Swatches + review – Urban Decay Razor Sharp Liquid Liner

Review and swatches of Urban Decay Razor Sharp Liquid Liner

Urban Decay has been introducing these huge launches the last couple of months. These new additions to their permanent line include the 100-shade Vice Lipsticks, as well as these new Razor Sharp Liquid Liners that I am showing you today.

Available in 20 shades, the formula claims to be waterproof, long-lasting, and comes in both a cream finish and a metallic finish. I received 11 shades from Urban Decay to test out, in all colours of the rainbow. My apologies in advance for my swatch photos, however, because I was swatching these early morning and then it didn’t occur to me what these swatches looked like until I was checking them over on the computer… but we’re all adults here right? 😛

I generally dislike these types of liquid liners where you dip the brush into a pot of liner. I prefer using the liners that are like pens, and are self-feeding into the brush head because I find those ones give me better control, and also dry faster. I did give this the benefit of the doubt because it’s usually harder to find colourful liners in the self-feeding brush variation.

Review and swatches of Urban Decay Razor Sharp Liquid Liner

You can see from the photo above that the brush head is very fine, long, and flexible. You can create both thin and thick lines with this type of applicator.

The great thing about this liner is that it dries relatively fast. I still have to keep my eyelids half open so that the liner can dry without smudging all over my lids. It feels slightly cooling as it dries down, which is neat. It dries down to almost a film, the removes / comes off in flakes, making it easy for removal. Sadly, that’s where all the good stuff ends.

A big flaw that I noticed about the Razor Sharp Liquid Liners is how watery they are, which makes it rather sheer. My swatches below are all one swipe, and you’ll notice that all of the metallic shades are very sheer and will require multiple swipes. When I wore this on my eyes, I did go over the line several times to get additional opacity. The cream shades are more opaque, and I’m happy to report that the Perversion, Urban Decay’s classic black, is jet black and very pigmented and opaque.

Most importantly, these Razor Sharp Liquid Liners do not last on me. After about 5-6 hours, the oils on my eyelids have dissolved the liner and they were falling off on my cheeks and undereye area in little flakes. It has also mostly disappeared off my eyelids.

Sadly, I dislike these, which is too bad because I was really looking forward to experimenting with more colourful eye looks, and eyeliner is an easy way to achieve that. I think these will be great for when you’re doing makeup art though, for example drawing stars on your cheeks, or drawing temporary artwork on your arms, but for day-to-day, it’s just not cutting it for me.

If you are still interested in these, the Razor Sharp Liquid Liners are available at Sephora now.

Review and swatches of Urban Decay Razor Sharp Liquid Liner

The swatches

Review and swatches of Urban Decay Razor Sharp Liquid Liner

3 thoughts on “Swatches + review – Urban Decay Razor Sharp Liquid Liner

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

