Creamy pencil eyeliners for non-pencil liner users – Make Up For Ever AQUA XL Eye Pencils

Make Up For Ever AQUA XL Eye Pencils review and swatches

I’m a liquid or gel liner girl, but when I heard that Make Up For Ever launched their AQUA XL Eye Pencils (C$25), I was super excited to get my hands on them. I was sent a few shades from Make Up For Ever to try:

  • M-10 – matte true black
  • D-12 – soft black with silver shimmers
  • I-24 – metallic turquoise
  • M-60 – matte warm brown
  • D-62 – light brown with silver shimmers

Like I mentioned before, I usually use liquid liner, or gel when I want to create a more dramatic look. The reason being is that I like the pliability, creaminess and wear time of liquid or gel liner. iu have oily lids so generally pencil liners fade or smudge on me very quickly.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that these Make Up For Ever AQUA XL Eye Pencils are ultra creamy without sacrificing any pigmentation or wear time. I’ve been wearing the two black shades the most and they glide on easily on my lash line without tugging, to create very deep black lines. I generally find with most liners that if I use my liner before my lash curler, most of the product would transfer onto my curler rather than stay on my eyelids. With the AQUA XL Pencils, this was not the case – they managed to stay put during curling, and also managing to stay put entirely for the day. I’ve been wearing these for more than 10 hours on certain days with just minor smudging on the eyelid, and no transfer onto the lower lash line.

I don’t usually wear coloured liners much so I haven’t experimented much with the other shades, but the black liners are definitely solid and something everyone should look into. M-10 is more of a true matte black with D-12 is a softer black, so you have the option of whether you want a harsher or softer line. For a soft daytime look, M-60 is also a great option.

I’m generally very impressed by these liners. If you do makeup at all, then you need to check out these liners in store!

Make Up For Ever AQUA XL Eye Pencils review and swatches

Make Up For Ever AQUA XL Eye Pencils are available now at Sephora in stores and online.

The swatches

The swatches below are one swipe wonders! From left to right: M-10, D-12, I-24, M-60, D-62

Make Up For Ever AQUA XL Eye Pencils review and swatches

The look

I’m wearing D-12 with the Charlotte Tilbury Dolce Vita look

Make Up For Ever AQUA XL Eye Pencils review and swatches

One thought on “Creamy pencil eyeliners for non-pencil liner users – Make Up For Ever AQUA XL Eye Pencils

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

