Review: May Lindstrom The Jasmine Garden

May Lindstrom The Jasmine Garden review

Yup I am back with another May Lindstrom review. I would also like to say here that 99% of the products reviewed on my blog were gifted by PR for review consideration, and I do get a lot of PR samples for review. So when I review products that I purchased with my own money, it must be good enough for me to want to talk about it (just because there aren’t enough hours in the week to review everything I receive). My May Lindstrom products were all purchased by me, with a few select products being gift with purchases, but still purchases I made with my own money. That’s just how good these products are!

May Lindstrom The Jasmine Garden was one of those products that I looked at and was skeptical about. For a facial essence spray, it’s on the end side of the price range at US$60 / C$74 for 100mL. At first glance, the ingredients seemed meh for the price. And then of course I got suckered into a Cult Beauty promotion which offered a full size The Jasmine Garden with any £100 purchase, so I used this opportunity to purchase a backup of The Honey Mud and a bottle of The Jasmine Garden, and was also gifted the extra The Jasmine Garden (I wanted the Blue Cocoon but I still have my travel-sized sample that was gifted from my first May Lindstrom order… I’ve been using it for the last few weeks and barely scratched the surface!).

So… I love this. I’m also trying to finish up a few other essence sprays which I told myself I would finish first before moving full force onto The Jasmine Garden, but I just can’t stop myself from dousing myself in this every morning. It feels super balancing on the skin, replenishing lost moisture and keeping my skin feeling fresh. It’s not the most hydrating facial spray on the market (for a green beauty brand, that title goes to Tata Harper), but it’s definitely one that everyone can use because it is so balancing – it’d be great even for oily or problematic skin types.

I also do a few spritzes of this before applying my The Youth Dew or The Blue Cocoon, as the moisture from The Jasmine Garden helps both products to absorb faster, delivering moisture deep within my skin. I’ve heard that you can use this to set your makeup as well, but I normally don’t use a setting spray so I can’t say how well that works. For what I use my essence sprays for – keeping my skin hydrated and balanced – this works incredibly.

One of the biggest reasons why this stands out is the scent. May’s products all have a very distinct scent that is a result of the blend of essential oils and natural extracts. I’ve heard The Jasmine Garden being described as a jasmine-cocoa scent. I personally get more of the ylang ylang and cocoa, with just a hint of jasmine, which is very soothing and calming. Even though it mostly dissipates after a few minutes, once in a while I get a very comforting whiff of it in my nose. To me, this is like an ongoing relaxation treatment.

My biggest dislike is that the spray just isn’t that great – I get concentrated spurts of product and not that misting effect I love. My favourite spray of all time is the one from Odylique, it just dispenses such a powerful full-on mist that provides even product distribution, and I really hope other brands might use a similar spray too.

It is expensive, but like I keep saying with these types of products, it is more than just skincare – it’s the ultimate skincare ritual combined with spa-like experience. Do I recommend? Yes, if you are looking for something to help ease your daily stresses at night, and to help prepare you for a hectic day of work. If you’re just looking for something that works for the best value, then no, there are other more affordable options out there. Skincare to me is something I use to wind down the day; I work a very hectic job so spending time on my skin is like my therapy. If you’re in the same boat as me, then look towards May Lindstrom products.

May Lindstrom The Jasmine Garden review

May Lindstrom The Jasmine Garden ingredients: Pure Water (Aqua), *Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel), Argentum Metallicum (Silver), Jasmine (Jasmine) Grandiorum Absolute, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Jasminum Ocinale (Jasmine) Extract, *Rosa Damascena (Rose) Oil, *Cananga Odorata (Ylang-Ylang) Oil, *Vanilla Planifolia (Vanilla) CO2 Total Essential Oil, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Oil.

*Certified Organic

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

