Review: REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask

REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask review

The REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask is a chemical exfoliating mask that takes the power of fruit enzymes, glycol and lactic acids in order to gently exfoliate the skin and rid the skin of dead skin cells. I’m a big fan of REN and its cleansers. The British brand is known for their use of natural and organic skincare products, and their cleansers come in a variety of formulas for different skintones. I’ve previously used their cleansing gel for sensitive skin and it was really great to use in the mornings. I’ve also previously reviewed their Cleansing Balm here.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Renskincare.com): A potent bio active peel mask designed to renew the complexion, reduce the appearance of fine lines and dramatically improve skin tone.

Price: C$66 for 50mL

Scent & texture: Scented like oranges (likely attributed to vitamin C and other fruit enzymes). Texture of thick, slightly grainy and very sticky gel.

The good: The Ren Glycolactic Acid Mask is one of my favourite and most effective chemical exfoliators. It is very powerful, harnessing the power of fruit enzymes and various acids to cleanse the skin of dead skin cells and promote skin brighteness. I use this once or twice a week at most, applying it on my T-zone, temples, and around my chin and jawline (on the rest of my face I apply a hydrating mask). After leaving a thick layer on my skin for 10 minutes then washing off, my skin is noticeably brighter, smoother, and products absorb better. It never stings or burns, as long as I keep it away from the most sensitive part of my face which is the apples of my cheeks.

The packaging is functional and protects the product itself. Housed in a plastic, airtight bottle, it also has a plug to stop any air from entering the container. Since there are active vitamins in the ingredients, any oxygen would disrupt the efficacy of those vitamins.

  • Super effective at removing dead skin cells
  • Skin is left smooth
  • Products absorbs easier
  • Functional product packaging
  • Mostly does not sting

The bad: This bad boy is so effective that I can’t use it on my sensitive cheeks – it stings ever so slightly. Apart from that, no other dislikes.

  • Stings if applied on the most sensitive part of my face

Overall: The Ren Glycolactic Acid Mask is an effective and easy-to-use chemical exfoliating mask. It leaves my skin feeling smooth and I feel like products absorb easier after an application of this mask. While it does sting the apples of my cheeks, I just learned to avoid that area whenever I do use this mask. Apart from that, this mask is really great. I would recommend this to people with all skin types, except the extra sensitive. Sephora has this mask in store so I would recommend asking for a sample if you feel like you’ve never used chemical exfoliating masks or feel like it might be too harsh on the skin.

Product: 17/20
Packaging: 4/5
Value: 4/5
Overall: 25/30 | A
Repurchase? Yes

Ingredients:
REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask review
REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask review

4 thoughts on “Review: REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

