Review + swatch – Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Stick Foundation

Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Stick Foundation in Y325 review and swatch

One of my most anticipated launches this year is the Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Foundation (C$50). The popular HD Foundation was reformulated with 4K technology in mind, it comes in a whopping 40 shades to accommodate any skin colour. The new Ultra HD Foundation contains:

  • Amino Acid Coated Pigments—reflective particles that blur flaws and provide translucent, invisible coverage
  • Hyaluronic Spheres—hydrate and plump the skin for a longer, more comfortable wear
  • Sericite—a fine grained mica that adds light reflecting properties to create a radiant and luminous effect, mimicking the vibrancy of naturally beautiful skin

I previously reviewed the liquid version of the Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Foundation, so today I’m going to share with you the stick version – the Ultra HD Invisible Cover Stick Foundation. My conclusion for the liquid Ultra HD foundation was that it’s super high maintenance and required a lot of trial and error on my part to perfect the look. The stick foundation is much more user-friendly and easy to use. I apply this directly to my face. The foundation is super creamy and blends seamlessly into my skin. I generally do one and a half swipes of this foundation on each cheek, then one swipe on my forehead, a dab on my nose and a dab on my chin. This amount gives me medium to full coverage, erases any redness, and leaves a smooth finish. It doesn’t cling to any dry spots, and does not become patchy like with the liquid version.

The shade I received is Y325 (equivalent to 118 in the previous formula), which is just a tinge too tan for me. It’s barely noticeable once blended out, so I still wore this on a regular basis.

Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Stick Foundation in Y325 review and swatch

Two things though – first, it settles a bit into pores on the apples of my cheeks, but normally I wear glasses so it gets covered up. Second is that oil control is not good at all. I found that my face started to get shiny about 1-2 hours in, and then as my face got shinier, the foundation started to fade. Wear time isn’t fantastic compared to the liquid version, likely because it is so creamy.

In terms of value, you get 0.44oz of foundation for C$50 with the stick version, but 1.01oz of foundation with the liquid version. Despite this big difference, I found that I would waste more foundation when using the liquid because I typically use dispense one pump into my palm, but I rarely use up the entire pump. With the stick version, I’d just apply it directly to my face and hence I waste a lot less foundation.

Even though I found the liquid version to be a lot more high maintenance to use, once I got a hang of how to use it, the results were flawless and lasted me all day. The stick version performed great right off the bat, but lasting time was not nearly as good as the liquid version. At the end of the day, I prefer the liquid version over the stick version, and would reach for it more often. That being said, if you have dry skin, the stick version is the one you need to try because the liquid will not look good on your skin. If you have normal to combination skin, then the liquid would perform better.

If you try either the liquid or stick, please let me know. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

The swatches

Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Stick Foundation in Y325 review and swatch

7 thoughts on “Review + swatch – Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Stick Foundation

  1. Pingback: Feature – Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Booster, Lip Booster, and Microfinishing Pressed Powder | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

