Upping your love for honey with Nuxe Paris Reve de Miel – Face Cleansing and Make-up Removing Gel, Hand & Nail Cream, and the Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm

nuxe Reve de Miel review

Nuxe Paris Reve de Miel is one of those classic mid-range drugstore products that have garnered a large fan base across the globe. The Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm has been voted top lip balm of choice by beauty editors, bloggers, and consumers year after year. This year, the Reve de Miel range has expanded its way to Canada.

nuxe Reve de Miel Face Cleansing and Make-up Removing Gel review

The Reve de Miel Face Cleansing and Make-up Removing Gel (C$19 for 200mL) is a gel cleanser that gently suds up to remove light makeup and also cleanse the skin. First and foremost, I wasn’t expecting this to remove makeup because it seemed like such a lightweight cleanser, and if you know me I like my heavy-duty oil cleansers. I was pleasantly surprised that this does gently remove all traces of makeup off my face. It’s not great at removing stronger eye makeup, so I would still recommend using a separate eye makeup remover for that (or just an oil based cleanser as your first step). I generally prefer very foamy cleansers, but this one has started growing on me. I normally use one to two pumps which is enough for both my face and neck.

One thing to mention is that it has a really odd scent that’s not quite chemical-ly but just… odd. I’m not sure how I feel about this, especially after I transition off my Guerlain cleanser which smells heavenly. I do like my skincare process to be a very relaxing experience because it’s the 5 minutes each day that I get to spend pampering myself, so this was a bit disappointing. Because of that, I’m not sure I’d repurchase.

nuxe Reve de Miel Hand and Nail Cream review

The Reve de Miel Hand and Nail Cream (C$17 for 75mL) contains 90% ingredients of natural origin and is paraben-free. The main guts to this hand cream are coconut oil, dimethicon, glycerin, and it also contains sweet almond oil, honey (about 1/3 the way down the ingredients list), avocado oil, rosehip (rosa moschata) oil, sunflower seed oil, soybean oil, shea butter, and small amounts of other essential oils.

Despite the long list of awesome ingredients designed to nourish the skin, I found this hand cream to be way too light for me. My hands are chronically dry so I need something that’s thicker and more moisturizing, and this wasn’t it. I could feel my fingertips becoming quite dry a few minutes after using this, and I have to keep reapplying, or apply a lot of it in order to maintain a certain level of moisture in my hands.

nuxe Reve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm review

The Reve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm (C$17 for 15mL) has been tried and tested on dry lips for over 20 years, even under extreme weather conditions such as Canada. It contains honey, as well as a dash of grapefruit essence to create the most moisturizing lip balm and lip mask in one. I was hoping for a richer honey scent but the citrus extract really overpowered any smell of honey. I’m not a huge fan of darker citrus scents, particularly ones that linger, so this turned me off a little bit.

I can see why this lip balm has been much loved by so many people – it’s rich but not slippery, so it stays in place all night and can even be worn underneath lipstick. My lips feel very well protected and also very nourished. Compared to my current go-to when I have extremely dry lips, the Bite Beauty Maple Agave Lip Mask, this one feels a lot thinner, less tacky/sticky, and similarly moisturizing (the Bite mask probably a tinge more, but not by much), as well as wearable during the day or under lipstick. I will use this interchangeably with my Bite lip mask, or when I need to prep my lips for a good lip stain or dark lip stick.

In general I really like the Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm, I’m neutral about the Face Cleansing and Make-Up Removing Gel, but I found the Hand and Nail Cream to be a dud. I guess not every product can be a winner, which is sad because I really like honey-based products and had high hopes for this collection.

Other products in the Reve de Miel range include the Ultra-Comforting Face Cream for day (C$41); Ultra-Comforting Body Cream (C$30); and the Lip Moisturizing Stick (C$9), perfect for on the go protection from dryness.

2 thoughts on “Upping your love for honey with Nuxe Paris Reve de Miel – Face Cleansing and Make-up Removing Gel, Hand & Nail Cream, and the Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

