Favourite products of 2016

May Lindstrom Skin review

I haven’t done one of these roundups in what feels like years. This year I had several milestone favourite products so I really wanted to share them with you.

It’s no secret that I have fallen deeply  in love with May Lindstrom. I’ve written about them extensively, and I just can’t get enough. I own, or will be acquiring in the next month or so, almost all of the products. The ones that I always fall back on are The Honey Mud and The Blue Cocoon (my next buy!). May’s brand is truly loved by almost everyone who has tried them. May herself is one of the sweetest women, and she is supported by the best team possible. Her Director of Care, Elli, is also someone I always enjoy corresponding with.

May Lindstrom Skin the Honey Mud review

I’ve been loving all things oil this year, which is a big contrast from the last few years when I never wore anything oil-based. My body oil of choice is the Rocky Mountain Soap Co. Berry Blossom Body Oil. In terms of facial oil, Vintner’s Daughter Active Botanical Serum takes the #1 spot. My full review of this liquid gold is still coming (you can see my Instagram rave here), but since the day I received it, I’ve been recommending this to everyone. It is truly a miracle worker for my skin.

Tata Harper is another brand that I’ve been obsessing over for all of 2016. Her Regenerating Cleanser tops the list as one of my favourite cleanser discoveries this year. I’ve also fallen in love with the Honey Blossom Mask and the Repairative Moisturizer, both of which contain organic honey to help moisturize and soothe my dry skin.

Vichy Double Glow Peel Mask review

Masking was one of the hobbies that I developed in 2016. Even though prior to this year, I’ve been masking once in a while, I never did it consistently this year. I generally rotate through my collection of masks, but I can’t help but go back to the ones I really love. The Vichy Double Glow Peel Mask, Tata Harper Purifying Mask, May Lindstrom The Problem Solver, and Even Tide by Collective Skin Care, are all ones I use on a regular basis. I recently discovered Herbivore’s Blue Tansy mask, and even though I’ve only used it a few times, I can already tell that I will be a fan.

 

In terms of makeup, my favourite foundation discovery this year is the La Prairie Skin Caviar Concealer + Foundation (review coming soon). This foundation is what I wear when I need my makeup to stay on all day and all night, with medium coverage and a satin-matte finish. It leaves my skin looking so radiant and fresh, and I really enjoy the ritual of applying this.

Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche in Pepper, Beetroot, and Jam review and swatches

Lipsticks are my big weakness, and I’ve been wearing Bite Beauty’s Amuse Bouche lipstick the most this year. My favourite shades are Pepper, Rhubarb, and Beetroot. My go-to eyeshadow palette was Charlotte Tilbury’s Dolce Vita Palette. I didn’t realize I could love a palette more than I loved the Vintage Vamp palette, but this definitely proved me wrong. In addition to how gorgeous the texture, pigmentation, and quality is, this eyeshadow stayed on my lids flawlessly and without an eyeshadow base for over 10 hours.

Charlotte Tilbury the Dolce Vita palette review and swatches

My go-to eyeliner this year was Amaterasu Liquid Liner – it draws a cat eye flick so easily and it also lasts all day without smudging or budging. I’ve recently been using their Pencil Liner and I’m so far a fan as well. Lastly, even though I didn’t discover this product in 2016, I’ve been using it nonstop. The Filmstar Bronze & Glow by Charlotte Tilbury will always be my favourite bronzer/sculpt palette.

Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow review review

What are some of your favourite products this year?

One thought on “Favourite products of 2016

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

