Experience: Miraj Hammam Spa by Caudalie, at the Shangri-La Toronto

Spa
If you’ve been following along with me on Instagram, you’d notice that I was in Toronto a few weeks ago. I took the opportunity to visit the famed Miraj Hammam Spa by Caudalie, located at the beautiful Shangri-La Toronto. I received the 30 minute Hammam and Gommage treatment, which claims:

This steam & body exfoliation is part of the authentic traditions of the Middle East. De-stress between a private high intensity & low mist steam chamber, the Hammam will cleanse your body while stimulating your senses and imagination. Lay relaxed on Jerusalem gold marble as you experience an invigorating full body Gommage (exfoliation) using eucalyptus infused black Moroccan soap. This experience is considered to be the ultimate detoxification treatment. Our Spa Concierge will be happy to assist you with your personalized groups of 2 or more people. Please refer to our Voyages & Retreats.

spa2

It was my first time getting the Hammam and Gommage treatment. The treatment itself was fantastic, the 10-15 minute steam room treatment (the Hammam) was the most relaxing part of the experience, as I got to lie back, breathe, and relax after a very hectic week of travelling and working. The steam room was very hot, humid, but not at all stuffy, which I find is the case with most other steam rooms. I was left alone in the room, and I could have completely stripped down, but I had a sarong covering me which was more comfortable. I would have loved to stay in the steam room for longer, to detox my body of the stress and pollution during my trip to Toronto, but since I was having such a good time in the steam room, it just felt really short.

The Gommage part of the treatment was also nice, but not as relaxing. I lay down pretty much completely naked (I had a disponsable thong on) on top of my sarong, while the esthetician exfoliated every inch of my body with the black Moroccan soap. My body was thoroughly exfoliated, the esthetician focused on parts of my body that I often forget to exfoliate, such as my tummy area, back of my arms, my hands, and the tops of my feet. The black Moroccan soap contained natural oils which left my body feeling smooth and hydrated.

spa4

After being rinsed off and allowed to dry, I was led to the relaxation room where I was given some grapes, a pastry, and unlimited refills of chai tea. The relaxation room was very nice, dimly lit, and quiet. I would have liked to stay longer but there was a couple in the room who arrived later and who were talking in the room, and it ended up being less serene.

spa3

My biggest dislike, and why this experience wasn’t as relaxing as it could have been, was that I felt like this experience was very rushed. I was rushed into the change room, rushed out, rushed into the steam room, and even the exfoliation process felt rushed. It was my first time getting this treatment, but I felt like the front staff didn’t explain what the treatment would entail. This would give me a head’s up about the different steps, and what I can expect. I feel like the Hammam and Gommage treatment would have been a great add-on to another treatment, such as a massage or facial, so it doesn’t feel like you spend so little time in the spa itself.

That being said, the Miraj Hammam Spa is extremely clean, and well stocked with all the Caudalie products you can use. I had completely removed my makeup and skincare before going into the steam room, so my skin was feeling a bit naked. I topped up my skin with Caudalie products for the face, and also smothered my body in the body lotion.

For the price, I don’t know if I would go back. It was a good treatment, I wasn’t blown away by my experience. If you know me, you know that I have no problem splurging for good experiences, but this one was just okay and didn’t show me enough value in terms of the level of service for me to return.

Hammam & Gommage – 30MINS
MondayFriday (excluding holidays)
$135
Saturday, Sunday and Holidays
$145

Miraj Hammam Spa by Caudalie
188 University Ave, Toronto, ON M5H 0A3
Phone: (647) 253-5770

The treatment provided was complimentary of Miraj Hammam Spa by Caudalie; all opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Experience: Miraj Hammam Spa by Caudalie, at the Shangri-La Toronto

  1. Aww it’s too bad your experience wasn’t so good! I’m surprised there was someone else in the relaxation room with you; I think the whole experience is supposed to be utterly solo. Next time you should totally add on the massage 😉

    http://justj.ca

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

