Review + swatches – Dior Skyline Fall 2016 makeup collection – Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer, Diorblush Light & Contour Sculpting Stick Duo, and Dior Addict Lipsticks

Review of Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer for fall 2016

It’s my birthday today and I am writing about one of my favourite brands ever! I feel extremely fortunate to have the opportunity to work with these brands, and I wanted to take this chance to say thank you to all of my amazing readers, as well as the generous and gracious PR and company representatives who believe in me and are willing to work with me. It sounds so corny but it’s truly coming from the bottom of my heart.

Onto the product reviews… today I am sharing with you the cheek and lip products from the Dior Skyline Fall 2016 makeup collection.

Review of Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer for fall 2016

The limited edition highlighter, and one of the star products of the collection, is the Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer (C$68, limited edition). This highlighter is one of my favourites from this entire collection – the highlight is a gorgeous gold-toned highlighter that looks so glamourous on all skin tones, in particular those with light to medium, yellow or olive toned skin. As with all Dior powders, this highlighter is very finely milled, and just feels beautiful on the skin. It’s quite pigmented as well, and not glittery or chunky. You just get a very nice highlighted effect.

Review of Dior Light and Contour Sculpting Stick for fall 2016

The newest cheek product is the Diorblush Light & Contour Sculpting Stick Duo (C$48, limited edition). These are a dual-ended stick that contains a contour colour on one side, and a highlighter on the other side, both in cream formulas. The two shades I have are 001 Soft Contour and 003 Intense Contour. The contour side is extremely creamy so you can blend it out for a very natural look (be careful not to blend them out too much though because you lose the contour effect).

Personally, I find it a bit too creamy with too much slip – while they do blend out more naturally, it’s easy to overblend and then you end up having to layer more product, and it may end up looking muddy. The contour shades are also a bit too orange for my liking, I would personally prefer contour shades that are more neutral-toned. The highlight side is the perfect consistency. It is slightly drier, so that you can concentrate your highlight on just the high points of your face.

Review of Dior Light and Contour Sculpting Stick for fall 2016
Review of Dior Light and Contour Sculpting Stick for fall 2016

I like that they are named Soft Contour and Intense Contour, because these do work well on most skin tones depending on the type of look you’re going for. My skin tone is light, and I can safely wear both of these depending on if I want a more natural look, or a more weekend-evening-club-night sculpted look. I am a bit disappointed that these are limited edition though, because they seem to be products that would fill a need in the current Dior makeup collection.

Review of Dior Addict Lipsticks for fall 2016

For lips, there are six new Dior Addict Lipsticks (C$43, all permanent except for 927 Sophisticated). The four shades I have are:

  • 316 Incognito is a cream cool-toned mauve brown
  • 927 Sophisticated is a warm taupe
  • 951 Too Much is a beautiful cool-toned coral red
  • 987 Black Tie is a beautiful raspberry

I love the formula of Dior Addict Lipsticks. I’ve been using them for years, and this is the first time I have one in the new packaging with the magnetic closure. They are creamy, gel-like, lightweight, lightly hydrating, and just wear beautifully both casually and to formal occasions. I definitely recommend them as a great starter luxury lipstick, or if you’re a mum or aunt buying for your daughter or niece.

Review of Dior Addict Lipsticks for fall 2016

These colours in particular looked really intimidating in the tube, but actually translate to very wearable gel lipsticks. I was most worried about how Black Tie would look on the lips, and it surprised me with how beautifully fall it looked; it’s my favourite of the four! You can easily wear these layered, or sheered out. They’re probably one of the most versatile lipsticks out on the market.

Overall I’m pretty in love with this collection. My favourites are the Dior 5 Couleur Palettes, the Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer (omfg so beautiful), and the Dior Addict Lipsticks.

My picks: Dior 5 Couleur Palette in 806 Capital of Light, Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer, Dior Addict Lipsticks
Skips: Diorshow Pro Liner, Dior Brow Chalk
Worthy to look at: Diorblush Light & Contour

Dior Skyline fall 2016 makeup collection is available as at August 1, 2016 at Dior counters, as well as at thebay.com, sephora.ca, holtrenfrew.com, and beautyboutique.ca

The swatches

Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer

Swatches of Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer for fall 2016
Swatches of Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer for fall 2016

Diorblush Light & Contour Stick in 001 Soft Contour and 003 Intense Contour

Swatches of Dior Light and Contour Sculpting Stick for fall 20169

Dior Addict Lipsticks in Incognito, Sophisticated, Too Much, and Black Tie

Swatches of Dior Addict Lipsticks for fall 2016

4 thoughts on “Review + swatches – Dior Skyline Fall 2016 makeup collection – Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer, Diorblush Light & Contour Sculpting Stick Duo, and Dior Addict Lipsticks

  1. Everything’s so pretty! I love all the pinky highlighters that are coming out lately. Have you tried the NARS contour/highlight sticks? Seems like a very similar concept.

  2. Happy Birthday Sheila! That Luminizer highlighter looks gorgeous, I have the Glowing Gardens one, and can attest to how finely milled their highlighters are. Haven’t tried the Dior Addict Lipsticks but you have me curious

  3. Pingback: Products that did not do it for me, featuring Estee Lauder, Sally Hansen, Live Clean, and NARS | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

