Gadget review: Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System

Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System review

Another year, another electric facial cleansing brush! I was first introduced to the Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System (C$149.99) at the London Drugs beauty event in 2014. Representatives from Philips showcased this product’s effectiveness at removing makeup and deep cleansing the skin, all in one step. I’ve been a long time user of the Philips Sonicare toothbrush and even enabled my entire family (brother, mom, aunt, uncle, you name it) to purchase their Sonicare toothbrushes, so I was looking forward to see this technology translate into facial care.

First off, the brush handle is a very pretty blush pink shade that not only is a popular colour in 2015 and 2016, but also one of my favourite colours. The brush head is round, slightly smaller than the Clarisonic and Clinique Sonic Brush brush heads, and the bristles are ultra soft. The gadget looks extremely sleek and polished, and a great addition to my bathroom vanity top.

Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System review
Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System review

This product equipped with unique Sonic Technology and Advanced Dual Motion to thoroughly remove makeup, dirt and residue. The company claims that it’s as gentle as hand cleansing, but 10 times more effective at removing makeup and impurities from the skin. The “dual motion” in this case is both a sonic vibration as well as a spin. I’ve never used a brush that spun, so this was interesting to me.

I’ve been using the Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System approximately every other night for the last four weeks, in conjunction with the Guerlain Blanc de Perle Foaming Cleanser (this baby lasted me a more than a year!), and I felt that the dual motion action helped to foam up the cleanser very nicer, creating a nice plushy cleanse that provided a cushion for the brush bristles to glide across. My face was left feeling clean, never tight or irritated, and definitely not sensitive (unlike my experience with the Clarisonic, but similar to my experience with the Clinique Sonic Cleansing Brush).

I haven’t tried removing makeup with this, generally because the idea of vibrating foundation back into my pores scares me, but my general sense is that it’s not going to work very well. I feel that this provides just a moderately better cleanse compared to hand cleansing because despite using this for the recommended amount of time, I still see some leftover dirt on my cotton pad when I use my toner. Even on days when I didn’t wear makeup, there was still a bit of dirt left for my toner to pick up, so I wouldn’t say it’s a significantly better cleanse.

In addition, I found the brush head to be slightly too small because despite it being great for the nooks and crannies around my nose and chin area, I felt that it required significantly more effort to get full coverage on my forehead, cheeks, and neck. Sometimes my efforts to glide this across my entire face actually resulted in overcleansing, and I had to be extra conscious about where I’ve already cleansed.

In general, I felt that this provided a slightly better clean compared to just hand cleansing, but not significantly better that I would say it’s an absolute must have. I do use it as an exfoliator, so it’s definitely an option for those out there looking for a cleansing brush/exfoliating brush. I would say this is comparable to the Clinique Sonic Cleansing Brush, and performs significantly better than the Clarisonic. If you are in the market for a cleansing brush, this is one to consider!

Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System review
Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System review
Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System review
Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System review

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

