Review + swatches + look – Tom Ford Soleil collection for Summer 2016

Tom Ford Soleil Summer 2016 review and swatches

When Tom Ford released photos of its summer 2016 Soleil colour collection, I was completely head over heels in love. I put my name on the wait list for the Sheer Blush Duo in Bicoastal in February, when the collection doesn’t officially launch until April. I was that obsessed! I’ve been wearing Bicoastal regularly since I purchased it, and I receive a ton of compliments whenever I wear it. Today I have a few more products from the collection to share with you. Tom Ford recently launched at Sephora, and is now available both online at Sephora.ca, as well as at the Sephora store on Robson in Vancouver.

Tom Ford Moisturecore Lip Colours Mustique review and swatch

First up is the Tom Ford Moisturecore Lip Colour (C$63), which are balmy lipsticks that contain passion fruit oil, melon fruit extract, murumuru butter and plant derived esters. This is a new products for summer 2016 to create a barely-there lip. There are six shades in total, and the shade I have is the lightest of them all, Mustique, which is a pale, cool-toned milky pink. I was a bit disappointed to find that this lipstick wasn’t super moisturizing, despite the ingredients and the claims. It was also a bit hard to pull off this colour because the light, milky shade really settled into my lip lines.

Tom Ford Cream & Powder Duos in Naked Bronze review and swatch

The Tom Ford Cream & Powder Duos (C$69) is a repromote from last summer, and one of the most popular products year after year. The bottom layer is a highly pigmented metallic cream shadow that glides on like a dream. The top layer is a sheer, shimmery powder that helps to create more dimension, for the most multi-faceted eye look. The shade I have is Naked Bronze, a beautiful rich bronze cream with sheer golden taupe powder. It also comes in a second shade, Golden Peach, which has more of a warm-toned pink look.

Naked Bronze is SO AMAZING. The cream shadow offers the most intense, beautiful, pigmented bronzed look, and the sheer golden taupe layers very well on top to create even more dimension. I have been completely addicted to wearing this, and despite the high price tag, a little bit goes a very long way. I generally blend the cream bronze all over my lid and then pat the sheer powder on top to create a very easy, 10 second eye look that’s sultry and multidimensional. In terms of wear, this cream eyeshadow does not crease or move at all on the lids, but I did notice a tiny bit of fading after around 3-4 hours. The rest of it stayed put during the remainder of my wear.

Tom Ford Fire Lust Skin Illuminator review and swatch

The Tom Ford Fire Lust Skin Illuminator (C$83) is also a repromote from last summer. It is a shimmery peachy pink gel that can be worn on top of your foundation for a dewy glow, or mixed in with your moisturizer or foundation for a subtle glow. I’ve been wearing this 50/50 mixed into my foundation and on the high points of my cheeks.

Personally I do prefer a frostier highlight, so I think I prefer it mixed into my foundation because it’s not ultra shimmery so it doesn’t show up very well if I were to use this as my main highlighter. I would layer a separate powder highlighter on top of this to create that maximum effect. When mixed into your foundation though, it slightly warms up the foundation your skin just looks ultra healthy and sunkissed. It’s a very “happy” look that’s perfect for all year round, but especially those drabby winters when your skin is more in need of a pick me up.

Tom Ford Pieno Sole Cream Blush review and swatch

The Tom Ford Cream Blush in Pieno Sole (C$78) is a warm-toned golden bronze. It has almost a gel-creme texture that glides on smoothly and blends in seamlessly. There is some subtle shimmer, but it blends out so that it looks like sunkissed glow. The Cream Blush also comes in a second shades, Pink Sand, which is a cool-toned pink with silver shimmers.

I’ve been wearing this as a subtle contour just to create some warmth. I use my MAC 130, which is a small flat top duo-fibre brush, and Pieno Sole blends seamlessly into the skin. The shimmer is nearly undetectable, translating more into a glow, which is great because you don’t want a shimmery contour. I find that it does sheer out quite a lot, so if you have anything darker than a medium skintone, this won’t show up on your skin, at least not as a bronzer. Darker skin tones may be able to use this as a highlighter, patting this along the high points of the cheeks and nose to create a happy summer glow.

My picks: Tom Ford Cream & Powder Duos, and Tom Ford Fire Lust Skin Illuminator

Tom Ford Summer 2016 Soleil Collection is available now online at Sephora, as well as at Sephora on Robson in Vancouver, and Holt Renfrew online and in stores.

Tom Ford Soleil Summer 2016 review and swatches

The swatches

Tom Ford Moisturecore Lip Colours Mustique and Cream & Powder Duos in Naked Bronze review and swatch

Tom Ford Fire Lust Skin Illuminator and Pieno Sole Cream Blush review and swatch

The look

I’m wearing Tom Ford Cream & Powder Duos in Naked Bronze on eyes, Tom Ford Cream Blush in Pieno Sole as bronzer/contour, Tom Ford Duo Sheer Cheek Duo in Bicoastal as blush (not reviewed above, but also a part of the Soleil collection), and Tom Ford Moisturecore Lip Colour in Mustique on lips

Tom Ford Soleil makeup collection for Summer 2016 review and swatches
Tom Ford Soleil makeup collection for Summer 2016 review and swatches
Tom Ford Soleil makeup collection for Summer 2016 review and swatches
Tom Ford Soleil makeup collection for Summer 2016 review and swatches
Tom Ford Soleil makeup collection for Summer 2016 review and swatches

Products provided by PR; opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Review + swatches + look – Tom Ford Soleil collection for Summer 2016

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

