Sculpt your heart out with the NEW Make Up For Ever Pro Sculpting Face Palette & Brow pencil

Make Up For Ever Pro Sculpting Face Palette review and swatch

Sculpting and contour continues to be a big “trend” in 2016. I say “trend” because contouring has always been in a pro makeup artist’s toolkit, but it’s just become more mainstream in the last 2-3 years. In a way it’s a good thing, because I remember trying to find matte, non-orange bronzers nearly 10 years ago to use as contour, but I couldn’t because there just weren’t that many products out there on the market. I did recently read a note written by pro makeup artist Kevin Bennett on the demise of the beauty industry because of how fast paced these “new” makeup trends are being promoted and announced. I have noticed that at least in the last 5 years, these trends have been moving in and out almost as fast as the fashion industry. I’m not talking about the whole gloss versus lipstick debate, but more like the colour correctors, contours, highlights (“strobing”) that we have seen in the last 2-3 years.

Make Up For Ever Pro Sculpting Face Palette review and swatch

Anyways, onto the products of the day – Make Up For Ever launched their new Pro Sculpting line earlier this year, and it contains everything you need to sculpt out your face, lips, and brows. I am going through a brow obsession lately so I was very happy to try out the Pro Sculpting Brow, along with the obvious star of the range, the Pro Sculpting Face Palette.

I received the Pro Sculpting Face Palette in 20 Light (C$54), which is a good match for my light-medium skintone. It comes in four palette variations for light, medium, tan, and dark skintones, and each variation comes with a highlight, contour, shimmer, and blush shades. All of the shades are creamy and dry down matte, with the exception of the shimmer shade which provides additional highlight and dimension. I really like this palette because it plays with differences in shade and colour intensity to create light and shadow, instead of the usual matte contour + shimmery highlight. It’s definitely something that is more on the “pro” spectrum and is easy to use, even for those who work in conservative work environments and want a sculpted face look.

Despite them being creams, I felt that the products were quite dry and hard to blend out unless you had enough of a slip in your base. When it dries down, though, it sticks and doesn’t melt, smudge, or move around. The cream blush was the only one with more slip, which is great because you can blend it out more evening onto a bigger surface area.

The biggest downside I found to this product is the packaging. These are cream products which may be prone to drying out, and the packaging is very flimsy, almost cheap plastic. This palette is not cheap either, at $54, so I would expect more airtight, better quality packaging from a brand like Make Up For Ever. Obviously if you’re a makeup artist and you might use up this palette quickly, it might not be a big problem, but for a consumer like me who may not contour on a daily basis, I’d be worried about how I store this in order to prevent it from drying out.

Make Up For Ever Pro Sculpting Face Palette review and swatch

The shimmer and blush colours in the light and medium palettes are the same, as are the tan and dark palettes. Julie has a really good comparison of all four palettes here.

Make Up For Ever Pro Sculpting Brow review and swatch

The Pro Sculpting Brow (C$32) is a convenient brow pencil for when you’re on the go, because it contains the brow pencil in an easy-to-use angled twist-up format, a spoolie for brushing out the brow hairs, with a matte cream-coloured highlighter powder that nestled in the middle of the pen. The shade I have is 30 Brown, which works well with my light skintone and dark auburn hair that’s growing out to my natural black hair. For an every day colour, Brown is perfect, but if I were to go for a bolder brow, I’d switch it up and use Dark Brown.

The spoolie attached to the Pro Sculpting Brow is very sturdy, much better than a lot of the spoolies attached to most brow pencils. Also the matte cream-coloured highlighter powder is extremely finely milled and smooth, blending out easily to create an easy highlight underneath the brow bone. The Pro Sculpting Brow has earned a place in my to-go makeup bag because the 3-in-1 packaging makes it great for touch ups during the day.

Make Up For Ever Pro Sculpting Brow review and swatch

All in all, I really enjoyed using both these products. I would repurchase the Pro Sculpting Brow because it’s a superior product in a convenient package. I probably won’t repurchase the Pro Sculpting Face Palette because despite it being a good product for sculpting, it’s still a bit gimmicky for me, and not something I’d use every day. If you’re an amateur makeup artist (amateur meaning just starting out), and looking for products to add to your kit that are easy to use but not huge investments, these Make Up For Ever Pro Sculpting products would be great to add to your kit.

The Make Up For Ever Pro Sculpting Line is available now at Sephora retail stores, online, and at other Make Up For Ever outlets.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

