Facial essence sprays, featuring Kat Burki, Tata Harper, Tatcha, Odylique, Shiseido and Bliss

Kat Burki, Tata Harper, Tatcha, Odylique, Shiseido and Bliss facial essence spray review

I have a massive roundup for you today on one of my favourite new skincare products that has become super popular in the last little while – facial essence sprays! These products are one of my morning skincare staples. I spritz my face 3-4 times after cleansing, and before serum, moisturizer, and sunscreen.

Kat Burki, Tata Harper, Tatcha facial essence spray review

Kat Burki Balancing Elixir

I first tried this Kat Burki Balancing Elixir (C$72 for 80mL) when I interviewed Kat last year at the Nordstrom Beauty Trend Show. It contains Lavender Hydrosols, Purifying Bio-Processed carrier oils, such as Tamanu, Carrot and Raspberry Seed, Vitamin C (in Grapefruit Seed Extract and Camu Camu Berry, which contains 30 times the Vitamin C of an Orange). Together, these ingredients support collagen production, and brightens, lightens and tightens the skin. The version I have is the rose peony variation, and it smells faintly of roses and peonies.

In terms of hydration, I would rank it below the Tatcha Dewy Skin Mist and the Tata Harper Hydrating Floral Essence, but above everything else. It is truly skin balancing, as in my skin is getting the necessary hydration but it is also maintaining the level of oil production on my skin. This is perfect for my skin in the summer because it is so lightweight but still works, whereas the other two may be slightly too hydrating, particularly if I continue to use a serum and moisturizer.

You can purchase the Kat Burki Balancing Elixir at Murale stores.

Ingredients: Structured Electrolyzed Water (Water), Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM – Oxygen Sulfur Compound), Colloidal Silver, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Lavandula Officinalis (Lavender Water), Caprylyl Capryl Glucoside, Cucumber Hydrosols, Enzymes, Camu Camu Berry, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Seed Oil, R Lipoic Acid, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Glycolic Acid, Calophyllum Inophyllum (Tamanu) Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Oil, Morinda Citrifolia (Noni)

Tata Harper Hydrating Floral Essence

Tata Harper (C$81 for 50mL) is one of those brands that I’ve always been fascinated by. I’m always picking up the products as I walk by the displays, but I’ve never taken the jump and purchased a product. There are a lot of natural skincare brands out there, but Tata Harper is special in the way that they manufacture all of their 100% natural products on their farm and manufacturing facility in Vermont. They have ownership of the entire process, including research and development, to actual production. In each product, there are anywhere from 9 to 29 active ingredients to create the most multi-active skincare products. That means you can purchase one product to get a multitude of benefits. The products are from from synthetic fragrance, GMO, synthetic ingredients, fillers, and gluten to allow your skin to be closest to the ingredients in its most natural form.

The Hydrating Floral Essence is one of my favourite new products from Tata Harper. It is a lightweight, yet ultra hydrating essence spray that leaves my skin feeling super plumped up, supple, and smooth. I used 3-4 spritzes of this over my face every morning after cleansing and my skin feels nicely prepped for the rest of my skincare routine, as well as for makeup.

The downside is that this is quite pricey, you get only 50mL for C$81, which lasts you for about 10 weeks of daily use. The other issue I had with this is that I found the spray wasn’t very well made, as in I wouldn’t get a very fine or even mist on my face, rather the essence would be concentrated on the small area where I sprayed it. If this came in the bottle of the Odylique Rose Facial Tonic, it would be phenomenal.

You can purchase the Tata Harper Hydrating Floral Essence at Murale and Sephora.

Ingredients: Aloe barbadensis leaf juice*, Rosa damascena flower water*, Lavandula angustifolia (Lavender) flower water*, Leuconostoc ferment filtrate (radish root extract), Sodium hyaluronate, Beta vulgaris (Beet) Root,  Centella asiatica (Gotu Kola) extract*, Salix alba (Willow) bark extract*, Oryza sativa (Rice) extract*, Hydrolyzed Corn Starch, Sodium phytate, Superoxide dismutase*, Soybean peroxidase*, Aroma**, Limonene, Citral, Linalool, Citronellol, Geraniol, Eugenol, Farnesol

Tatcha Dewy Skin Mist

One of Tatcha’s star products is the Dewy Skin Mist (C$58 for 40mL). Unlike other facial essence sprays, this one is a milky emulsion that’s slightly thicker. The Dewy Skin Mist is ultra popular with Youtubers who like to set their makeup with this, but I must prefer to use it as a skincare product. It contains squalane, Red Algae and Tatcha’s proprietary HADASEI-3™ Complex.

Of the options here, this one is the most hydrating. I only require 1-2 spritzes, instead of the 4-5 that I use for the other essences. I love love love the Dewy Skin Mist, and I can see why everyone else raves about this. I can actually use this in place of my daytime serum in the summer when my skin is less dehydrated, which is great because normally I require an additional hydrating serum step. I’ve also heard you can use this to set makeup to create a dewy look, but I haven’t tried that because I want to savour every last drop of it. I plan on buying another bottle and taking it on vacation with me in the future; the small 40mL bottle is very travel-friendly, and I can tell that it will be an essential product in soothing travel-fatigued skin.

You can purchase the Tatcha Dewy Skin Mist at Sephora.

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Squalane (Olive Origin), Cyclopentasiloxane, Propanediol, Triethylhexanoin, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Inositol (Rice Extract), Algae Extract, Sericin (Silk Extract), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Germ Oil, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Chondrus Crispus (Red Algae) Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Royal Jelly Extract, Zizyphus Jujuba Fruit Extract, Thymus Serpillum (Thyme) Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Polyglyceryl-2 Diisostearate, PPG-5-ceteth-10 Phosphate, Trideceth-12, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Sorbitan Stearate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Fragrance (Natural), Sodium Hyaluronate, Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol.

Odylique, Shiseido and Bliss facial essence spray review

Odylique Rose Facial Tonic

The Odylique Rose Facial Tonic (£15.00 for 50mL) is the most cost effective of the bunch, it is also one of the most lightweight. The base is rose flower water, and it also contains rose essential oil, and calendula extract. The pump on this one is pretty amazing – the mist comes up super fine and just feels extremely cooling on the skin. Because of the fine mist, it works great as a makeup setting spray as well. I’m kind of on the fence about this one because it is super lightweight to the point where I feel like I’m just spraying water on my face. It absorbs almost immediately, and my skin still feels relatively tight afterward unless I follow it immediately with some hydrating serum. I noticed this most especially because I started using the Odylique Rose Facial Tonic right after I had finished my bottle of Tata Harper Hydrating Floral Essence, and even with everything else staying the same, I felt like my skin was a bit more dried out and not as hydrated compared to when I used the Tata Harper.

This product contains no artificial fragrance and is certified organic, so you know you’re getting the real thing. That being said, if you were expecting this happy floral rose scent, you will be surprised because this smells like real rosewater, i.e., a bit pungent. 

You can purchase the Odylique Rose Facial Tonic online at Odylique.

Ingredients: Rosa centifolia flower water*, Calendula officinalis flower extract*, Alcohol*, Rosa damascena flower oil* *Organically grown & produced (100% of product)

Plain English ingredients: Rose flower water*, Calendula flower extract*, Sugar-cane alcohol* (please note that we do not add any alcohol to the product – there is a very small amount of organic alcohol residue contained in one of the ingredients; a biodynamic herbal tincture. By law this must be listed on the product label.) Rose essential oil*

(*Organically grown/produced)

Shiseido Ibuki Quick Fix Mist

While not exactly a facial essence spray, this Ibuki Quick Fix Mist (C$32 for 48mL) can double as both a hydrating facial spray with skincare benefits, as well as a makeup setting spray. It has a thicker gel-based formula that really clings to the skin without evaporating. The key active ingredients are Majormam Extract, to target dehydration for supple-looking skin; an anti-shine complex: Reveals fresher-looking, smoother skin; and PhytoTarget Complex, to support the skin’s natural moisture factors.

I’m a bit on the fence about this product, the thicker texture feels like it doesn’t go on as finely as other sprays. While it is quite hydrating while I have it on, I don’t notice any long term skincare benefits or improvements in my skins hydration level. Also you’ll notice that fragrance is very high up on the ingredients list, and for some reason it also contains dimethicone. The smaller size allows it to be carried around with you or for a quick touchup during travels, but I wouldn’t use this in the long run as a main component of my skincare routine.

You can purchase the Shiseio Ibuki Quick Fix Mist at Hudson’s Bay, Sephora, Murale, and select Shopper’s Drug Mart.

Ingredients: Water, Alcohol Denat., Dipropylene Glycol, Glycerin, Trehalose, Sodium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Gellan Gum, Peg/Ppg-30/10 Dimethicone, Peg-6, Peg-32, Sodium Citrate, Butylene Glycol, Menthol, Fragrance (Parfum), Disodium Edta, Citric Acid, Serine, Limonene, Hexyl Cinnamal, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Benzyl Benzoate, Linalool, Menthyl Lactate, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Peg-30 Soy Sterol, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Seed Extract, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Tocopherol, Trisodium Edta, Origanum Majorana Leaf Extract, Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Blue 1 (CI 42090).

Bliss Triple Oxygen Radiance Restoring Mist

The Bliss Triple Oxygen Radiance Restoring Mist (C$49 for 100mL) is a gentle soothing mist. It contains ingredients such chamomile extract, licorice root extract, cranberry extract, acai fruit extract, grape seed extract, panax ginseng root extract (also in my La Prairie products!), and a slew of other beneficial ingredients. The spray is extremely fine, and creates a very nice mist of essence on your skin. This is great both over and under makeup as the essence is very lighweight. I didn’t find this to be super hydrating unless I sprayed my face 5-10 times – normally I do 3-5 spritzes. I really like the fine mist though, and it’s great for touching up your skin with hydration during the day.

You can purchase the Bliss Triple Oxygen Radiance Restoring Mist at Shopper’s Drug Mart, Hudson’s Bay, and Sephora.

Ingredients: water (aqua/eau), alcohol denat., ascorbyl glucoside, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract, cucumis sativus (cucumber) fruit extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, hydrolyzed soy protein, sodium hyaluronate, vaccinium macrocarpon (cranberry) fruit extract, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, hydrolyzed wheat protein, euterpe oleracea fruit extract, punica granatum extract, vitis vinifera (grape) seed extract, lepidium sativum sprout extract, allium sativum (garlic) bulb extract, panax ginseng root extract, glycerin, tropolone, glycine soja (soybean) oil, tocopherol, lecithin, tripeptide-1, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, PEG-8 dimethicone, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol, fragrance (parfum), phenoxyethanol, perfluorohexane, hydrogenated lecithin, perfluoroperhydrophenanthrene, perfluorodecalin, decarboxy carnosine HCL, butylene glycol, xanthan gum, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, sodium benzoate, perfluorodimethylcyclohexane, ethylbisiminomethylguaiacol manganese chloride, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, cyclodextrin, limonene, linalool, citral.

My picks

My top picks are the Tata Harper Hydrating Floral Essence, Kat Burki Balancing Elixir and the Tatcha Dewy Skin Mist.
Best for dry/normal skin: Tata Harper Hydrating Floral Essence, Kat Burki Balancing Elixir, Tatcha Dewy Skin Mist
Best for combination/oily skin: Kat Burki Balancing Elixir, Odylique Rose Facial Tonic, Shiseido Ibuki Quick Fix Mist, Bliss Triple Oxygen Radiance Restoring Mist

3 thoughts on “Facial essence sprays, featuring Kat Burki, Tata Harper, Tatcha, Odylique, Shiseido and Bliss

  1. Pingback: Review – Imbue Skin Recovery Mists in Heaven, Muse, Soothe and Lust | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

