Sneak preview – Shu Uemura x Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

Hi!! I am back from my trip and also pretty much done moving so I’m starting to get back into the groove of blogging again, expect lots of gift guides and holiday posts coming up, starting with this one! That being said, I am still trying to work out a permanent place in my new apartment to do blog photos, so my next few reviews may be a bit truncated when compared to the usual reviews that I publish.ย Today I am sharing with you a sneak peak of the Shu Uemura x Muramaki collection, a limited edition collection for holiday 2016, and the second collaboration between Shu Uemura and Takashi Murakami (the previous one was in 2013). I just received these when I got back last week, so I hadn’t had the time to properly play with them, but I wanted to post this up quickly because this is a limited edition collection.

Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

I love this packaging on this collection; everything is super whimsical, cute, and colourful. The packaging is all plastic, but feel very sturdy. That being said, my biggest initial complaint is also the packaging because I feel like the eyeshadows aren’t glued on very well, especially for this price point.

The star products of this collection are the two Cosmic Blossom Eye & Cheek Palettes (C$85), available in a cool-toned variation – Cosmicool – and a warm-toned variation – Cosmikawaii. Each palette comes with seven eyeshadows and one blush. Cosmicool contains tones of grey, violet, purple, and silver colours, with a cool-toned pink blush, and Cosmikawaii has tones of orange, pink, red, and purple, with a soft peach blush. I personally prefer Cosmikawaii, because I generally tend to wear more warm-toned colours (over cool-toned), and I’m also very into the look of that bright orange shadow.

Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016
Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

If you don’t wan to splurge on the $85 palette, or if giant palettes intimidate you, you can pick up the Blossom Nova Eye Trio (C$39), which contain three shades in either Cosmicool or Cosmikawaii. These also come in adorable Murakami packaging, but with a transparent lid so you can clearly identify the palette when its in your stash.

Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

There are five Rouge Unlimitedย (C$36) released with this collection, three of them in the Rouge Unlimited Sheer Shine and two in the regular Rouge Unlimited. The Sheer Shine formula is glossier and more translucent, although the regular Rouge Unlimited is also not completely opaque either. Both are very comfortable to wear on the lips, despite myself not being a fan of glossy formulas. From left to right, Rouge Unlimited Sheer Shine in Pinky Bloom, Rouge Bloom,ย RD164; and Rouge Unlimited in OR520 and WN255.

Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

Next, a new Shu Uemura product has been transformed with the Murakami packaging – the newly introduced Block: Booster (C$46) is a sunscreen and makeup primer in one. It contains SPF 50 and PA+++ for both UVA and UVB protection. It comes in two shades – Natural Beige, for evening out the skin tone, and Fresh Pink, for brightening.

Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

Last in terms of makeup items, there are four Drawing Pencils in the limited edition Murakami collection. The most interesting shade is ME Comet Brown, which appears to be more like a rusty red-orange, based on what I’ve seen. I also have ME Navy 61. If you’re looking for a new, or replacement lash curler, the cult classic aqย is now in a cool black, which a very adorable Murakami accessory. The regular silver is a classic, but this black is just too chic to pass up. I’ve gone through at least two Shu Uemura curlers and I will continue to depend on it for accurate, long lasting curls.

Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016
Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

In terms of hair care, the Shu Uemura Art of Hair Cleansing Oil Shampoo (C$56), Absolue Beautifying Oil (C$69), and Wonder Worker Leave in Spray (C$42) have also been repackaged for a limited time with the Murakami designs. I love the look of these in my shower – the cute designs instantly brighten up my day.

Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

Lastly, the Anti/Oxi Cleansing Oil is available in both the small and the large size bottles in the Murakami packaging. I haven’t tried this variation of Shu’s cleansing oil, but I’ve tried a few other types and I’ve been a fan of all of them – there’s a reason why Shu Uemura is known for their cleansing oil, they are definitely reliable!

My personal picks from this collection are the Shu Uemura limited edition lash curler, the Cosmic Blossom Eye & Cheek Palette in Cosmikawaii, and the Block: Booster in Natural Beige. This collection is completely limited edition, and currently available at Shu Uemura’s website and counters inside The Bay.

Pssst they often do 15-20% off promotions, or gift with purchases, if you sign up to Shu’s online newsletter. It can help you save a few bucks (or pick up some additional things)!

Shu Uemura Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

The products featured in this post were provided by PR; all opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Sneak preview – Shu Uemura x Murakami collection for Holiday 2016

  1. I picked up only 2 things from this collection, the cleansing oil and the 3 pan eye shadows in the purple / orange colours. Now I’m tempted to get the bigger palette – the cover design is SO CUTE.

    • I personally prefer the smaller palette, the bigger palette has a lot of glitter shades that I found not so useful in everyday life. The only reason I’d get the big palette is 1) for the packaging, 2) if you use a lot of glittery shades haha. Otherwise, save your money (or get the other 3 pan shadow XD).

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

