Review: Vintner’s Daughter Active Botanical Serum, the face oil to end all face oils

Vintner's Daughter Active Botanical Serum review

Today, I feel so incredibly lucky to be able to share with you the facial oil that has taken the world by a storm – Vintner’s Daughter Active Botanical Serum (C$240 for 30mL). Created by vintner April Gargiulo when she was pregnant with her child, the Active Botanical Serum is an all-purpose, nutrient dense face oil that can potentially replace every other product in your skincare routine. My apologies in advance for this crazy long post. I had an extensive conversation with April about  the Active Botanical Serum, so I wanted to transfer all of that knowledge to you. If you already know everything about this magical serum, then you can jump down to the section titled “My thoughts,” where I describe my experience.

April’s background is in fine wine making, where every ingredient needs to be the truly best quality, and each step of the wine-making process strictly monitored and controlled. The same philosophy was adopted when she created Vintner’s Daughter – there are no shortcuts taken to create the very best product for your skin. The end product is simple, but it’s not at all easy to create or execute. Armed with a background in agriculture, April and the Vintner’s Daughter team works only with the very best producers around the world. Each and every ingredient that passes through to Vintner’s Daughter is tested by the lab to ensure for quality.

While it was designed for April’s acne-prone, discoloration-prone skin, and it can treat everything from dehydration to blemishes, hyperpigmentation, fine lines, deep wrinkles, and elasticity. The product was created to address skin concerns at its very foundation, using skin balancing minerals and omega fatty acids. It contains 22 natural oils and extracts, with no fillers, fragrances, nothing, with each ingredient playing a key role in keeping your skin looking and feeling its best. Each of the ingredients are present in the serum in high quantities, April warns, if you are sensitive or allergic to one of these ingredients then the product will not be for you, because the product is truly concentrated. That being said, if you have sensitive skin in general, then this product is for you because of all the anti-inflammatory ingredients present.

  • Vitis vinifera (grape) seed oil – A powerful foundation oil with maximum absorption and anti-oxidant properties.
  • Corylus avellana (hazelnut) oil – A key foundation oil rich in linoleic acids that strengthens skin’s elasticity and its small particle size allows it to reach deep into skin.
  • Citrus aurantium var bergamia(bergamot) peel oil – A time-honored oil that inhibits melanin synthesis; lightens and brightens skin.
  • Persea americana (avocado) oil  – An oil rich in vitamin e and a serious free-radical avenger.
  • Calendula officinalis (marigold) – An oil prized for centuries for its potent healing and soothing powers.
  • Rose damascena (rose) absolute – An ancient skin healer and hormonal skin balancer
  • Daucus carota (carrot) seed oil – An oil rich in vitamin a that is a super charged cell regenerator and wrinkle reducer
  • Oenothera biennis (evening primrose) oil – A powerful healing and anti -inflammatory oil that also acts as skin balancer
  • Rosa rubignosa (rosehip) seed oil – An oil that uniquely targets damage and discoloration caused by uv exposure
  • Citrus limon (lemon) peel – A botanical that inhibits melanin synthesis to lighten and brighten skin
  • Lavandula x intermedia (lavender) flower – A deeply healing and highly anti-inflammatory ancient botanical
  • Medicago sativa (alfalfa) leaf – A potent detoxifier with dense phytonutrient content for cell regeneration
  • Urtica dioica (nettle) leaf – A botanical with maximum vitamin a and c content to combat wrinkles and sun damage.
  • Taraxacum officinale (dandelion) leaf – A potent detoxifier with dense phytonutrient content for cell regeneration
  • Boswellia carteri (frankincense) oil – A sought after oil that increases blood circulation allowing serum to penetrate skin’s layers
  • Citrus aurantium var amara (neroli) flower oil – A powerful and ancient aromatic for spiritual and skin health.
  • Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract – An anti-microbial botanical that also helps to reduce acne
  • Hippophae rhamnoides (sea buckthorn) fruit – A deeply nourishing oil that contains the entire family of omegas 3, 6, 9 and the rare omega 7.
  • Curcuma longa (tumeric) root oil – A super-charged anti-inflammatory, skin brightener and free radical avenger.
  • Cupressus sempervirens (cypress) leaf oil – An oil that increases blood circulation, strengthen capillaries and delivers oxygen to skin.
  • Jasminum grandiflorum (jasmine) flower – A rare and sought after oil that promotes skin elasticity and increases cellular renewal.
  • Calophyllum tacamahaca (tamanu) oil – A deeply nourishing oil prized for its rich fatty acid content readily available for skin absorption.

While April herself uses a very simple skincare routine – cleanse, tone with an acid-based toner for gentle daily exfoliation, then apply Active Botanical Serum, and sunscreen if it’s the daytime – she believes that skincare shouldn’t be prescriptive. Everyone should do what feels best for them! If you are using a multi-step, more complicated routine, then the Active Botanical Serum should be applied at the very end of your routine.

Vintner's Daughter Active Botanical Serum review

While applying the Active Botantical Serum, Vintner’s Daughter recommends a Push/Press method that allows for deeper and more effective penetration of the active ingredients, which also allows the user to create a 30 second daily ritual where you can relax and enjoy the aromatherapy benefits of the Active Botanical Serum. The Push/Press technique is as follows:

Step 1. Start with clean, damp skin
Step 2. Place 6- 8 drops of Active Botanical Serum in palm of hand
Step 3. Gently rub palms together. This will further activate your serum and evenly distribute serum to both hands.
Step 4. Place full hand on either side of face and press firmly. Push serum into skin by repeating Push / Press technique on entire face, neck and décolleté.
Step 5. Continue to repeat entire process for 60 seconds.

Despite it containing such a long list of active ingredients, April believes that the Active Botanical Serum can be used in conjunction with most other ingredients, including retinols, acid peels, and others.

My thoughts

Vintner's Daughter Active Botanical Serum review

I received my bottle of Vintner’s Daughter the day after my offer was accepted on my first ever apartment, and it was a very, very stressful week, to say the least. I was trying to get an inspector in, secure a mortgage, and also review strata documents all in just a few short days. It was also bad timing because it was one of my busiest times of the year for my day job, AND I was also very sick with a bad cold. But that was the true test that I put the Active Botanical Serum under, and it seriously blew my expectations away. Despite the lack of sleep, stress, illness, and everything else on top, the first night I used this, I woke up with incredibly glowy, smooth, luminous, and plumped up skin. I was completely shocked at how good my skin looked.

If you’re not a fan of facial oils, or if you find them too heavy, then the Active Botanical Oil might be a good option for you. Despite the heavy dosage of active ingredients and natural oils and extracts, this oil is surprisingly lightweight – it is one of the fastest absorbing natural facial oils I’ve used. That being said, you still get about 30 seconds to push and press this product into your skin, and also inhale its beautiful scent, but once all that’s done, you get incredibly supple skin.

Since the first day I tried this, every single time I use this on my face I am wowed by how much my skin glows. It looks truly healthy from the inside out. I derive so much happiness from including this product in my daily ritual, but I try not to use this every night because I don’t want my skin to get used to it. I do use it on those nights where I feel like my skin needs some extra TLC. It’s an all-in-one oil for me, so I can use this on its own when I’m travelling, or layered on top of my other skincare products. I’ve also used this during the day, on a particularly cold winter morning, and this oil left my skin feeling nourished and protected against the winter elements.

The only downside that I found with this oil is that I find you need to use more than what you would use in other oils. For example, the May Lindstrom Youth Dew only requires a single pump to adequately cover and hydrate my face and neck. The Active Botanical Serum requires six to eight drops – I did try this with less drops (around four) and it wasn’t enough for full coverage, simply because it absorbs quickly and weightlessly into the skin. Why is this a problem? Well it’s quite expensive, priced at $220 for just 30mL. It is very potent, but I wouldn’t say that a little bit goes a long way, so I can see this needing replenishment quite often.

Lastly, if you are wanting to try out the Active Botanical Serum without committing to buying the full bottle, unfortunately there isn’t a sample program that allows you to do that. Because quality is so important to Vintner’s Daughter, and most sample bottles are clear glass, which may affect the efficacy of the active ingredients, the company has chosen not to do samples until they are able to design a sample program that won’t compromise the quality of the ingredients. However, certain retailers like Clementine Fields offers samples for C$10, which will allow you to test this out on your skin without breaking the bank.

The TL;DR version is that I love my precious bottle of Vintner’s Daughter Active Botanical Serum. I’ve been recommending it to everyone around me, so now it’s time for me to recommend it to you too. It’s a wonderful product, and adds an extra layer of depth to my skincare routine. It is expensive, but think about it this way – it’s basically the cost of going to a facial 2-3 times, yet with this one bottle you get that beautiful post-facial glow every time you use it. It’s a product truly worthy of your investment.

Purchase your Vintner’s Daughter direct from their site for the freshest product, or from other online retailers such as Cult Beauty, the Detox Market, and more.

Vintner's Daughter Active Botanical Serum review

Ingredients:

Vintner's Daughter Active Botanical Serum review and ingredients

The product featured in this post was provided by the company; all opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Review: Vintner’s Daughter Active Botanical Serum, the face oil to end all face oils

  1. I’ve read so many amazing things about this serum, I absolutely want to try it. Unfortunately, I have about three other bottles of face oil which I want to use (yeah, I am a hoarder…). But I will keep this in my mind. Thank you for this very thorough review.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

