Review: The Body Shop Oils of Life Intensely Revitalizing Cream

The Body Shop Oils of Life Intensely Revitalizing Cream review

My apologies for the late review of this one! I actually used this last winter, but I finally got around to writing about it now. Oopies.

One of the most exciting releases of last year was The Body Shop’s Oils of Life collection, the skincare branch of The Body Shop’s new foray into high end skincare and bodycare. I previously reviewed the Spa of the World collection here. Similarly to my reaction to the Spa of the World products, I was very happy with the Oils of Life products.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from thebodyshop.ca): By infusing 3 precious seed oils from around the world, known for their revitalising and repairing properties on skin – Black Cumin seed oil from Egypt, Camellia seed oil from China and Rosehip seed oil from Chile – in to a silky cream with perfecting micro-pearls, we created a daily cream that intensely revitalises skin, replenishes moisture and revives radiance. Signs of ageing appear visibly reduced. From the moment it touches the skin, this Intensely Revitalising Cream effortlessly melts onto the face, leaving a light and comfortable finish without a greasy feel.

Price: C$34.00 for 50mL

Texture/Scent: Thick gel-cream with a spicy, exotic scent

The good: My first impression is that I love the heavy glass jar that it comes in – it looks and feels so much more luxurious than it really is. Despite being a deeply nourishing cream, the Oils of Life Intensely Revitalizing Cream has a relatively light, whipped texture that absorbs quickly and completely into my skin without feeling sticky or heavy. I use this at night because it’s a bit heavier than what I need during the day, and each morning I wake up to very hydrated, smooth, and radiant skin.

  • Skin looks and feels more nourished
  • Non-greasy
  • Absorbs completely
  • Beautiful glass packaging that is hefty and looks luxurious

The bad: My skin isn’t super sensitive but I find that for the first 5 seconds after applying the cream, it stings a little bit. This feeling quickly goes away, and my skin doesn’t look or feel irritated after. I’m not sure what ingredient is causing this, but since I didn’t see any long term arm, I continued to use this. The spicy scent is a bit too strong, and doesn’t dissipate immediately which can also irritate those with sensitive noses, but after I while I got used to this. If I had a choice, though, I’d prefer it to be scent-free.

  • Stings for the first 5 seconds after application
  • Spicy scent sticks around

Overall: This C$34 cream is a winner from The Body Shop. It makes my skin feel super nourished and deeply hydrated, without the heavy greasy feeling. After a few weeks of using this, I can say this is comparable to my Tatcha Ageless Enriching Renewal Cream (which is more than six times the cost in C$) because it makes my skin feel so good. The Tatcha version is gentler for those with sensitive skins though, because The Body Shop cream caused some mild sensitivity. There is also a Gel Cream version of this cream, which is much more lightweight and more suitable for those with combination skin, or daytime use. Personally, I’d still stick to the Cream version because I prefer that thicker, creamier texture.

Product: 17/20
Packaging: 4.5/5
Value: 5/5
Overall: 26.5/30 | A
Repurchase? Yes

Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau (Solvent), Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (Emollient), Dimethicone (Skin Conditioning Agent), Glycerin (Humectant), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (Absorbent/Anticaking Agent), Cetyl Alcohol (Emulsifying Agent), PEG-40 Stearate (Emulsifying Agent), Glyceryl Stearate (Emulsifying Agent), Octyldodecanol (Emollient), Olea Europaea Fruit Oil/Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (Emollient), Butyrospermum Parkii Butter/Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (Skin Conditioning Agent – Emollient), Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract (Skin Conditioning Agent), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Polyacrylamide (Film Former), Sorbitan Tristearate (Emulsifying Agent), Rosa Canina Fruit Oil (Skin Conditioning Agent), Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil (Skin Conditioning Agent – Emollient), Caprylyl Glycol (Skin Conditioning Agent), C13-14 Isoparaffin (Solvent), Glycine Soja Protein/Glycine Soja (Soybean) Protein (Skin Conditioning Agent), Mica (Opacifying Agent), Parfum/Fragrance (Fragrance Ingredient), Tocopherol (Antioxidant), Adenosine (Skin Conditioning Agent), Nigella Sativa Seed Oil (Emollient), Laureth-7 (Emulsifying Agent), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Myristyl Alcohol (Emulsifying Agent), Stearyl Alcohol (Emollient), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Citric Acid (pH Adjuster), Limonene (Fragrance Ingredient), Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate (Surfactant), Geraniol (Fragrance Ingredient), Citronellol (Fragrance Ingredient), Ethylhexylglycerin (Skin Conditioning Agent), Sodium Benzoate (Preservative), Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Benzoic Acid (Preservative), Tin Oxide (Opacifying Agent), Sorbic Acid (Preservative), CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide (Colorant), CI 19140/Yellow 5 (Colorant), CI 14700/Red 4 (Colorant).

The Body Shop Oils of Life Intensely Revitalizing Cream review

One thought on “Review: The Body Shop Oils of Life Intensely Revitalizing Cream

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

