Experience: Max+ Light Customized Facial at Skinceuticals by Project Skin

Skinceuticals by Project Skin MD opening review

A few months ago, I wrote about how I attended the opening of the Skinceuticals by Project Skin, the first freestanding Skinceuticals boutique in Canada, as well as a Project Skin MD treatment centre, located at Richmond Centre in the Greater Vancouver Area in B.C., Canada. After finishing my work busy season, I finally had a chance to check out a treatment at this location, and I was definitely impressed.

The treatment I received was the Max+ Light Customized Facial (C$255 for , which combines “the Customized Glow Facial with the skin balancing rewards of MAX+ LED therapeutic light. This unique treatment helps rebalance, calm, brighten and care for any skin types. Our custom light protocols boost our facial effects for acneic, rosacea-prone, aging, dehydrated, pigmented or dull skin.” The person who provided my treatment was Michelle, who has the sweetest, most calming voice, and the most incredibly beautiful skin.

My treatment started with a customized facial using Skinceuticals products. Michelle started by double cleansing with a bi-phase oil remove, then a milky cleanser. After toning, she inspected my skin, and designed a treatment based on this. Then she used a physical exfoliant, followed by a 20% glycolic acid + 10% lactic acid peel. The peel was very strong, and made my skin itch and tingle, but she blew a fan on my skin to help relieve this itch. Afterwards, she applied the Clarifying Clay Mask (reviewed here) to draw out the impurities, which was followed by extractions. The extractions that she did on me were the most pain-free extractions I’ve ever had – normally extractions make me tear up but the use of the Clarifying Clay Mask really helped the blackheads surface, which made it easier for her to squeeze out.

Michelle selected three serums for me. The first was the legendary C E Ferulic, which combines 15% L-Ascorbic Acid (vitamin C), 1% Alpha Tocopherol (vitamin E), and 0.5% Ferulic Acid. This is an anti-oxidant serum that Michelle recommends to use every morning right after toning and before sunscreen. Michelle says that sunscreen only blocks out 50% of the sun’s damage to the skin, and the other 50% is free radicals that are blocked by an anti-oxidant like C E Ferulic. The next serum was the Phyto Corrective Gel, which is a green gel that helps to neutralize the redness and sensitivity on my cheeks. I’ve used the Phyto Corrective Mask previously (reviewed here) and it was a fantastic hydrating mask. In place of moisturizer, Michelle used the Hydrating B5 Gel (previously reviewed here), which is a hyaluronic acid serum. She said that moisturizers don’t necessarily work the best to help your skin in the long run, whereas a hyaluronic acid serum will help to plump your skin up and maintain hydration in the long run.

After the three serums were layered, Michelle started me on the Max+ Light therapy. This is a combination of blue, red, green, and yellow lights to help balance and brighten the skin. The total light therapy time was 15 minutes, and I didn’t feel any sensitivity on my skin. It was pretty soothing actually. After 15 minutes, Michelle let me look at my skin in a mirror and it was glowing! The serums definitely helped to neutralize and balance my skin, and the light therapy also helped the products penetrate into the deeper levels of my skin. Since it was during the day, Michelle finished off by applying a healthy amount of SPF 50, which will help protect my skin against the sun. I left the treatment with my skin feeling super glowy and healthy.

It was my first time trying Skinceuticals products and I was pretty impressed at how simple but effective the products were. In addition, I left feeling taken care of, but not pressured to purchase anything. Michelle did recommend that I pick up the C E Ferulic, as well as the Hydrating B5 Gel. For night-time, Michelle recommended the Retexturing Activator, a serum chemical exfoliator, because my skin is a bit uneven and bumpy at the moment (I blame the heat). I felt like I was provided with good recommendations that would be beneficial for my skin, and not pushed to buy things for the sake of it.

The one downside to being inside a busy mall was that you can actually hear most of the things that are happening outside your treatment room, as the sound-proofing wasn’t great. The relaxing music in the room helped to downplay the noise outside, so that was good. Plus Michelle’s voice, when she was explaining the products to me, was pretty soothing as well.

The treatments here are pretty pricey. I think if I were to go again, I would probably just opt for the regular Customized Glow Facial without the Max+ Light treatment. Skinceuticals by Project Skin also offers 30 minute express treatments for $85, which is a nice treat if you are looking for a quick pick-me-up.

You can find Skinceuticals by Project Skin at Richmond Centre, which now also has new hours so they are open until 9PM every day, and 7PM on Sundays and holidays:
6551 No 3 Rd
Richmond, BC
V6Y 2B6
Phone: 604.285.8115
E-mail: richmond@projectskinmd.com

Complimentary service received as part of the media opening celebration; all opinions are my own.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

