Create beautiful skin with Canadian natural skincare brand Bella Aura

Bella Aura review

I first discovered Bella Aura when I was browsing the Petal & Post website. Bella Aura started in Toronto, Canada by Yasmine. The story started when Yasmine’s mother was diagnosed with leukemia and during this time, she experienced severe skin issues and acne scarring. After travelling to Morocco, she learned of the ancient beauty secrets there, which inspired her to create Bella Aura. The key ingredients in Bella Aura products are Argan, Cactus, Neroli, and Nigella. The products are proudly made in Canada, and were designed to be used by all skin types.

Bella Aura review

I seriously love all of the products in this line, but the one that made me go WOW immediate was the Gentle Purifying Cleanser (C$45 for 100mL). This starts off like an emulsion but lightly foams upon contact with water. Even though I know foaming cleansers aren’t the best for dry or dehydrated skin types, I just love my foaming cleansers because I like that feeling of being clean without residue. That being said, it is difficult to find a foaming cleanser that doesn’t leave your skin feeling dry or stripped. Despite the Gentle Purifying Cleanser being just lightly foaming, the richness of the oils created a beautiful cushion that allowed me to massage this gently around my face, lifting off any oil and grime from the day. It leaves my skin feeling super soft, supple, and incredibly balanced.

Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Diethylhexyl Sodium Sulfosuccinate, Cereus Grandiflorus (Cactus) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Peel Oil, Nigella Sativa Seed Oil, Hydroxyacetophenone, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, 1,2 Hexanediol

The Instant Lifting Eye Contour (C$125 for 30mL) was the first product I incorporated into my skincare routine. This eye emulsion is super lightweight, absorbs quickly and without residue, but definitely packs a punch. My eye area feels very hydrated. It also feels lightly cooling, which helps make my eye area feel fresh, which is great particularly in the mornings. The first time I used this, I was surprised at how firming it was – within minutes, my eye area was visibly firmer and lifted. I remember there was one morning when I woke up with a very swollen left eye due to water retention, and after 5 minutes of applying the Lifting Eye Contour, the swelling had gone down significantly.

The biggest qualm I have about this eye cream is that the pump is just awful. You really only need a tiny bit of product for your eye area, but the pump will give you enough product to cover your whole face. I generally just use one dot around each eye area, and then use the rest on my neck. Originally I thought the 30mL size was generous for an eye cream, which it is, but I think about 2/3 of the product each time being essentially wasted and used around my neck instead, it feels less economical. I really hope they can improve the packaging on this in the future, perhaps using a dropper applicator instead.

Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Melissa Officinalis (Balm Mint) Leaf Extract, Disodium Rutinyl Disulfate, Hordeum Distichon (Barley) Extract, Polyglyceryl-6 Distearate, Jojoba Esters, Polyglyceryl-3 Beeswax, Cetyl Alcohol, Propanediol, Cereus Grandiflorus (Cactus) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Peel Oil, Nigella Sativa Seed Oil, Cellulose, Xanthan Gum, Gellan Gum, Hydroxyactophenone, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, 1,2 Hexanediol

The Night Cellular Renewal (C$125 for 30mL) is my next pick in the line. It’s incredibly hydrating, even though it is such a fluid, lightweight texture. The argan oil makes it smell very warm and relaxing, which is perfect for use right before bed. I layer this over top a non-hydrating brightening serum, and this just leaves my skin feeling so plump and happy during my sleep, and in the morning my face feels more balanced. I also feel like my skin’s texture is smoother with use over time. I use two pumps of this over my face and neck, which absorbs within a few seconds.

Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Cereus Grandiflorus (Cactus) Extract, Propanediol, Glycerin, Polyglyceryl-6 Distearate, Joboba Esters, Polyglyceriyl-3 Beeswax, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Peel Oil, Nigella Sativa Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Cellulose, Glutamine, Decyl Glucoside, Phenethyl Alcohol, Cistus Incanus Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Gynostemma Pentaphyllum Leaf/Stem Extract, Hydroxyacetophenone, Xanthan Gum, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, 1,2-Hexanediol

Bella Aura review

The Antioxidant Booster (C$125 for 30mL) is a skin’s detox, designed to negative environmental elements that your skin comes in contact with during the day. I use this during the day only, underneath the Daily Repair Moisturizer for a boost of hydration and protection. As a serum, it has the thickest texture out of all of these products. It absorbs quickly, and has a nice refreshing scent. I was surprised that this serum isn’t that hydrating, especially because it contains argan oil, and because of the thicker texture.

It layers very nicely underneath the Daily Repair Moisturizer. I’ve also used this mixed together with the Daily Repair Moisturizer, and it has help boosted the moisturizing properties. I wouldn’t use this alone though, because I found that the oil-based texture does not layer well underneath other moisturizers. As a preventative serum, where you prevent future wrinkles and also detox your skin, I didn’t really notice any significant improvements in my skin over the time I used this, but I didn’t notice that my skin went south either, so I guess there’s that.

Again my biggest issue is with the pump. I need 1.5 pumps to cover my face adequately, but the pump doesn’t dispense half pumps because it is so rigid, so I usually just end up using 1 pump.

Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Melissa Officinalis (Balm Mint) Leaf Extract, Disodium Rutinyl Disulfate, Hordeum Distichon (Barley) Extract, Polyglyceryl-6 Distearate, Jojoba Esters, Polyglyceryl-3 Beeswax, Cetyl Alcohol, Propanediol, Cereus Grandiflorus (Cactus) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Peel Oil, Nigella Sativa Seed Oil, Cellulose, Xanthan Gum, Gellan Gum, Hydroxyactophenone, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, 1,2 Hexanediol

The Daily Repair Moisturizer Emulsion (C$125 for 30mL) is the daytime moisturizer. It has a very fluid milky texture that is lightweight, with a fresh argan oil scent. The Daily Repair Moisturizer is not as hydrating as the Night Cellular Renewal, but is more hydrating as the Antioxidant Booster.

I love this moisturizer for the day. It creates a beautiful cushion for my foundation to glide onto, is hydrating and balancing, but not at all greasy or heavy despite the oil-based ingredients. I need 1 to 1.5 pumps to cover my face, and the light fluid formula allows it spread around easily before absorbing. This also layers beautifully over other serums of other textures, so you don’t need to use it over the Antioxidant Booster to get the full effect.

Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Tocopherol, Glycerin, Avena Strigosa Seed Extract, Lecithin, Polyglyceryl-6 Distearate, Jojoba Esters, Polyglyceryl-3 Beeswax, Cetyl Alcohol, Bellis Perennis (Daisy) Flower Extract, Propanediol, Cereus Grandiflorus (Cactus) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter, Orange) Peel Oil, Nigella Sativa Seed Oil, Cellulose, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Xanthan Gum, Hydroxyacetophenone, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, 1,2 Hexanediol

After a few months of using Bella Aura products, I can say that they have made a big difference in the way my skin looks and feels. Of these products, I very highly recommend that you try out the Gentle Purifying Cleanser and the Instant Lifting Eye Contour. The other products definitely have made such a big difference in my skin, so I do recommend that you get the whole set if you can afford it. Otherwise, focus your budget more on the first two products because I have noticed the most difference, in the shortest amount of time, with those two.

You can purchase Bella Aura at my favourite online organic skincare store, Petal & Post, which also offers free shipping for orders over $75.

The products in this post were provided by PR; as always, all opinions are my own.

One thought on “Create beautiful skin with Canadian natural skincare brand Bella Aura

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

