Review – Imbue Skin Recovery Mists in Heaven, Muse, Soothe and Lust

img_20161123_235539

A few months ago, I was contacted by local Vancouver brand Imbue to try out their Skin Recovery Mists. I did an extensive roundup of a few of my favourite facial mists a while back, check it out here. There are four Skin Recovery Mists in total, all of them made with rose water to help hydrate the skin, plus a cocktail of vitamin E and various essential oils. Each individual bottle is priced at C$22, and Imbue also offers a four bottle set for C$78.

Heaven is the brand’s most popular formula. It contains scents of jasmine, rose, neroli, and ylang ylang, all of which are my personal favourites. This contains Purified Water, Rose Water, Vitamin E & Essential Oils of Tangerine, Jasmine, Rose, Neroli, Ylang Ylang, Vanilla & Lime.

Muse contains Purified Water, Rose Water, Vitamin E & Essential Oils of Grapefruit, Bergamot, Orange, Lime & Mandarin. I love the freshness of Muse, making it perfect for mornings. The blend of citrus oils really helps to wake me up!

Soothe contains Purified Water, Rose Water, Vitamin E & Essential Oils of Bergamot, Grapefruit White, Lavender, Marjoram, Tea Tree, Spearmint & Chamomile. This is my least favourite as it contains tea tree and spearmint. My skin is pretty sensitive to any types of mint on the skin so I couldn’t really use this one much.

Lust is made of Purified Water, Rose Water, Vitamin E & Essential Oils of Orange, Patchouli, Rosewood, Indian Neroli, Bergamot, Cardamon, Cedarwood, Champa & Vetiver. Lust is great for evenings where you want something deeper to help relax before sleeping.

Despite the beautiful scents, the formula itself is a bit lacking. I would call these facial mists only lightly moisturizing, and good mostly for the summer time when my skin isn’t too try. I was surprised to find that the rose water was diluted with more water, although I don’t know what the proportion of water to rose water is. I prefer my rose water mists to not have additional water to dilute its moisturizing properties. The bottle states spray 1-3 times, but I usually end up spraying around 6-8 times to get my skin to the level of hydration that I prefer. Otherwise it doesn’t seem to do much. In addition, the C$22 price per bottle for just 60mL is really quite high, particularly because you need to use so much of it each time.

Overall, I love the concept of these, but wish that they would be more hydrating. Perhaps add some glycerin, or increase the rose water to water ratio? If you have normal, combination, or oily skin, you might enjoy these, but those with dry skin (like me) would definitely need something else to prevent dryness.

Products provided by PR; all opinions are mine.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

