Valentine’s Day look featuring Burberry Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette, Face Contour and Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen

Burberry Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette in Nude Gold review and swatch

Burberry Beauty is one of my favourite office-appropriate makeup brands with reliable products, so when I was looking to create a romantic look for our Valentine’s evening out, I naturally turned to Burberry.

On face:

Burberry Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette in Nude Gold review and swatch
Burberry Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette in Nude Gold review and swatch
On eyes:

Burberry Valentine's Day makeup look
Burberry Valentine's Day makeup look

On cheeks:

On lips:

Burberry Valentine's Day makeup look

The star product of this look is indisputably the Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette in No. 02 Nude Gold (C$72). This neutral-toned gold highlighter is an absolute beauty – imprinted with a lace embroidery design and housed in a sleek, magnetic metallic case, this highlighter is a definite must-have for any highlighter or Burberry fan. I had to really convince myself to dip my finger in this because otherwise it would have gone in my makeup archives where I store all the products that I only look at and not touch. I’m very happy that I did try this out because this is one of the smoothest, most buttery, and most pigmented highlighters I’ve ever used. It reminds me of Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in terms of how soft this feels and how pigmented it looks, but it’s way less powdery with almost zero powder flyaway. Despite its softness, the lace print is nicely pressed into the powder and will last at least a few uses with a fluffy brush.

Burberry Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette in Nude Gold review and swatch
Burberry Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette in Nude Gold review and swatch
Burberry Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette in Nude Gold review and swatch

The Face Contour Pen in Medium No. 01 (C$39.00) and Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen in Nude Radiance No. 01 (C$39.00) are complementary contour and highlight sticks housed in slim, twist-up pens. They remind me of the Clinique Chubby Stick Contours, but the Burberry pens are much slimmer in shape and can easily create a more precise contour, especially around the nose area. The texture of the Contour Pen is creamy without being slippery. It’s able to draw a precise contour line, but still blend out effortlessly to avoid the harsh lines. The colour is a nice neutral-brown that works great to create a daily wearable contour. While grey-toned contours are very popular as well, I find that when contours become too cool-toned, they tend to look too ashy and editorial, while neutral-toned contours work very well on my skin on a day-to-day basis. The Face Contour pen is also available in Dark No. 02 (C$39.00) for darker-skinned ladied, but I haven’t tried it.

Burberry Face Contour Pen in Medium and Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen in Nude Radiance review and swatch

Burberry Face Contour Pen in Medium and Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen in Nude Radiance review and swatch

I didn’t use the Fresh Glow Luminous Pen in this look, but I swatched it below with the Contour Pen for your reference. For a highlighter pen, this is not as frosty, and is more of a day-time appropriate highlighter. This pen is drier than the Contour Pen, and dries down to more of a glow. If you want something subtler, this highlight pen does a great job at giving you a dash of highlight to contrast with your contour.

Burberry Face Contour Pen in Medium and Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen in Nude Radiance review and swatch

Lastly, I previously already reviewed the Burberry Kisses lipstick in Military Red, but I have to reiterate how much I love this red lipstick. It’s such a lightweight formula so your lips don’t look heavy at all. My boyfriend generally isn’t a fan of heavy makeup, so my compromise to him is a lighter lipstick formula so that it doesn’t look too overdone. I wore this as a stain during the day and the fresh colour was perfect for the look.

At night, I switched this out for Burberry Lip Velvet lipstick in Oxblood, which is a darkened mulberry with a matte finish. It vamped up the look just enough so that it was night-time appropriate, but not overly so that the boyfriend was uncomfortable with it. The Lip Velvet formula has a matte finish but felt super lightweight and comfortable on the lips. My lips were particularly dry yesterday, but I didn’t notice any creasing or colour migration into my dry lines. It also wore very well as it lasted through our entire dinner and movie. I swatched Oxblood below (one, two and three swipes).

Burberry Lip Velvet lipstick in Oxblood review and swatch
Burberry Lip Velvet lipstick in Oxblood review and swatch
Burberry Lip Velvet lipstick in Oxblood review and swatch

6 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day look featuring Burberry Spring/Summer 2016 Runway Palette, Face Contour and Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen

  1. Pingback: Review + swatches + look – Burberry Spring 2016 makeup – Burberry Eye Colour Contour, Kisses Sheer Lipstick, Eye Colour Cream, and Nail Polish | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

