Review: Kiehl’s Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturizing Serum Concentrate

Kiehl's Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturizing Serum Concentrate review

Kiehl’s since 1851 has released some very impressive products in the last few years, and this Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturizing Serum Concentrate is a new-found favourite of mine. I use this every morning to combat dryness and sensitivity in the winter, and I have definitely noticed an improvement in my skin’s hydration level as well as smoothness. This, along with the Kiehl’s Iris Extract Activating Essence, have formed a crucial part of my morning skincare routine.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from kiehls.ca): Formulated with a potent complex of 15% plant-based Glycerin and Shiso Leaf Extract, this concentrated serum utilizes next-generation technology to intensively hydrate skin’s deepest surface layers. Clinically demonstrated to help correct the signs of age-related dehydration, it youthfully plumps skin, smoothing the appearance of fine lines and rough texture.

Price: C$58.00 for 50mL

Texture/Scent: Clear gel with no scent

Kiehl's Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturizing Serum Concentrate review

The good: My first impression is that this gel is very lightweight and basically melts into the skin. I use 3/4 to a full pump each morning on my face after cleansing and applying my Kiehl’s Iris Extract Activating Essence, and before my Reversa Anti-Wrinkle Cream with SPF 30 and foundation. It absorbs almost immediately, and my skin feels smooth and hydrated. My skin is relatively sensitive, especially in a drier climate, and I felt this serum really helped to soothe and prep it for the cold and dry weather outside. In addition, my foundation blends in perfectly with zero patchiness. There are also no dry spots for the foundation to cling to, so the finish is smooth and glowy. The packaging is hygienic, using an airless pump bottle so that the product doesn’t oxidize and also there is no waste. Lastly, despite it being a serum, it comes in a 50mL bottle which is usually reserved for moisturizers. Priced at $58 for 50mL, it’s actually great value for a high end skincare brand.

  • Skin looks smoother and feels hydrated
  • Absorbs completely with no residue
  • Helps foundation apply more smoothly
  • Hygienic, air-tight pump bottle
  • Good value

The bad: Dimethicone is super high on the ingredients list and sometimes it feels like I am applying a silicone-based primer instead of a moisturizing serum.

  • Dimethicone high on the ingredients list

Overall: Despite feeling like a primer, this product has really helped hydrate and protect my skin in the winter. It also helps my foundation apply smoother and adhere better. Because my skin feels more hydrated and balanced, there  is also less oil production and I don’t need to blot as much, allowing my foundation to wear more long-lasting. Priced at $58 for 50mL, it really is great value for a high end skincare product that really works. I’ve recommended this product to a few of my friends who have dry and/or sensitive skin, and they’ve all had pretty good luck with it, so I will continue to recommend this product. If you live near a Kiehl’s boutique, please do ask for a sample of this as they are quite generous with their samples. Once you try this, you will be hooked!

Product: 18/20
Packaging: 4.5/5
Value: 5/5
Overall: 27.5/30 | A+
Repurchase? Yes

Ingredients:
Kiehl's Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturizing Serum Concentrate review and ingredients

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

