Experience: Tata Harper Brightening Facial at Collective Skin Care

IMG_20160808_141400

Tata Harper is one of my favourite natural skincare brands – their cleansers are just out-of-this-world amazing. Tata’s journey started when her father was diagnosed with cancer. The doctor stated that the chemicals present in every day life played a big part in this, thus Tata set out to research and create skincare products that were natural and non-toxic. Tata Harper products are created in a vertically integrated manufacturing and distribution plant located in Vermont, which also houses a farm where much of the ingredients are grown. Her products are certified organic, all natural, and most of the products are vegan, with the exception of certain products that contain beeswax and honey, and also cruelty-free.

IMG_20160808_141406

As my biggest skin concerns are hyperpigmentation and dehydration. I received the brightening facial at Collective Skin Care. My facial started with the incredibly luxurious Nourishing Oil Cleanser, this is one of the richest oil cleansers I’ve ever used, and it’s also extremely hydrating and nourishing. It contains Beta Carotene, Vitamins A, C, E, Lycopene and Omega 3 to soften and improve skin texture. It removed all of my makeup, and prepped my skin for the Purifying Cleanser, a cleanser containing enzymes, designed to gently loosen dead skin cells, deep cleanse the pores, and release toxins and pollutants from the skin. Next came exfoliation using Tata Harper’s award winning Regenerating Cleanser, which also happens to be my favourite Tata Harper product. I’ve reviewed the Regenerating Cleanser extensively here, so check it out. One interesting thing to note was that all three cleansers were applied to dry skin, which allowed maximum product penetration and efficacy since the skin is not shielded by water. I felt that using the Regenerating Cleanser dry felt a bit rough on the skin, but I didn’t notice any long term sensitivity.

After triple cleansing and exfoliating, I got to try out the new Purifying Mask. This clay-based mask was designed to deep cleanse the skin and extract any toxins that were buried deep within the pores. It is also filled with natural pressed oils to help hydrate and nourish the skin. Clay is generally a very drying skincare ingredient, but when mixed with plant extracts and oils, it will replenish any dryness with moisture. After removing the mask, it was followed by a face, neck, and decollete massage with their Beautifying Facial Oil.

The oil was removed with the Refreshing Cleanser, which contains pomegranate enzymes, grapefruit and bergamot, french pink clay, and willow bark, which come together to gently cleanse the skin. The Resurfacing Mask, one of Tata Harper’s most popular products, was layered directly on top of the cleanser to create a concentrated enzyme mask, with double the brightening and exfoliating powers. I have the Resurfacing Mask and I’m kind of on the fence about it, which is why I haven’t done a review of it yet. I just felt like it hasn’t done much to my skin on its own, but together with the Refreshing Cleanser, there is mild stinging which feels like the enzymes are doing their jobs.

IMG_20160808_141419

The key to this brightening facial was the incorporation of the Concentrated Brightening Essence, applied to the face blended with the Concentrated Brightening Serum. It is rare for a natural skincare line to have brightening products because most products on the market contain chemicals to reduce hyperpigmentation and even out the skintone. However, Tata Harper’s brightening products include ingredients such as sea kelp, milk thistle, enzymes, and willow bark extract to gently yet effectively exfoliate the skin, reduce the look of spots, and also prevent new spots from producing.

My facial finished off with a generous dose of the Repairative Moisturizer. This moisturizer, designed for dry or mature skin types, contains mango seed butter, jojoba seed oil, and raw honey sourced from a neighbouring farm in Vermont. I actually love this moisturizer so much that I went and bought a full sized version – I’m completely in love with honey in my skincare right now, so just the mention of that made me jump on it.

After my facial, I’ve noticed that my skin texture has improved significantly – it is definitely brighter, more refined, smoother, and much softer than it was before. My pores have been deep cleansed, and much of my blackheads have disappeared.

The only downside I can think of is that Tata Harper doesn’t have any products that contain sunscreen, so when I left the facial, I was walking outside on a sunny day with no sunscreen on.

Collective Skin Care in Yaletown offers Tata Harper facials, and while the prices are a bit higher than what I’ve been used to for facials, you will arrive and leave with confidence that the products being used are the very best of the best. I highly recommend the Brightening Facial, especially if your skin is going through a change of season, or if you are preparing for a special event that requires you to look your best. This is a great way to give yourself a skin “reset,” even if you are already using Tata Harper products in your regular routine.

Now here’s a photo with me post-facial with no makeup on. What do you think?

IMG_20160808_151534

5 thoughts on “Experience: Tata Harper Brightening Facial at Collective Skin Care

  1. You look so radiant and smooth! I always find it interesting when facials are done using products you could technically all buy yourself. It makes me feel like I should just buy it and diy but in this case that’s way more than I could afford lol

    • Yeah I think that’s my problem, I wouldn’t want to buy the whole set especially because we already have hoards of skincare 😛 You get the massage and relaxation portion of it too, I got a whole neck, shoulder, decollete and arm massage!

  2. Pingback: Honey, my skin looks awesome! A roundup of honey-based products from Farmacy, Tata Harper, LUSH, and The Body Shop | *Maddy Loves

  3. Pingback: Review – Tata Harper Concentrated Brightening Essence and Concentrated Brightening Serum | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

