Experience: Babor Facial Treatment at Beauty Court

beautycourt 2

I was invited by local Vancouver beauty boutique Beauty Court to experience a Babor express beauty treatment during their recent Babor beauty event. I have a long history with Beauty Court, first shopping with them at the young age of just 15. I purchased my first ever Anna Sui products from them, which also ignited my love for the brand. Thus when they wanted to collaborate with me, I was simply over the moon!

Beauty Court specializes in specialty luxury skincare, importing high end skin care brands such as Valmont, Guinot, Cellcosmet, Babor (one of their more recent additions to the brand roster), and are the exclusive B.C. seller of Swiss skincare brand, Swiss Line. Beauty Court also carries luxury beauty brands such as Guerlain, Cle de Peau, Shiseido, Dermalogica, Clarins, Anna Sui and Paul & Joe. They are family-owned and operated, and are equally passionate about beauty products are they are their customers.

Beauty Court has a spa section for doing facials, massages, and other treatments on their customers. This spa side is simply gorgeous – probably one of the cleanest and most serene spa spaces I’ve ever been in. My treatment room was a good size, not claustrophobic like other treatment rooms I’ve been in, and there is a spacious bathroom (with shower) connected to the treatment room so I can use it at my leisure without walking around and seeing other customers – the perfect design to create the ultimate relaxation experience. They use the luxury skincare products available on their retail side for their spa services.

I had previously written about Babor, but just as a refresher, Babor is a Germany innovative skincare brand with a strong focus on research and development. Founded exactly 60 years ago in 1956, they were the inventor of the ampoule, a concentrate skin treatment serum encased in individual-use glass vials for the freshest, most hygenic product.

My esthetician first removed my makeup, then deep cleansed with a mixture of the HY-OL with the Phytoactive Combination. The HY-OL is a cleansing oil that contains soybean, sesame and peanut oils, as well as quillaja extract, and the Phytoactive Combination is an herbal cleansing extract for use with the HY-OL, which contains the detoxifying extract of Agrimonia eupatoria, which has an astringent effect, as well as the essences of sage, witch hazel and azulene to refine and balance the skin. The cleansing portion was so relaxing and I felt like my skin was deep cleansed, refreshed, but still hydrated at the same time. My esthetician then designed a routine with other Babor products that suited my skin, which included a serum, a 5 minute facial massage, a 10 minute face mask (with neck and shoulder massage), eye cream, face cream, and ultimately sun screen, which a lot of facial places forget to apply.

I’m not new to facials as I’ve reviewed a number of them on the blog, but this was the first time I’ve ever gotten an Asian-style facial. What’s the difference, you ask? Asian-style facials focus a lot more on massaging the different pressure points on your skin to help revitalize your skin through increased blood flow, and also lift up the skin. My facial was an express 45 minute one, whereas the normal facials are 1.5-2 hours long, which means there is a lot of massage time in there. Not only did my esthetician massage my face, but also focused on my neck, shoulder and upper arms. I left feeling super recharged and relaxed, which was exactly what I needed after a long week of work.

Last thing I want to mention is that I left Beauty Court with exactly the right amount of product, i.e., moisturized and sunscreen, on my skin, which has almost never happened to me before after a facial. There were times where I left facials with too much cream or sunscreen on my face that it was sticky, heavy, and just felt bad. There were other times where not enough cream was applied so I left the facial feeling drier than before I had gotten the facial. By contrast, my skin felt very hydrated, plumped, brightened, and comfortable after my session with Beauty Court. Because of this, as well as the quality of the service and amenities, I have to say this is one of the best facials I’ve ever gotten in my life.

I received a few Babor products to try at home, so I’ll be reporting back on those in a few weeks. I do have to say that I woke up the day after my facial with incredibly soft, supple and bouncy skin, so I look forward to seeing what long term use of Babor products will do to help with my skin!

Make sure to check out Beauty Court if you’re in the area, they also offer online shopping at beauty-court.com.

Beauty Court Premier
Unit 2610-2630, Aberdeen Centre 4151 Hazelbridge Way V6X 4J7 Richmond, BC Canada
Phone: (604) 232-1010
Email: info@beauty-court.com

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

