Top four favourite lipstick formulas – featuring Guerlain, Givenchy, Bite Beauty and Charlotte Tilbury

Guerlain Rouge G review

It seemed like last year, we had a huge increase in the number of new lipstick lines coming out from various major brands. I LOVE lipsticks, and after trying so many different brands, ranges, formulations and finishes, I’ve narrowed my list of my favourite lipsticks down to these four. All of these I own multiple shades of, which is rare considering how many options there are on the market. They are truly the crown jewels of my makeup collection!

1. Guerlain Rouge G

My ultimate #1 lipstick formula and my go-to lipstick to create a lux, glam look is hands down the Guerlain Rouge G. I think I own 6 or 7 of these and I love every single one of them. The texture is rich and creamy, very pigmented, but still lightweight. It applies seamlessly on the lips to create a fuller lip, without the need for a lip liner. Yes they are so expensive (I think $55 or $60 per lipstick) but they are a true collector’s item. My favourite shades are 06 Garance, which is a creme nude-mauve, and 14 Gillian, a shimmery pinky brown. Gillian can be worn on the sheer side to create a natural daytime look. With all shades, you get this juicy finish that’s creamy and glossy but not heavy or sticky.

2. Givenchy Le Rouge

My first foray into matte lipsticks was courtesy of Givenchy Le Rouge. Before this, I thought I couldn’t wear matte lipsticks because my lips are so dry normally. This definitely proved me wrong – the formula is lightweight, pigmented, and moderately hydrating. It’s not a true matte lipstick as it doesn’t dry down to that super dried down, almost cracked look, and just stays almost satiny-matte. If you have trouble with matte lips, this one is a must-try. My favourite shades are Rose Plumetis, for a natural nude lip, and Framboise Velours, for a brightened lip look.

3. Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche

Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche in Pepper, Beetroot, and Jam review and swatches

A new formulation from 2016 to replace something that was already much loved by the masses (the Luminous Creme lipsticks), and ended up being even better (something that almost never happens). The Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche lipstick is definitely one of my most worn formulas of 2016. Like the Guerlain and Givenchy, you get full coverage in one swipe and a formula that lasts all day, even with the nude shade. I have four shades, and if my crazy lipstick hoarder side won over my logical stop buying so much lipstick side, I would definitely buy more. My favourite shade is Rhubarb, a beautiful mauve-pink that works so well with so many different looks.

4. Charlotte Tilbury KISSING lipstick

My favourite nude lipstick ever is Charlotte Tilbury KISSING lipstick in Bitch Perfect. Charlotte Tilbury creates incredible lipstick formulas, and the KISSING lipstick is seriously so easy to wear and applies effortlessly. I wear this either alone, or over her lip liner in Pillow Talk. I’ve generally stayed away from nude lips these years, preferring bright lips to pair with a softened eye look, but I pull out Bitch Perfect time and time again.

Some of these product were initially received as PR samples for review consideration then repurchased (then repurchased, and repurchased… by me), others were purchased by me; all opinions are my own.Β 

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

