Review + swatches + look – Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow

Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow review and swatches

For Spring 2017, Lancome is releasing new shade extensions to some of their recent eye products. The Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme (C$36) was first introduced for Fall 2016 as an extension to their original Grandiose Mascara. The Grandiose Extreme claims to offer even more volume, curl and length for up to 24 hours of wear. I liked the original Grandiose, but only after a few weeks off testing. The original formula was a bit too wet for my short straight lashes so it wouldn’t build up or hold a curl. I haven’t tried the Grandiose Extreme in the original black, but I have the shade Bleu Nuit to share with you today. In addition to Bleu Nuit, it is also available in Burgundy.

In terms of the formula, this one blows the original Grandiose Mascara out of the water. While it is still a wet formula, it dries down much faster so that you can build up more volume and length to your heart’s content. In addition to it looking fantastic right after application, it is also great at holding a curl. The first time I tried this, I didn’t even curl my lashes because I couldn’t find my lash curler, but this managed to give my lashes a nice lift that stayed in place all day. It also doesn’t flake, smudge, or wear off until I removed it at the end of the day. Removal was easy, as it just melted into my cleansing oil without the need to rub my eye too much.

The Bleu Nuit colour looks very intimidating at first because it’s almost a bright blue coming out of the tube, but it dries down to a dark navy on my black lashes. It gives just the right amount of tint that isn’t too crazy. I would wear this to the office no problem.

Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow review and swatches

The Lancome Grandiôse Eyeliner (C$40) was a Lisa Eldridge invention. The applicator bends to a 35 degree angle to help make liquid liner application a breeze. It has a felt tip applicator, but this is different from other felt tip applicators because it is soft and bends with ease. I usually hate felt tip applicators because the stiffness makes it hard to create a cat eye, but I did two near-perfect cat eye flicks (one for each eye) in under 10 seconds, no joke. While it is not a one-swipe wonder, i.e. you do need to go over each section of your lash line a few times to build up the formula, you don’t need to re-dip and each dip will give you enough product to finish one eye.

In addition to easy application, the formula itself is seriously amazing. I have very bad luck with Western brand liners because they usually smudge like no tomorrow on me, even the high end ones. The Grandiose Eyeliner lasted all day on me without fading, creasing, or flaking. It looked absolutely perfect on me until I went to take it off. When I did remove this, it came off in chunks instead of dissolving in the cleansing oil, which actually made removal very easy as well.

The three shades that I have are Fuchsia, Cerulean and Silver Snow. Fuchsia dries down matte, whereas Cerulean and Silver Snow dry down metallic with a wet look. This also comes in a Metallic Green shade. I wear Cerulean all the time, it is a very dark navy blue base with blue metal shine to it – it is seriously the most gorgeous eyeliner I own. The colour brings out the colour of my eyes, and really helps to make my eye makeup pop. The colour reminds me of peacocks!

Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow review and swatches

I can’t say enough good things about these two product formulas. I normally don’t wear coloured mascara or liners so I was a bit wary about these, but I’m so happy to say that I’ve found new favourites. I definitely have to check out the original black shades in store.

The new shade extensions for Grandiôse Eyeliner and Grandiôse Mascara Extreme are available January, 2017, at Sephora, The Bay, Shopper’s Drug Mart, Murale, and other places that sell Lancome.

The swatches

Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow, and Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit

Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow review and swatches

The look

Wearing Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit and Grandiôse Eyeliner in Cerulean

Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow review and swatches

Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow review and swatches

Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow review and swatches

Products received courtesy of PR; opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Review + swatches + look – Lancome Grandiôse Mascara Extreme in Bleu Nuit & Grandiôse Eyeliner in Fuchsia, Cerulean, and Silver Snow

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

