Review + swatches – NARS Spring 2017 Wildfire collection

NARS Spring 2017 collection review and swatches

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas! Did you do lots of Boxing Day shopping? I had a nice four day break, but I’m back at work tomorrow for the following two days, and then off on Friday for another four day weekend. I love this time of year because it’s so chill and relaxing. I mostly just sit at home and watch Netflix with a nice cup of tea.

I know it’s still winter, but today I have my first spring collection to share with you guys. For Spring 2017, NARS is introducing a new colour collection inspired by burnt reds, chestnuts, and big-sky blues. I have a few products from the collection to share with you today.

NARS Thessalonique Duo Eyeshadow for Spring 2017 review and swatches

Thessalonique Duo Eyeshadow contains an iridescent seashell pink and an iridescent smokey violet. I find NARS Duo Eyeshadows a bit hit-or-miss. I love some of the classics such as Kuala Lumpur and Grand Palais, but this one was just a bit above average. The light pink shade on the left is super powdery, like imagine lots of powdery fallout. The iridescent smokey violet is almost like a violet taupe. The colour is beautiful, the texture is soft but not powdery, and you get great colour payoff and pigmentation. I would use this Duo for just the right side alone, but the left side would require a bit more care during application.

NARS Bumpy Ride Blush for Spring 2017 review and swatches

NARS Blushes are known for being one of the best on the market; its Orgasm blush is a makeup lover’s staple. Surprisingly, this is my first blush from NARS… I owned Orgasm for a while back in university, but I never got around to using it so I returned it to Sephora. The shade Bumpy Ride is a cool-toned candy pink with silvery shimmers. It is quite powdery as well, but you get good blendability.

NARS Velvet Shadow Stick in Siros and Usbek for Spring 2017 review and swatches

My two favourites from this collection are the Velvet Shadow Sticks in Siros (bronze) and Usbek (vivid purple). These are one swipe wonders, SO creamy, pigmented, and very easy to apply and blend out. My issue with them is that they don’t fully dry down to a matte, long-wearing finish, so I usually have to start with an eyeshadow base, and then end by patting a bit of similar-toned powder shadow on top to prevent creasing. Sadly this takes a bit away from the metallic finish, but the end result is still very bright, vivid colouring.

NARS Spring 2017 is available starting January 2017 at Sephora, and February 2017 at all other NARS retailers, such as Holt Renfrew, Nordstrom, and the Bay.

The swatches

From left to right: Velvet Shadow Sticks in Siros and Usbek, Thessalonique Duo Eyeshadow, Bumpy Ride Blush (swatched heavy and blended out).

NARS Spring 2017 collection review and swatches

Products provided by PR, all opinions are my own.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

