Life updates! New apartment, moving, travelling

14666154_10154348896148859_681661896954900969_n

Hiiii! So I haven’t done one of these life updates in a while but I think this is the perfect time to do one. I have to say that 2016 has been my most fruitful year so far. There have been so many new changes happening in my life, I’m so excited to share them with you!

1. First apartment

That’s right, I bought an apartment in my hometown of Richmond, BC, where I grew up as a child, and where I’ve been living since I returned from school. As you may have heard, real estate is pretty crazy in Vancouver so I feel extremely fortunate to have this opportunity to own my own place. It’s a two bedroom, two bathroom condo in a relatively central part of the city, so it is very exciting for me as that means my commute to work will now be shortened.

Home ownership is so different from renting, I’m responsible for my own maintenance and upkeep, and also I need to make sure I have enough insurance to cover any damages caused to the unit by my neighbours as well. Trying to figure all of this out has been extremely stressful for me, which is why for a while I was relying on multiple coffees a day to get through my work, a bad cold, and the home-buying process. I’ve really been loving Second Cup coffee during this time (disclaimer: I received a gift card from them but even before getting the gift card, I was going to Second Cup more than Starbucks, which used to be my go-to), because I find that their coffee and espresso taste richer than Starbucks, without the high acidity or bitterness of Starbucks coffee. That means I can lessen the sugar and milk, which makes the coffee healthier to drink as well. My favourite Second Cup drink is the Maple Latte, but recently I’ve fallen in love with their version of the Pumpkin Spice Latte as well, which is less deathly sweet (thank God).

2. Travelling

I am travelling to Japan and China for nearly a month this fall. It’s my first time going to Japan so I’m super excited. We’re going to be in Tokyo for 5 days, and then we’ll be staying at a ryokan near Hakone for a day and a half. Hopefully the weather is nice so we’ll be able to see Mount Fuji! I have a very long list of stuff that I want to buy in Japan (Laduree makeup anyone?). I also plan on picking up some Japanese lacquerware and ceramics to use at home. As an added bonus, we managed to score tickets to the Ghibli Museum; I’m incredibly excited to be playing in the Cat Bus for adults! It will also be the first time in six years since I’ve been back in China. The last time I was in China, I blogged extensively about my time there. I hope to have more photos to share with you once I get back.

In terms of my packing, I’ve been trying to pack super light because we’ll have access to laundry machines wherever we go. One thing that I am super excited to bring with me on my trip is the Lusomé Ava V-Neck sleep shirt. I received this a few weeks ago, and it’s been really cold in Vancouver so I never got a chance to properly try it out (I’ve mostly been wearing it lounging around my house, but with pants on). Lusomé’s products were created to help resolve the issue with nightsweats, something that a lot of women encounter, especially going into menopause, or if you are undergoing any treatment for cancer or other illnesses. The products are made with Xirotex, a fabric which pulls perspiration away from the body 10 times more effectively than its nearest moisture-wicking competitor. Since it’s been pretty cold here, I haven’t been sweating much, but it’s supposed to be pretty warm in Japan so I will get to properly try it out! Did I mention that this fabric is crazy soft, even my boyfriend was commenting about how soft and comfy it looked.

3. Hiatus

As with all of these updates and life happenings, I would like to also notify everyone that I will be going on a short break for the next few weeks. I will still be posting off and on, but I don’t expect to be able continue on a regular blogging schedule. I hope to be back by late November, but with all of the moving, house stuff, and travelling, I simply don’t have time to blog on a regular basis. Hopefully by the time I get back, there will be lots of holiday collections to share with everyone. Holiday collections are my favourite of the whole year!

This post is not sponsored or endorsed by any brand, but I did receive the Lusome Ava sleep shirt and the Second Cup gift card from their respective brand reps. All opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “Life updates! New apartment, moving, travelling

  1. Congrats on getting a new home. That’s very exciting and it feels good to be a homeowner. Ha Ha I went to Ghibli Museum a year ago and sadly to tell you the cat bus are for little kids only, hate to burst your bubbles. My husband wanted to go in there so badly too.

  2. Pingback: You spend 1/3 of your life in your pajamas, indulge yourself with luxury sleepwear from Lusomé! | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

