Home tour & design – my bedroom, as well as décor ideas and tips

I’m back with another home tour, this time featuring my bedroom! Of my entire home, my bedroom was probably one that I poured the most thought into. Since living at home on my childhood furniture, then upgrading to a hand-me-down bed, I’ve always dreamt about how I would decorate my bedroom. I wanted my bedroom to be a sanctuary, somewhere I can escape to for relaxation and intimate conversations.

Find your dream bed

I moved into my apartment with my 20+ year old bed and mattress set that my family has owned for longer than my brother has been alive. It worked for the time being, but I couldn’t wait too replace this. Home ownership is expensive so I unfortunately had to replace one thing at a time, but I made it my priority to buy a new bed frame. I figured it’s better to get a nice frame first so that when I do buy the mattress, it wouldn’t be on the floor for any extended period of time. I was so in love with the Dream Bed by the Cross Design, but I really couldn’t afford the $3,000+ price tag (really, how many people out there could?).

I ended up finding this lady who works with her 75 year old father in law to custom make any kind of upholstered bed you want. She said she’s gotten several requests to make something similar to the Dream Bed and would be happy to make one for me… for just $1,200, which is just 40% of the cost of the Cross Design version. She even delivered it to my apartment and we assembled it together. Everything from the height of the headboard to the height of the mattress off the ground was customized, and my customized bed was made and delivered to me within a week.

In addition to it being an amazing place to fall asleep, it also creates a central look to your decor. My dream bed is comfortable, modern and luxurious looking, all together. It’s not too feminine that my boyfriend refuses to be seen sleeping in it, but it’s not too industrial or cold looking either.

Spice up your curtains

In addition to the bed, my biggest decor item were my curtains. Curtains are a great way to change up the look of a room without investing too much into a permanent look. I live on the 11th floor of a high-rise building, facing east, so I get a lot of sunlight in the mornings (it’s really HOT!). I’m also a night owl so I really like to sleep in on weekends. When I first moved in, the previous owners had left these set of really ugly, maroony-brown curtains. It just darkened the entire room, but thankfully they blocked out the sun. One of my first “reno” projects was to change up my curtains. I got these curtains custom made for me – they are double layered with the back layer a light-coloured, satin-like fabric so it reflects more of the light. While they aren’t 100% light blocking, I like that the colours really do brighten up my room and adds a bit more of a feminine flair.

Mix up original and sentimental artwork

I love Dana Mooney‘s artwork, and my apartment is filled with them. In my bedroom, I have a pink ikat piece by Dana right next to my bed, which I absolutely adore. On the wall that is right next to the door (and mostly hidden from visitors) are framed art and other things that are sentimental to me and my significant other. Things like cards that he made me, or photos that we took together that I love are posted here. The bed directly faces this wall, so I look at it every night before bed. There are only a few things on there, but I love that this is a cleaner way to put up personal photos without using photo frames that take up room on your side table.

As you can probably tell, our apartment is mostly decorated by me. Don’t worry, my boyfriend gets his own mancave to decorate as well (including his own light-up Pylon), so he’s well taken care of in terms of his need to hang up nerdy things.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

