Gadget review – FOREO ISSA Silicone Toothbrush with Sonic Pulse Technology

FOREO ISSA Hybrid review

A few months ago, I was contacted by the representatives at FOREO to try out their products. I was really curious about the LUNA but I already have lots of face cleansing gadgets so I thought to try my hand at the ISSA. The FOREO ISSA is an electric toothbrush that features Sonic Pulse Technology with an all silicone brush.

They recently also launched the Hybrid brush head, which features a combination of medical-grade silicone and PBT polymer bristles for a deeper clean. The basic gist is that because the silicone is ultra soft, it is very gentle on your gums, while still keeping your teeth clean as the plaque and other gross mouth stuff sticks onto the silicone. The silicone environment also makes it hard for bacteria growth, so it is also a hygienic option. The entire ISSA device is waterproof, so you can use it in the bath, during your shower, or wherever else you brush your teeth.

I received the ISSA with both the regular silicone brush head, as well as with the Hybrid brush head, in the girly Lavender colour, which I am loving. This is also a good time to mention that I absolutely ADORE my Philips Sonicare Diamondclean toothbrush that I purchased about three years ago and still love to death. I have very sensitive gums that bleed a lot if I use a normal toothbrush, so I like to look for these gentler alternatives that still keep my teeth clean.

FOREO ISSA Hybrid review

I tried the normal silicone brush head first, but I just felt like my teeth were not clean and I constantly had a layer of grime on top of my teeth. It was a huge step down from the Sonicare, and just a big shock for me as I switched toothbrushes. I switched over to the Hybrid brush head and since then, I haven’t looked back. The Hybrid brush head, while still gentle, provides a much deeper clean than the full silicone brush head because it has the PBT bristles in the centre of the brush head, so while the outer rim is still silicone to help protect and gently massage your gums, the inner centre bit gives you a very nice, deep clean without any gum damage.

With the Sonicare, you just gently glide the brush head around the mouth, applying little to no pressure, to get a very deep clean. However with the ISSA, you basically use it like a normal toothbrush, applying pressure and also moving it from side to side and up and down. There is a very gentle sonic pulse sensation, but it’s not strong like the Sonicare where you can’t keep your mouth open when you’re brushing your teeth, so the learning curve on the ISSA is a lot lower than for the Sonicare.

FOREO ISSA Hybrid review

The handle is ergonomic, and the brush itself is a lot more lightweight compared to the Sonicare. The good thing is, while the brush heads are C$24.90-29.90 each, you only need to replace it once a YEAR, or whenever you feel it’s worn out. I’ve been using mine for a few months now and I don’t see signs of wear at all. You might be thinking wow that’s really gross, but again the silicone prevents bacteria growth, and the bristles are very high quality so it doesn’t wear out as fast as conventional toothbrushes.

Overall, I think the FOREO ISSA is a great option for those who have sensitive gums but still want deeply clean teeth. I’ve been using mine for the last few months and I can see myself continuing to use this in the coming future. Even though my Sonicare basically lives right next to my ISSA on the bathroom counter, I still only reach for my ISSA each morning.

You can purchase the FOREO ISSA at Sephora and Murale locations across Canada for C$229, plus $24.90-$29.90 for the replacement brush head.

FOREO ISSA Hybrid review

2 thoughts on “Gadget review – FOREO ISSA Silicone Toothbrush with Sonic Pulse Technology

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

