wasn’t sure how this colour would translate on me. While it’s not something I’d reach for regularly, the winning formula will make me reach for it over other vampy lip shades. Did I mention it comes in a genuine leather case?

The second is the new Le Rouge Sculpt (C$43), which is a variation of the Le Rouge lipstick, except each lipstick comes with two shades molded into one bullet so that you can use it to sculpt and shape your lips. The shade I have is 01 Sculpt’in Rouge, which is red lipstick framed with translucent black. The red is a beautiful neutral red in the same Le Rouge formula. The black is very light and sheer, which makes it very wearable. That being said, while I like the concept of contoured lips, this one isn’t really for me. The formula is amazing, but it just seems too gimmicky for me. The grungy feel does feel very Givenchy though.

Givenchy Fall 2017 Le Rouge Sculpt, Le Rouge, Noir Interdit Mascara, and Base Mascara Perfecto review

Givenchy Fall 2017 Le Rouge Sculpt, Le Rouge, Noir Interdit Mascara, and Base Mascara Perfecto review

Next we have two mascaras. The first is a mascara base, the Base Mascara Perfecto (C$37), which is a unique sheer pink formula that contains cotton nectar and soy proteins to help volumize the lashes. Applied before the Noir Interdit Mascara, you get a fuller, thicker look. The new Noir Interdit Mascara (C$38) is a comb-applicator mascara that features a bendy 90 degree applicator. It’s supposed to help volumize and lengthen, but I was kinda meh about it. I generally don’t like comb mascaras because my lashes are very sparse and quite short, so the comb tends to get product all over my eyelids. My lashes are also too short for the applicator to actually comb through, so I felt like I didn’t really get the full benefit of this awesome applicator. I also didn’t really take advantage of how the brush can bend 90 degrees. It just felt really odd to use it that way.

Overall, I like the Base Mascara Perfecto and the Le Rouge, but the other two products were just okay on me. I think the Noir Interdit Mascara is probably designed for Caucasian eyes, or those who already start out with longer lashes.

All of these products are available now at Sephora across Canada.

Products were provided for review consideration; all opinions are my own.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

