Review + swatches: CND Aurora collection for winter 2015

IMG_0017

For winter 2015, CND introduces Aurora collection in both its Vinylux and Shellac formulas, a set of four icy shades for the festive season (starting from second from the left):

  • Winter Glow – a creamy light pink that’s semi-sheer but opaque after 2-3 coats (depending on the thickness of each coat). While I like this colour as a nude base coat for other things (like sparkles), it’s a bit too light for me to wear as a “nude” polish, and it also makes my hands look really tanned 😦
  • Tundra – a metallic dusty rose that streaks a bit like most metallics, but isn’t as obvious as some other ones I’ve tried. This is a beautiful (and work appropriate) colour to wear.
  • Nordic Lights – a beautiful plummy purple with some holographic and silver sparkles. This one is SO PRETTY! And isn’t a super dark plum, so it’s not vampy compared to other similar polishes.
  • Glacial Mist – an glittery iced blue, which I’m not a fan of on all of my nails (looks a bit young to me), but I’d love as an accent nail.

In addition, to compare to Winter Glow, I also have Naked Naivete (first from the left), which is an even paler nude pink with a bit of a peach tinge. Like Winter Glow, this one is too pale for me to wear as a neutral nail, but the formula is amazing (as always).

I’ve previously done an extensive review of the Vinylux formula here, and my views for this collection remain the same. The brushes in each of these polishes are a dream to use, and the polish dries super quickly and with the top coat, gives off a very beautiful shine. Wear time is excellent at around 7-10 days with very minimal (if any) chipping. I highly recommend these if you are going on any extended trips and don’t want to worry too much about your polish.

CND Vinylux Aurora collectionΒ is priced at C$11.95 and is available now at Chatters salons, Trade Secrets stores and select salons that use CND products.

IMG_0026

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

