Review: Palmer’s Skin Therapy Cleansing Oil

Palmer's Skin Therapy facial Cleansing Oil review

I’ve heard a lot about Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula products, especially for the treatment of stretch marks. I’m not a fan of using oils as moisturizers, but I do love a good facial cleansing oil. Late last year, I was sent a bottle of Palmer’s Skin Therapy Cleansing Oil (C$10), which utilizes Palmer’s expertise in treatment oils to create a product that contains no mineral oils, parabens, or phthalates. It does, however, contain grapeseed, jojoba and rosehip oils, and vitamin C. It claims to deep cleanse and brighten the skin, as well as remove any makeup and impurities. I’ve been using this for the last few months, and I have to say I am impressed with the cleansing abilities, but it does have some significant downfalls.

My first impression is that this cleansing oil is very thick and luxurious. Like most other cleansing oils, one pump is enough to cover my entire face, with another 1/3 pump for my neck. On most days, I just wear foundation and powder, and very little eye makeup and this cleanser is amazing at removing every single bit of base makeup off my skin. Not only that, it leaves my skin feeling extremely soft, smooth, and nourished. If you have extra dry skin, you can just cleanse with this and your skin will feel very moisturized after. The thickness of the oil also makes it a great option for facial massage.

In terms of removing heavy eye makeup, this does a mediocre job. I usually still have bits of black liner or mascara left around my eye area after I’ve cleansed with this. The biggest downside, though, is that if it gets into your eyes, it stings really bad. Only a little bit needs to get into your eyes to sting, and you have to rinse it out a lot before it will subside. For that, I don’t recommend using this as an eye makeup remover, or if you are using this as your one-step makeup remover.

For less than $10, I really can’t complain much. It really does the job at cleansing the skin without stripping, as long as you don’t use it as your one-step eye makeup remover. I recommend using a heavy duty eye makeup remover before this cleansing oil, or just leave it for the days when you’re wearing little to no makeup. Overall, it’s a thumbs up!

6 thoughts on “Review: Palmer’s Skin Therapy Cleansing Oil

  1. Aww that’s too bad that it does such a crappy job removing eye makeup! That’s kind of the whole point of a cleansing oil lol But it does sound like a nice option maybe as a morning cleanser?

    http://justj.ca

  2. I love this cleansing oil. I have had a really hard time finding it at stores so when I do I stock up. This cleanser is all natural and does not dry up my skin. I receive multiple compliments on my skin since I have been using this cleanser. It is inexpensive and well worth every penny.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

