Review – LUSH Valentine’s Day 2017

LUSH Valentine's Day 2017 collection review

For Valentine’s Day this year, LUSH has introduced a number of never-before-seen new products! The good news is that most of these have a beautiful rose scent, the bad news is that this is probably one of the first times where I find the rose scent a bit too potent.

LUSH Valentine's Day 2017 Lovestuck review

The first new product this year is the Lovestruck Bubble Bar (C$8.95). Scented naturally with oils of Sicilian Lemon and Geranium, this bubble bar is smile-inducing! Of all of the products I tried from the Lush Valentine’s Day collection, this one is the most refreshing, and probably my favourite. Lush’s bubble bars are very very sudsy, so I can usually make each one last more than one bath. It was sad to break this into multiple pieces, but it really helps ย it go the extra mile.

LUSH Valentine's Day 2017 Rose Bombshell review

One of the repromotes from the prior year Lush collection is the Rose Bombshell Bath Bomb (C$7.95). It contains Rosa Centifolia and Rosa Damascena, as well as Silician Lemon Oil and and Geranium Oil. I really liked the sound of this but the scent is just way too potent. While bathing in this, I felt like I was going to drown in the fragrance. Even inside the paper bag, the scent will fill an entire room, which is a bit too overwhelming. Despite the scent, I love Lush’s bath bomb formulas, and this one is one of the more hydrating ones. If you can stand the scent, I definitely recommend picking one up. The good thing is, there is no parfum / fragrance in the ingredients list, so you know you’re getting pure rose and not synthetics.

LUSH Valentine's Day 2017 Two Hearts Beating as One review

Another new product for this year is Two Hearts Beating as One Bath Melt (C$10.95). It comes in two slices which you stick together to create a 3D model-like thing. This is probably the product I like the least from this year’s collection, because the pink side of this bath melt is so pink that it stains my tub more than anything else I’ve ever used… It also stains my skin just enough that it bothers me.

The issues aside, this bath melt is perfect for keeping your skin from drying out during a hot bath. Despite it being sold as one single bath melt, each side is enough to use during separate bath sessions.

LUSH Valentine's Day 2017 Love Spell review

Lastly, I have Love Spell Massage Bar (C$8.95), which contains a heavy dose of cocoa butter and shea butter, jojoba oil, as well as rosehip syrup, aloe vera gel, carnation absolute, neroli oil, and fresh rose petal. It smells SO GOOD, not as overwhelming as the Rose Bombshell Bath Bomb. In addition to creating a beautiful massage oil, the cocoa butter and shea butter also help to moisturize my super dry skin.

Lush Valentine’s Day collection is available now online and in-store!

Products courtesy of PR for review consideration; all opinions are my own.

One thought on “Review – LUSH Valentine’s Day 2017

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

