Review – the mask to end all masks – May Lindstrom Skin the Honey Mud and the Problem Solver

May Lindstrom Skin the Honey Mud review

I am obsessed with May Lindstrom Skin right now; everything I’ve used from the line just makes me want more of it. I recently purchased the Honey Mud and the Youth Dew, and May was very kind and generous to provide me with deluxe travel size samples of all of the products in the line. I’ve been trying everything out in the line for the last few weeks, and I have to say that the two products I feel the most attached to are the Honey Mud and the Problem Solver, particularly when used together.

The Honey Mud (C$98 for 100mL) is described to be a cleansing silk. May claims that “this silken, pudding-like treat gently frees you of the day’s pollutants, infusing your skin with active enzymes and nourishment while restoring your optimal hydration and individual rhythm.” In addition to using this as a cleanser, you can also double this as a mask, applying a liberal amount on the face and leaving it on for 20 minutes.

I’ve used the Honey Mud mostly as a mask because I though it was too wasteful to use as a cleanser. Due to the high honey content (it’s the first ingredient on the list), it’s very thick and a bit sticky, but feels ultra silky on the skin. I’ve left this on my skin for up to an hour, and it never dries out. I wash this off to reveal incredibly smooth, supple, and very hydrated skin that also feels calmed and soothed.

May Lindstrom Skin the Honey Mud review

May Lindstrom Skin the Honey Mud review

The Problem Solver (C$112 for 250g) is a mud-based correcting mask. May’s description says this is “a jet-black fusion of antioxidant-rich raw cacao, healing bamboo charcoal, soil nutrients, salts, and exotic warming spices go deep on a mission to reveal your most radiant self.” It claims to purify & tighten pores, calm inflammations, fight & heal blemishes, improve skin circulation & detoxify the skin. It comes in a powder form, and activates upon contact with water to create a mousse texture that is thick and soothing on the skin. A few minutes into the treatment, the mask will warm up due to all of the spices in the ingredients list, which is what helps to open and clear the pores, as well as detoxify the skin.

Used alone, it has an incredible deep cleansing effect – I will use this if I used heavy makeup, or if I’m travelling in a city with lots of pollution, and I can feel my skin detoxing all of those external pollutants out of my pores. The Problem Solver, on its own, feels almost a bit too abrasive on my skin. I like the skin warming effect, but my cheeks are quite sensitive, and even though May has stated that this is great even for sensitive skin, I’m still a bit wary about using this too much. The instructions say to use equal parts water and powder, but I use just a few drops of water, adding a bit more if necessary to create a thicker, moussier mask. If you use equal parts water, it will be too watery and you’ll find that it drips a bit and can get messy.

My favourite way to use the Honey Mud and the Problem Solver is mixed together; it becomes a detoxifying, deep-cleansing mask that is soothing, gentle and ultra hydrating. I use about equal parts Honey Mud and Problem Solver, add a few drops of water to activate the Problem Solver, and mix together with a synthetic brush so that the ingredients are well blended together. I then spread it on my face with the brush, and leave it on for about an hour. I feel like it doesn’t get as warm as when I use the Problem Solver alone, and it never fully dries because of the Honey Mud. That being said, I washed this off to the most incredible skin – my pores are tightened, my skin feels SO SOFT, and everything feels clean but still hydrated.

May’s products are all hand blended in small batches. You will see the batch date at the bottom of your bottle or jar so that you know you are getting the freshest products.

May Lindstrom Skin the Honey Mud review

Yes, the products are expensive, but a little goes a long way, and May’s full size the Problem Solver mask, if my calculations are correct, will last me anywhere between 40-50 treatments because it is so big. I just finished up my little deluxe sample bottle and already purchased the full size. I will also be purchasing a second jar of the Honey Mud as soon as I run low because I like to use this stuff whenever my skin feels like it needs a bit of a pick me up. Also if you think about it, buying skincare is like therapy – you relax and escape from the daily frustrations and stresses of life, and bonus, you look amazing coming out of it. It’s so worth it, and you need this!

The Honey Mud ingredients: *** Raw Honey with Bee Pollen and Propolis, White Halloysite Clay, * Macadamia Integrifolia (Macadamia Nut Oil), * Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa Absolute) Oil, * Citrus Sinensis (Sweet Orange) Oil, * Cananga Odorata (Ylang-Ylang) Oil, * Vanilla Planifolia (Vanilla) CO2 Total Essential Oil, * Juniperus Virginiana (Cedarwood) Oil, ** Boswellia Carteri (Frankincense) Oil, ** Commiphora Myrrha (Myrrh) Oil, Argentum Metallicum (Silver).

* Certified Organic
** Wild Harvested
*** Collected from Unsprayed and Unfertilized Fields of Wildowers

The Problem Solver ingredients: Fuller’s Earth Clay, Red Moroccan Rhassoul Clay, **Theobroma Cacao (Raw Cacao), Red Alaea Sea Salt, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Sodium Bicarbonate, Bamboo Carbon Charcoal Powder, *Vanilla Planifolia Bean, *Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower, *Althaea Officinalis (Marshmallow) Root, ***Boswellia Carteri (Frankincense), *Centella Asiatica (Gotu Kola), *Archangelica (Angelica) Root, *Cinnamomum Zeylanicum (Cinnamon), *Myristica Fragans (Nutmeg), *Syzygium Aromaticum (Clove), *Curcuma Longa (Turmeric), *Capsicum Annuum (Cayenne) Pepper.

*Certified Organic
**Fair Trade Certified
***Wild Harvested

Also lastly I wanted to give a shoutout to Elli, the Director of Care at May Lindstrom Skin. She is so sweet and has provided me with one of the best shopping online shopping experiences of my life. I buy most of my stuff online and she has really made me want to be a repeat customer again and again. Thank you, Elli!May Lindstrom Skin the Problem Solver review

7 thoughts on “Review – the mask to end all masks – May Lindstrom Skin the Honey Mud and the Problem Solver

  1. I love the Problem Solver! I look forward to the treatment every week 🙂 I can’t use The Honey Mud due to my sensitivity to macadamia oil but I love using raw honey as recommended by Elli.

  2. Pingback: Honey, my skin looks awesome! A roundup of honey-based products from Farmacy, Tata Harper, LUSH, and The Body Shop | *Maddy Loves

  3. Pingback: Favourite products of 2016 | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

