Summer travels – top packing tips for short trips!

Ila Spa travel set review

I’m off to San Diego Comic Con in a week and I am incredibly stoked for it. We’ll also be spending a day at Harry Potter World in Hollywood, which recently opened last April. The trip is about a week long, and I prefer to pack super light when travelling because I really dislike waiting for my luggage at the carousel, so here I have some tips for how to pack light when travelling. It’s all about planning in advance, preparing for contingencies, and making sure that you’re properly hydrated and comfortable!

1. Design your outfits in advance

Like most girls, my closet at home is just bursting with clothing options. When I’m travelling though, I really like to pack light so I try to design my outfits in advance and just pack the exact outfits I plan on wearing.

Some additional tips include packing shoes that are comfortable but go with most of your outfits. For summer trips, I usually pack a pair of sandals and a pair of walking sneakers, both in neutral colours so that they go with most outfits. I recently purchased a pair of Adidas Pure Boost X runners that are super comfortable for walking. Not only were they designed especially to fit the curvature of a woman’s feet, they are also super light, which makes them great for packing on the go.

2. Bring travel sized skincare

I use a TON of skincare products at home, but when I’m travelling I prefer to keep it practical by simplifying my skincare routine by reducing the number of steps in my routine, as well as packing travel-sized skincare. I love to hoard travel-sized skincare for this purpose because it just saves so much space in my luggage.

This travel set by Ila Spa has everything I need to keep my skin looking and feeling great while travelling. It contains a face oil for night time, a face cream for daytime, cleansing milk, hydrating toning essence, and a mask for that desperate after-flight skin perk-up. The only things I would pack in addition to this kit are makeup remover and sunscreen. Ila Spa is a newly discovered skincare brand that I am already in love with. The Face Mask for Revitalizing Skin is one of the best face masks I’ve ever used – it’s a clay based face mask but also contains essential oils and leaves my skin feeling so soft, supple, detoxed yet incredibly hydrated.

3. Bring a fold-up bag

I am very guilty of buying too much while on vacation, so I almost always bring my Longchamp large Le Pliage bag with me so that I can pack my overflow products in it. And yes, I always end up using it – when I came back from Hawaii, I used my Longchamp to carry a bag of chips I wanted to bring back. Because the Longchamp is so lightweight, it takes up no room in my suitcase and I can also use it when I’m out as a beach bag, or to use as a shopping bag on the trip.

4. Pack an insulated water bottle

For trips like San Diego Comic Con where I’ll be spending a lot of time walking around, waiting in lines, and generally being busy doing something, it’s important to stay hydrated. I recently acquired a S’well water bottle that has absolutely changed my life. I’m constantly dehydrated, but I am also pretty terrible at remembering to drink water (or am too lazy to go refill my water bottle), so this huge 25oz/750mL water bottle is perfect for me.

Not only is the size great for travelling because you don’t need to refill so often, the best thing about this S’well bottle is that it keeps your cold drinks cold for up to 24 hours, and your hot drinks hot for up to 12 hours. In the hot summer heat of Southern California in July, this is a much-needed attribute.

What are some tips you have for light travel packing?

3 thoughts on “Summer travels – top packing tips for short trips!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

