Oils, oils, oils! A roundup of some face and body oil options from Rodial, May Lindstrom, ILA Spa, Korres, Purxury, Kiehl’s, L’Occitane, Nuxe, and Rocky Mountain Soap Co.

I am obsessed with facial and body oils at the moment, specifically focusing on oils with natural ingredients, but open to trying all oils. Through my trial and error, I’ve found up a few of the recent face and body oils that I’ve been using, including products from Rodial, May Lindstrom, Korres, ILA Spa, Purxury, and more. My apologies in advance as I don’t have photos for all of these, some of them I started using before I took photos so the bottle started looking not-so-great, others I just forgot to take photos of.

Face

Rodial Stemcell Super-Food Facial Oil

Rodial Stemcell Super-Food Facial Oil review

The Rodial Stemcell Facial Oil contains a powerful cocktail of super-food actives, omega 3, 6 and 9 and vitamins A, B5, C and E, as well as Rose stem cell to help the skin protect against external aggressors, signs of aging, and dehydration. This is one of the most lightweight facial oils that I’ve tried; it dries down immediately, leaving behind a satin feeling that’s very comfortable. It’s a great “beginner’s oil” because it is so lightweight. I remember being scared off by facial oils a few years ago due to using some that were way too heavy, but with the new technology, brands can create products like this that is even great for those with combination to oily skin.

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Butylene Glycol, Almond Oil PEG-8 Esters, Olive Oil PEG-7 Esters, Babassu Oil Glycereth-8 Esters, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Peach Kernel Oil Glycereth-8 Esters, Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil Polyglyceryl-6 Esters, Phenoxyethanol, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Parfum (Fragrance), Rhododendron Ferrugineum Leaf Cell Culture Extract, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Propylene Glycol, Retinyl Palmitate, Dehydroacetic Acid, Isomalt, Lactic Acid, Lecithin, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Hydroxide, Citronellol, Alpha-Isomethylionone, Rosa Canina (Rosehip) Fruit Oil, Limonene, Punica Granatum Fruit Extract, Geraniol, Tocopherol.

May Lindstrom The Youth Dew

May Lindstrom The Youth Dew review

May Lindstrom The Youth Dew was something I purchased in my first ever May Lindstrom order (I’ve since made two more… so you know how obsessed I am with the brand). This is the most completely organic  skin oil made from entirely natural plant extracts and oils that I’ve ever seen. It is a blend of 20 different oils and essential oils, together with CoEnzyme Q10, to help fight signs of aging. For easier absorption, May recommends using it on dampened skin, so I usually like to spray my face with 1-2 spritzes of May’s The Jasmine Garden, or another essence spray, and then patting 1-1.5 pumps of this oil into my face and neck. I’m left with crazy soft, very hydrated, and extremely bouncy skin. It’s not too heavy for me at all either, especially when used over damp skin which helps absorption. I only use this at night though, because I do feel like facial oils don’t layer best under makeup, but I have used a tiny drop of this mixed with my daytime moisturizer and it still works well.

Despite all the great stuff, it is one of the most expensive oils on this list, priced at US$120 for just 20mL (1/3 less than most other facial oils)… It is luxurious, but comes with a hefty price tag.

Ingredients: *Persea Americana (Avocado) Oil, *Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, *Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Oil, *Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil, Prunus Spp (Plum Kernel) Oil, *Hippophae Rhamnoides (Sea Buckthorn) Oil, *Rosa Rubiginosa (Rosehip Seed) Oil, *Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Oil, *Calophyllum Inophyllum (Tamanu) Oil, *Borago Ocinalis (Borage Seed) Oil, Aleurites Moluccans (Kukui Nut) Oil, *Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, *Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium Rose) Essential Oil, *Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Essential Oil, *Citrus Sinensis (Sweet Orange) Essential Oil, *Citrus Limon (Lemon) Essential Oil, *Rosa Damascena (Rose Absolute) Essential Oil, *Rosa Damascena (Bulgarian Rose) Essential Oil, *Citrus Aurantium (Neroli) Essential Oil, ***Daucus Carota (Carrot Seed) Essential Oil, Ubiquinone (Coenzyme Q10).

*Certified Organic
***Wild Harvested

ILA Spa Face Oil for Glowing Radiance

I have a deluxe travel size of this oil and this is what I take with me when I travel. The rich argan, rosehip, and rose otto formula is incredibly hydrating and soothing, especially when you’re staying in an air conditioned room which tends to really dry out my skin. The rich formula helps to protect and nourish my skin. It absorbs completely in under a minute, and also layers wonderfully over other products. I can add a pump of it to my mud masks in order to add extra nourishment when my skin needs it. It has a soft rose scent, which is truly wonderful and helps to put me to sleep.

I only wear this at night though, as I find it is too heavy for the daytime. Alternatively if my skin is feeling extra dry, I mix a tiny bit into my daytime moisturizer to add that boost. This is also great for when you are flying as the dry cabin air can really wreck havoc on skin. Overall, I love this, and you can purchase it from my favourite organic e-tailer, Petal and Post.

Ingredients: Wild-Grown Argan Oil (Argania Spinosa Kernal), Rosehip Seed Oil (Rosa Canina), Sandalwood (Santalam Spicatum), Rose Otto Oil (Rose Damascena Flower Oil), Vitamin E Oil (Tocopherol Extract), Naturally Occurring Citronellol, Farnesol, Linalool

Korres Wild Rose Vitamin C Skin Brightening Oil

Korres Wild Rose Vitamin C Skin Brightening Oil review

The Korres Wild Rose Brightening Oil is such a beauty as it contains real rose petals suspended in the oil. This is a brightening oil infused with real rose petals, wild rose oil, and boosted with Super C to increase skin’s absorpotion of vitamin C by 1000%. This oil is 94.5 percent natural, and does not contain petrolatum, mineral oil, silicones, propylene glycol, and ethanolamines. Korres is also cruelty free.

If you love roses like me, then you will LOVE this because it smells faintly like roses. I also found this oil to take longer than the others to absorb, and a tiny bit will go a very long way. I don’t particularly like this one compared to the others for this reason. Also despite it being marketed as a natural oil, it contains a lot of fillers, which I’m not too fond of at the moment.

Korres Wild Rose Vitamin C Skin Brightening Oil review

Ingredients: Isoamyl Laurate, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, , Prunus Armeniaca (apricot) Kernel Oil, Squalane, Helianthus Annuus (sunflower) Seed Oil, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Rosa Gallica Flower Powder, Alcohol Denat., Alpha-isomethyl Ionone, Aqua/water/eau, Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Bisabolol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Citronellol, Eugenol, Geraniol, Glyceryl Caprylate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Parfum/fragrance, Physalis Angulata Extract, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Zingiber Officinale (ginger) Root Extract.

Purxury Rescue Facial Oil

Purxury Rescue Facial Oil review

Purxury Rescue Facial Oil is my newest addition, something I discovered in my journey to incorporate more natural and organic skincare products in my routine. It contains a blend of all natural oils and extracts that is ultra hydrating. The base of apricot kernel oil, avocado fruit oil, and argan oil makes this slightly heavier than the other oils I’ve tried here, but it is also the most moisturizing. I can use this on its own without a hydrating serum, and it leaves my skin feeling super soft and glowy upon waking up in the morning.

Ingredients: Apricot Kernel Oil, Avocado Fruit Oil, Olive, Argan Oil, Sea Buckthorn Oil, Vitamin C, Vitamin E and a proprietary blend of Essential Oils and Absolutes.

Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate

Kiehl’s released their daytime version of their popular Midnight Recovery Concentrate. I’m not a big fan of the Midnight Recovery Concentrate because I found it is too heavy for me, but the Daily Reviving Concentrate is a great day-time, more lightweight version. This product contains energizing oils such as ginger root oil, grapefruit peel oil, orange peel oil, and coriander seed oil to  correct the signs of daily skin fatigue, and improve the look of dullness, lines, and rough texture.

Sadly, despite this being a lighter version of the Midnight Recovery Concentrate, it’s a daytime oil which doesn’t really work for my skincare schedule. I don’t really have a lot of time in the morning to let my moisturizing sink in, so I usually use a lighter, gel-based moisturizer. This Daily Reviving Concentrate, while really does help to brighten and hydrate my skin, just takes too long to absorb. I do use this on the weekend, but I think it’s a bit of a waste to use just a day or two a week, so I wouldn’t recommend this unless you have lots of time in the morning to perform your skincare ritual.

Ingredients: Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Dicaprylyl Ether, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Squalane, Canola Oil, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil Unsaponifiables/Sunflower Seed Oil Unsaponifiables, Tocopherol, Limonene, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Peel Oil/Orange Peel Oil, Coriandrum Sativum Seed Oil/Coriander Seed Oil, Calophyllum Inophyllum Seed Oil, Rosa Rubiginosa Seed Oil, Citrus Grandis Peel Oil/Grapefruit Peel Oil, Zingiber Officinale Root Oil/Ginger Root Oil, Linalool, Citral, Geraniol, Malpighia Punicifolia/Acerola Fruit Extract. Fmla 685687 7 F.I.L. Code D169070/2

Body

L’Occitane en Provence Neroli & Orchidee Perfumed Body Oil

L'Occitane en Provence Neroli & Orchidee Perfumed Body Oil review

The Neroli & Orchidee Perfumed Body Oil  is an ultra lightweight body oil; I’ve used a few L’Occitane en Provence body oils in the past and this is the most lightweight. I have very dry skin on my legs, and I find that this isn’t moisturizing enough for me, I usually have to apply a LOT in order to get the level of sustained moisture. That being said, if you are someone who has normal skin, and is looking for an indulgence, this is it because it smells SO GOOD. Neroli & Orchidee is one of my favourite L’Occitane scents and this perfumed body oil is the same scent as the fragrance, which makes it great for layering with the fragrance and then you can get better longevity.

The scent, when used alone and at night, dissipates pretty quickly so you don’t have to worry about going to sleep in a cloud of perfume. During the day though, it does leave a faint cloud of fragrance, but it’s not very strong so it should be fine for wearing to the office. It comes in a spray bottle, so you can easily keep this at the office or in your purse for when you want a quick moisture touchup.

Ingredients:
L'Occitane en Provence Neroli & Orchidee Perfumed Body Oil review

NUXE Huile Prodigieuse

NUXE Huile Prodigieuse review

The NUXE Huile Prodigieuse is a classic body oil and something EVERYONE should try at least once in their life. It contains Vitamin E to protects and conditions, and essential oil extracts of borage, St. John’s wort, sweet almond, camellia, hazelnut and macadamia to give skin a healthy looking glow. There’s a reason why it is a cult favourite, and that it is  super hydrating, very lightweight, and a little bit goes a long way. The scent is also just incredibly delicious and decadent, I feel like dousing myself with this every time I use it. The great thing about this oil is that it is also multi-functional, and you can use this on your hair, nails, and anywhere you see fit. In addition, it also comes in a golden bronze variation that will help keep your skin looking like it just got a healthy dose of sun.

Ingredients: Sopropyl Isostearate, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Coco-caprylate/caprate, Dicaprylyl Ether, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (sweet Almond) Oil, Corylus Avellana (hazel) Seed Oil, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil, Parfum/fragrance, Tocopherol, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (olive) Fruit Oil, Helianthus Annuus (sunflower) Seed Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (rosemary) Leaf Extract, Hypericum Perforatum Flower/leaf/stem Extract, Solanum Lycopersicum (tomato) Fruit/leaf/stem Extract, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Benzyl Salicylate, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Citronellol, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Limonene, Linalool [n1005/e].

Rocky Mountain Soap Co. Blossom Berry Body Oil

Leaving the best for last – this is the body oil that got me completely obsessed with body oils in the first place. The Rocky Mountain Soap Co. Blossom Berry Body Oil smells SO GOOD, sweet and floral at the same time but not overpowering. The oil is medium weight, not super runny, and spreads into the skin very nicely. It absorbs quickly and leaves my skin feeling so nice and soft. The price is really great too, at just $15.50 for 125mL. Don’t let the size fool you, because I’ve had mine for over a year, I use this every time my skin is feeling dry, and I still have more than 1/3 of the bottle left. I also love mixing this in with another light weight body lotion to help boost up its efficacy.

Ingredients: Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil*, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil*, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Camelia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Natural Jasmine Gardenia Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, Natural Vanilla Oil, Natural Berry Oil . *Organic 94%

 

My picks: Rodial Stemcell Super-Food Facial Oil, ILA Spa Face Oil for Glowing Radiance, May Lindstrom The Youth Dew, Rocky Mountain Soap Co. Body Oil
Best for dry/normal skin: May Lindstrom The Youth Dew, ILA Spa Face Oil for Glowing Radiance, Purxury Rescue Facial Oil, Korres Wild Rose Vitamin C Skin Brightening Oil, Rocky Mountain Soap Co. Blossom Berry Body Oil, NUXE Huile Prodigieuse
Best for combination/oily skin: Rodial Stemcell Super-Food Facial Oil, L’Occitane en Provence Neroli & Orchidee Perfumed Body Oil

2 thoughts on “Oils, oils, oils! A roundup of some face and body oil options from Rodial, May Lindstrom, ILA Spa, Korres, Purxury, Kiehl’s, L’Occitane, Nuxe, and Rocky Mountain Soap Co.

  1. Pingback: Favourite products of 2016 | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

