Review: Guerlain Eau de Beaute Micellar Cleansing Water

Guerlain Eau de Beaute Micellar Cleansing Water review

New for fall 2015 is the Guerlain Eau de Beaute Micellar Cleansing Water (C$74) Guerlain recently repackaged (and I think also reformulated) some of their basic cleansing products (I LOVED their cleansing milk in the previous packaging) and streamlined the packaging to fit with the new branding.

The Guerlain Micellar Cleansing Water is a makeup remover, cleanser, and toner in one. It features Nigella Sativa Seed Oil and Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract for hydrating and clarifying the skin. I keep this at the boyfriend’s house when I want a simpler skincare regime, and it gently removes light makeup, sunscreen and dirt off my face. With a bit of effort, it also removes mascara and other eye makeup, although I don’t rely on micellar waters as my main makeup remover because it requires more scrubbing and rubbing, which can be harmful to the skin around the delicate eye area.

Guerlain Eau de Beaute Micellar Cleansing Water review

The biggest difference I noticed between the Guerlain Micellar Water and other micellar waters I’ve used before is that the Guerlain is thicker and more serum-like, not water-thin like other micellar waters. I feel that the Guerlain is also definitely gentler on the skin, as the high concentration of glycerin provides some slip for the cotton pad to glide over. I usually have to use 2-3 cotton pads in order to remove my makeup completely using a micellar water, which really irritates my skin and deters me from using them (I prefer cleansing oils), but this one I gladly use on a regular basis because it doesn’t irritate my skin.

Bottom line, would this replace my beloved cleansing oil? No, but it’s great for cleansing on-the-go.

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Peg-40 Glyceryl Cocoate, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Coceth Sulfate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Peg-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Citrate, Fragrance, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Caprylyl Glycol, Citric Acid, Polyquaternium-51, Nigella Sativa Seed Oil, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract.

Guerlain Eau de Beaute Micellar Cleansing Water review

Guerlain Eau de Beaute Micellar Cleansing Water review
Guerlain Eau de Beaute Micellar Cleansing Water review

5 thoughts on “Review: Guerlain Eau de Beaute Micellar Cleansing Water

  1. I don’t believe I’ve ever tried Guerlain but this does sound like a nice cleansing option! I like Micellar waters too, but I have switched back to cleaning oils recently since my skin is so dry in the winter months. Great review 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m super lazy so I prefer using cleansing oils, plus I like to believe that it’s less waste (no cotton pads required), but I’m mostly just lazy haha.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

