Review + swatches – Make Up For Ever NEW Water Blend Foundation and Artist Rouge Lipsticks

Make Up For Ever Water Blend Foundation in Y245,  R300 and Y325

Hello!! I hope you are all having a fantastic day so far. Today I wanted to share with you my thoughts on some of Make Up For Ever‘s new releases, specifically the new Water Blend Foundation, which replaces the Face and Body Foundation, and the new Artist Rouge Lipsticks.

The Water Blend Foundation contains 80% purified water infused with pro-vitamin B5, and glycerine and mango butter, to provide hydration and improve skin elasticity. Spoiler alert, I don’t like this foundation. I generally prefer to keep my skin relatively mattified during the day, and then I expect my foundation to provide a little bit of a “cushion” to smooth out my skin, blend everything out nicely, and then provide coverage. The Water Blend Foundation is ultra lightweight, providing barely there coverage, just covering my redness but not much else. I also find that because it is so lightweight, it sinks into my pores quite a bit; there is no cushion at all.

Make Up For Ever Water Blend Foundation in Y245,  R300 and Y325

My shade is Y245, is the same shade I wear in the Ultra HD Invisible Cover formula (which I still wear quite a bit because I finally got down the method of application!).

That being said, I gave this to my mom to try out and she LOVES it. She usually keeps her skin more dewy though, which would help this product blend out better as the dewiness already provides that cushion. She doesn’t generally want a lot of coverage during the day either, so this works out to just even out her skintone slightly.

Foundation is a very personal thing though, so just because I don’t like it, doesn’t mean you won’t. If you are looking for something very lightweight, with barely there coverage, and if you have normal, combination, to oily skin, then you may want to try this out before you rule it out completely.

Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Lipstick in C211 and M401 review and swatches

The new Artist Rouge Lipstick comes in 31 cream shades and 14 matte shades, to create a large 45-shade collection. This new lipstick formula is 25% more pigmented than the old formula, and it also contains:

  • Macadamia oil soothes the lips, while mallow oil nourishes, prevents dryness and locks in moisture.
  • Sunflower seed wax in the cream formula provides 8 full hours of outstanding wear.
  • Combination of carnauba and microcrystalline wax in the matte formula provides 10 hour wear.

The two shades I have are C211, which is a creamy, nude mauve, and M401, which is a beautiful matte blue-based red. The texture of these is drier than other lipsticks on the market, but the pigmentation is very beautiful. You only need one or two swipes to get full coverage. Due to the formula, there is a lot less slip, and you also get extended wear time. I love the pointed bullet design; the pigmentation of these lipsticks means that there is a lot less room for error for when you are applying them on the lips, so you really need something to create a precise line (if you decide not to use a lip brush). The pointed tips are just perfect for creating that clean line around the lip.

Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Lipstick in C211 and M401 review and swatches

The swatches

From left to right: Make Up For Ever Water Blend Foundation in Y245,  R300 and Y325

Make Up For Ever Water Blend Foundation in Y245,  R300 and Y325

Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Lipstick in C211 and M401

Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Lipstick in C211 and M401 review and swatches
Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Lipstick in C211 and M401 review and swatches

Ingredients:

Make Up For Ever Water Blend Foundation ingredients

 

2 thoughts on “Review + swatches – Make Up For Ever NEW Water Blend Foundation and Artist Rouge Lipsticks

  1. I know what you mean about wanting some “cushion” to foundation. Too bad about this foundation – in theory it’d be a nice seamless look but no go if it sinks into pores.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

