Review: May Lindstrom the Pendulum Potion Cleansing Oil + multitasker

May Lindstrom the Pendulum Potion review

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how my first May Lindstrom Skin order got me completely addicted to this brand. May’s line only has seven products in it currently, and because May herself uses her own products, she doesn’t like to add any unnecessary steps in her skincare regime. This fall, May is releasing a new product – the Pendulum Potion – and I received a sneak preview of this multi-tasking oil when I ordered a few of her other classic products. The Pendulum Potion is touted to be a cleansing oil, and can also be used as a hydrating oil for the face and body.

The Pendulum Potion is not on the May Lindstrom website yet, but I reached out to Elli, Director of Care at May Lindstrom Skin and she sent me some instructions for using the oil, as well as the ingredients of this beautiful oil.

Instructions for use (per May Lindstrom team): To experience The Pendulum Potion, make a small pool in your palms, pressing together and inhaling deeply. Massage gently into your dry skin, focusing on areas on congestion, heavier makeup and environmental debris. Wet hands and continue massage and then place a warm, steamy face towel over face and neck, hold, rinse and repeat until skin is soft and cleansed, gently sweeping upwards and complete with a final rinse.

You may also indulge in this beauty as a last step, allowing the goodness to drink right into your wet face, neck and décolleté immediately after cleansing for beautifully balancing and nourishing hydration.

Bonus – I love The Pendulum Potion head to toe on wet skin after bathing to drench myself in a gorgeous aromatic experience. Our new treasure is a truly a multi-tasking must for your ritual.

I have been treasuring my May Lindstrom products so I’ve been using the Pendulum Potion mostly as a hydrating oil serum. Like the Youth Dew, it is entirely made of natural ingredients and oils which help to nourish and balance the skin. I generally spritz my face a few times with a hydration essence lotion in order to get it damp, and then I press one to one and a half pumps of the Pendulum Potion, pressing it into my face and neck. I find the Pendulum Potion not as hydrating as the Youth Dew, so I will follow it with a lightly hydrating gel moisturizer to seal in the goodness.

I’ve also used this a couple of times as a cleansing oil to remove light makeup, incorporating some facial massage in order to get the most of this oil. I use four to five pumps in my palms, and then massage it in my skin for at least three minutes. Unlike other cleansing oils, this does not emulsify, so I remove it using a warm, wet muslin cloth. I am left with the most incredibly soft, supple, and very cleansed skin – all traces of makeup is gone. My skin is also lightly moisturized. I then follow this with the Clean Dirt to exfoliate, or the Honey Mud for a quick 5-10 minute rescue mask if my skin is feeling in extra need of TLC. I seriously can’t get over how lovely my skin feels afterwards.

Because this product isn’t released yet, I don’t have a price point. The bottle I have is 20mL, which is the same size as the Youth Dew, and since I’ve been using it mostly like a hydrating oil, the bottle is lasting me a long time. This is great for going on travels as well, since you can just bring one bottle of product and use it for different things.

I do have to note that my boyfriend commented on the scent of the Pendulum Potion, and he wasn’t a fan of it. I also personally noticed that the scent lingers for a lot longer on the face than the Youth Dew or the Blue Cocoon. I know that May Lindstrom doesn’t put perfumes or fragrances in her products, so it’s just due to the blend of different oils. If you are extra scent-sensitive though, you might want to try out a sample of this first. It reminds me of a stronger, heartier the Good Stuff.

As with all May Lindstrom Skin products, the Pendulum Potion is truly a spa experience. The products are pricey, but I definitely believe that you are getting a lovely pampering session that embodies physical, mental, and emotional well-being. It’s not a must-have, per se, because you can purchase cheaper and similarly effective cleansing oils, but I do recommend it if you want that full spa experience to go with your cleansing ritual every night. May Lindstrom products are for the true skincare enthusiast.

Ingredients: blend of tamanu oil, camellia oil, macadamia oil, avocado oil, olive oil, plum kernel oil, cocoa absolute, peru balsam , sweet orange, myrrh, jasmine absolute, ylang-ylang, lemon, and frankincense

8 thoughts on “Review: May Lindstrom the Pendulum Potion Cleansing Oil + multitasker

  1. Hi got a deluxe 30 ml in the CH for CB box and this smells divine….a lot like honey mud…the winter version of honey mud. Can’t find the ingredients anywhere and curious….do u know? This just seems WAY too precious to use as a makeup remover….didn’t know can use as an oil/serum!! This way the bottle is going to last for ages!!

    • No you cannot use most cleansing oils as an oil/serum, just this one because its made of all-natural ingredients and it was designed to be used as a multi-use product. You shouldn’t use other cleansing oils as oil/serum unless instructed to.

  2. Pingback: The Cult Beauty Box by Caroline Hirons Review - fan-b

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

